We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable 2 Month Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable 2 Month Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed at the Hampton Inn from Mid-June to Mid-August 2014. The hotel was comfortable, if not exciting, the rooms were clean and the staff very helpful. They also were useful for recommendations on places to eat locally or in Old Town Alexandria. It would be useful if soft close dampers were on the doors as occasionally on certain weekends it felt like doors were constantly slamming shut (but that was a very occasional annoyance). The location near the highway meant you could drive downtown quickly. The shuttle was useful if you didn't want to drive downtown - although the early finish of the shuttle was inconvenient at times. I noticed someone mentioned about feeling unsafe in the local area. It's all about your own personal perception, but I never felt like that and walked to the TGI Friday's or Giant Supermarket late in the evening and never felt it was unsafe. BTW the left turn light out of the hotel onto the highway only works at certain times. It isn't listed as such, so be aware if you are leaving the hotel early in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    134
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
192
103
24
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for a family funeral at Arlington National Cemetery. We had 4 rooms and ALL of us enjoyed our stay. Comfortable clean rooms and staff was very friendly. We especially enjoyed the breakfast room where we could gather in the evening and have complimentary coffee, tea and cookies and spend some time together before going to our rooms. We requested our rooms be near each other and they were and we requested one adjoing room for our elderly Mother, which we also got. We will stay here again if in the area and would recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

First, the pros: 1) clean, 2) good service, 3) comfortable beds. Now the cons: 1) Unsafe neighborhood, 2) very noisy, 3) breakfast food was so-so I was traveling alone and the neighborhood was so questionable I didn't feel safe. That is very important for me and that's the primary reason I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early not expecting to be able to check in right away. However the front desk were extremely accommodating and found us a clean room. The wood was clean, very comfortable bed and very nicely decorated. In fact the entire hotel had a modern, clean feel to it. The staff were very knowledgeable about the area and gave us some great tips on the local attractions , even sent us off with complimentary bottles of water since it was very hot
out. Breakfast buffet offered a good selection at a minimal price. Free shuttle to airport and metro station. Great hotel , will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Fourth time we've stayed because it's reliable quality. It's clean, comfortable, quiet, well run, welcoming in a good location with ample parking. Oh yes, it offers a good breakfast -- is there something else?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We chose this Hampton location for our trip with our granddaughter for her high school graduation. We were all very pleased. The hotel was very clean and bright. The desk staff, housekeeping staff and shuttle staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet offered everything from eggs, cereals, fruits, Danish all very tasty and well presented. The workout room was clean and equipment all working. The free shuttle to the metro ran on time. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My teenage daughter and I stayed here on a visit to DC and I can't say enough about this Hampton Inn. The facility is very clean and I love the location. Easy access to I-395 and the Capitol Mall, as well as to many eating establishments, grocery store and Target (in walking distance).
Free parking and free shuttle service to the Metro at King Street. The shuttle takes about 20 minutes to get from the hotel to the Metro. They leave every 30 minutes. In the morning you need to stop by the front desk about 30 minutes before departure to get a boarding pass since it is fairly busy. The Metro cost is about $4.50 per person to get to the Smithsonian stop during peak times and you do make one change of trains at LeFont station. The last shuttle to the hotel runs at 9:30pm but taxis readily available at the King Street Station and it cost about $15 for two passengers to get to the hotel.
Beware of the schedule of the home games for the Nationals while visiting since the Metro gets very crowded when you are leaving the DC area.
I can't wait to stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.