We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!! Awesome location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Sunrise, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great staff!! Awesome location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

From the moment we walked in, to the moment we left, the staff was amazing. The front desk staff gave us ideas of places to go with the family, as well as fantastic local eateries. To access DC from the hotel was easy. The hotel charter takes you to the King Street Old Town Station. From there you can access all of DC, Reagan National Airport, and neighboring areas. Now, the hotel charter only operates from about 9 am to 8pm or so. The taxi from the hotel to the King Street Old Town Metro Station for three people was about $14. The staff gave us great recommendations on places to visit. One of those places, the zoo, which I didn't plan to visit, but glad I did was one of the best zoo experiences I have ever had. The staff also recommended great local eateries, one just down the road, was so good, we ate there a few times during our stay. Finally, we were traveling with our 4-year old, and every day at the hotel, around 5pm they would bake cookies. One particular staff member would tell my daughter not to worry if she missed the cookies, she'd save a few for her, and she did. Hospitality at its best!!! Now, aside from staff, the hotel offers a free breakfast every morning. They offered oatmeal, omelets, waffles, cereals, toast, bagels, yogurts, fruit, orange juice, apple juice, milk, coffees, and a variety of condiments for your food. Overall, the value, service, and location were fantastic for what we paid for each night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    95
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
128
68
18
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The entire hotel is VERY clean, the rooms are ample, and the staff are very courteous. It is located off Leesburg Pike in a very safe area. Loved the self parking without fees & the freedom to come & go. The only regret is the lack of a bar to have a cocktail. Otherwise I would highly recommend. A++

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I chose this place as it was much less expensive than the nearby convention hotel. The room was fine, although the neighbors were a little noisy. Lots of choices for breakfast. My main complaint is that there is no public transportation to/from the site, although I found out later there was a shuttle to the King St. Metro Station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Room rates are reasonable with free parking.The hotel rooms are comfortable and clean.Excellent choices for their complimenatry breakfast.Staff are very acoomodating.Highly recommended. Area very accessible to the highway and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have to say this hotel or should say my temporary home was wonderful. My husband and I got in earlier than our check in time but were still able to get our room. The cleaning were wiping down and cleaning every part of that hotel. I love that. The hotels' cleanliness is impeccable. Special thanks to Karina(front desk), Phillip(shuttlebus driver) and Joe(front desk). These folks were so great and treated us like friends. This hotels offers free shuttle service to and from the Metro station every 30 minutes. Great gas saver and no parking fees. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days last week (from Saturday to Saturday) as we vacationed in Washington DC. Hotel is very clean and modern looking as it was recently remodeled. Hotel provides free WIFI, free breakfast, free hot beverages, free cookies, free fresh fruit, and most importantly free shuttle service to the King St Metro station.

Breakfast is generally about the same daily with only the egg and meat dishes that change, from omelets to scrambled eggs, and bacon to sausage. They also provide oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bread, muffins, bagels, pastries, juices, and make-your-own waffles. My family made sure we tanked up on breakfast before heading out to DC on our all day adventures.

Shuttle service is provided daily at every half hour until 11:30AM and then resumes again starting at 3:30PM until the last shuttle pickup from the King St Metro station at 8:30PM. My only pet peeve with the shuttle service is that they require that you pick up boarding passes 30 minutes before your intended departure time, however they will not give you a boarding pass even if the clock has 1 minute left before the 30 minute time frame. For example, if you want to take the 10:00AM shuttle, you have to get your boarding pass starting at 9:30AM and not a minute sooner. They are quite anal about it and using some common sense is not something that they do. I can understand the need to use boarding passes to control the number of people using the shuttle and to maintain a first come first serve basis especially during busy times, but when no one else has requested to use the shuttle, and you end up being the only passenger, it's a little silly. Boarding passes are not required on the afternoon runs. Taxi from the King St Metro station to the hotel will run you about $14+.

Hotel staff are generally nice and helpful but most do not smile or greet. A number of the day staff especially at the Help Desk don't seem to enjoy what they do and often have stone faces or are short with answers. The lady with glasses and the evening guy, Mohammed are the most pleasant and friendly. They greet and smile as you walk by and wish you a good day. General Manager was never seen during the week or she did not make an effort to show her presence and check in with guests as they are having breakfast or hanging out in the lobby. Housekeeping and breakfast staff do a good job and are nice.

Hotel is conveniently located to various restaurants and stores and shopping. More are located to the right of the hotel as you walk out. Overall, we had a great stay and were pleased with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room starting from the right as you come out of the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very nice, hospitable staff. Lobby was very nice. Fresh fruit available 24/7. Room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. Great location, close to airport, restaurants and shopping. Once again, customer service was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.