We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I have to say this hotel or should say my temporary home was wonderful. My husband and I got in earlier than our check in time but were still able to get our room. The cleaning were wiping down and cleaning every part of that hotel. I love that. The hotels' cleanliness is impeccable. Special thanks to Karina(front desk), Phillip(shuttlebus driver) and Joe(front desk). These folks were so great and treated us like friends. This hotels offers free shuttle service to and from the Metro station every 30 minutes. Great gas saver and no parking fees. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    101
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
135
71
18
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Vermont
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days last week (from Saturday to Saturday) as we vacationed in Washington DC. Hotel is very clean and modern looking as it was recently remodeled. Hotel provides free WIFI, free breakfast, free hot beverages, free cookies, free fresh fruit, and most importantly free shuttle service to the King St Metro station.

Breakfast is generally about the same daily with only the egg and meat dishes that change, from omelets to scrambled eggs, and bacon to sausage. They also provide oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit, bread, muffins, bagels, pastries, juices, and make-your-own waffles. My family made sure we tanked up on breakfast before heading out to DC on our all day adventures.

Shuttle service is provided daily at every half hour until 11:30AM and then resumes again starting at 3:30PM until the last shuttle pickup from the King St Metro station at 8:30PM. My only pet peeve with the shuttle service is that they require that you pick up boarding passes 30 minutes before your intended departure time, however they will not give you a boarding pass even if the clock has 1 minute left before the 30 minute time frame. For example, if you want to take the 10:00AM shuttle, you have to get your boarding pass starting at 9:30AM and not a minute sooner. They are quite anal about it and using some common sense is not something that they do. I can understand the need to use boarding passes to control the number of people using the shuttle and to maintain a first come first serve basis especially during busy times, but when no one else has requested to use the shuttle, and you end up being the only passenger, it's a little silly. Boarding passes are not required on the afternoon runs. Taxi from the King St Metro station to the hotel will run you about $14+.

Hotel staff are generally nice and helpful but most do not smile or greet. A number of the day staff especially at the Help Desk don't seem to enjoy what they do and often have stone faces or are short with answers. The lady with glasses and the evening guy, Mohammed are the most pleasant and friendly. They greet and smile as you walk by and wish you a good day. General Manager was never seen during the week or she did not make an effort to show her presence and check in with guests as they are having breakfast or hanging out in the lobby. Housekeeping and breakfast staff do a good job and are nice.

Hotel is conveniently located to various restaurants and stores and shopping. More are located to the right of the hotel as you walk out. Overall, we had a great stay and were pleased with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room starting from the right as you come out of the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very nice, hospitable staff. Lobby was very nice. Fresh fruit available 24/7. Room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. Great location, close to airport, restaurants and shopping. Once again, customer service was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I attended a conference and was disappointed that the host hotel was booked, and was referred to the Hampton. I had no idea how lucky I was. My colleagues were disappointed to experience limited food options and expensive internet connections. I, on the other hand, attended the conference every morning full and happy with Hampton's complimentary full breakfast, and enjoyed free internet access during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hospitality of the Hamption Inn in Alexandra was perfect for our four night stay to show our eight and ten year old grandsons the historical sites of our nation's capital. It was for all of us a very memorable experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Another great experience as expected! The hotel was clean, staff was friendly. The location is awesome near tons of shopping, food, and attractions. Easy to get to downtown DC. Mount Vernon a straight shot right up the road about 6 miles - make a left and travel less then a couple miles and wa-la, your there. My room was comfortable, internet was swift with plenty of band width to watch youtube videos' if I wanted - internet is free. Breakfast was good in the morning. Parking was ample at no charge. The bathroom seemed larger than normal. What more can I ask for? Was a great stay. Thank you staff at the Hampton Inn Alexandria!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband, 2 kids (8 & 10) and I stayed at this Hampton April 13th -17th for our spring vacation. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. This was our first stay at this hotel, we had previously stayed right in the city but wanted to save a little money. What a great choice! The parking is free unlike in the city, the hotel offers a free breakfast and free shuttle to the Kings Street Metro Station.
When we first arrived we were a little concerned because our room did not have a fridge or microwave but we called the front desk and they brought up a fridge within 5 minutes. The next day when we returned to our room we had a brand new fridge and a microwave.
The shuttle service was convenient and we never had to wait. A quick trip to the metro and we were on our way to DC. When we arrived back at the King Street Metro at the end of the day we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for the shuttle to arrive to bring us back to the hotel.
There are numerous family friendly restaurants right up the street from this hotel: Chili's, Olive Garden, TGI Friday's, and Outback just to name a few as well as several fast food chains within walking distance.
This was a great choice and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.