We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Vacation with our grandchildren” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Great Vacation with our grandchildren”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hospitality of the Hamption Inn in Alexandra was perfect for our four night stay to show our eight and ten year old grandsons the historical sites of our nation's capital. It was for all of us a very memorable experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    118
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
158
87
21
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Another great experience as expected! The hotel was clean, staff was friendly. The location is awesome near tons of shopping, food, and attractions. Easy to get to downtown DC. Mount Vernon a straight shot right up the road about 6 miles - make a left and travel less then a couple miles and wa-la, your there. My room was comfortable, internet was swift with plenty of band width to watch youtube videos' if I wanted - internet is free. Breakfast was good in the morning. Parking was ample at no charge. The bathroom seemed larger than normal. What more can I ask for? Was a great stay. Thank you staff at the Hampton Inn Alexandria!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband, 2 kids (8 & 10) and I stayed at this Hampton April 13th -17th for our spring vacation. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. This was our first stay at this hotel, we had previously stayed right in the city but wanted to save a little money. What a great choice! The parking is free unlike in the city, the hotel offers a free breakfast and free shuttle to the Kings Street Metro Station.
When we first arrived we were a little concerned because our room did not have a fridge or microwave but we called the front desk and they brought up a fridge within 5 minutes. The next day when we returned to our room we had a brand new fridge and a microwave.
The shuttle service was convenient and we never had to wait. A quick trip to the metro and we were on our way to DC. When we arrived back at the King Street Metro at the end of the day we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for the shuttle to arrive to bring us back to the hotel.
There are numerous family friendly restaurants right up the street from this hotel: Chili's, Olive Garden, TGI Friday's, and Outback just to name a few as well as several fast food chains within walking distance.
This was a great choice and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford,NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Washington to see the Cherry blossoms. Stayed 4 nights. Room and hotel was very clean. Breakfast was sufficient. Always coffee and tea available. We did miss not having a microwave in the room. Great for the price. Staff was always pleasant and helpful. Would stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Starting off with location, it is slightly off the mark, its not exactly in old town Alexandria, and it is a good 30 mnts drive to DC (not keeping DC traffic into picture), but then in the pricey DC hotel scene, it isnt bad what with the convenient DC metro relatively closeby and hotel provides a free shuttle to the station. The hotel is a regular Hampton and then some. Especially the helpful front desk - when the taxi driver refused to take my card and with no cash on me, I requested the lady at the front desk to lend me 20 bucks and they were kind enough to do that. Better still, she did it at my word of mouth without making a note anywhere and when I returned it, she was very thankful for the money she only lent to me which was wonderful and goes a long way in making an impression.

Rooms were great and so was the breakfast, the standard Hampton fare. Close to the hotel are few restaurants including a TGIF. So pick this if you dont want to shell extra bucks just to be closer to DC or old town Alexandria.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chas. wv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Accomodations were very clean and our 1st floor room at the end of the hall and across from an outdoor exit was very quiet. We took the shuttle to the King St. Metro every morning. It is not reasonably walkable to Metro (about 4 miles). The shuttle's last pick up in the evening at the Metro is 8:30 which really should be extended until at least 9 PM and more shuttles are needed from 8 PM til 8:30 because twice not all people who were waiting could fit on the 13 passenger van. We had to wait once for another van and it was at least a 1/2 hr. wait. Yellow line into the city only took us about 20 min. We liked the hotel and breakfast. Staff was very nice. Walkable to a few restaurants: Wendy's, McDonalds and TGIFridays (which was good also).

Room Tip: We liked our room at the very end of a corridor and across from outdoor exit that can not be entered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and had a very comfortable stay. Bed was great, bathroom good size and well stocked, breakfast selection varied and delicious, fitness center great with a variety of machines and weights. Used the shuttle to get to and from the metro but beware you need to plan your time as it ends at 8:30 pm and fills up quickly in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.