We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if visiting Washington DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if visiting Washington DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights here while visiting Washington DC with kids over spring break. The hotel has a shuttle that drives you several miles to the King Station Metro Station. The shuttle was very easy to use and on time. The shuttle runs until 8:30 at night.
A free trolley can be picked up at King Station to take you into Old Town Alexandria with lots of shops and restaurants.
The hotel was clean and the beds and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast offered was fine....included scrambled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, waffles, cereal, muffins, pastries, yogurt, fruit. All in all we had a great stay at this Hampton and found it easy to take the kids into the city from this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    95
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
128
68
18
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I enjoyed the breakfast a lot, and the staff was very friendly. We saw a security guard walking around the premises on a late Saturday night (around midnight) which was a nice, reassuring touch. With the price of breakfast and free parking included, it actually is a pretty good deal to stay here. The hotel also seemed to be in good condition (I think it was recently remodeled) and it was a great location for my husband and I who were visiting family in the Fairfax/Alexandria area. The main negative was that the bed we had in our room (a king bedroom) was extremely firm and had a strong bleach odor. I typically like firmer mattresses but even this was almost too uncomfortable to sleep on--and I've been known to sleep on floors if I'm tired enough! Also our television set would periodically freeze and flicker, so I'm not sure what that was about. In general though it was a good experience and we would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel has very clean and comfortable rooms.The pillows and bed are very comfortable The breakfast is great and kept up nice. There is 24 hour coffee service and fruit and cookies. The fruit ran out when I came back at night, but was filled the next morning. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. For the price you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Mar. 7 - 16th. Everything was excellent. The staff was very cheerful, polite and helpful. Especially Mohamed was very pleasant and helpful. They also have a shuttle that took you to King Street Metro Station. From there you were able to go anywhere you liked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

On a trip with my sons 8th grade class to D.C. We stayed here for 2 nights the proptery looked fairly new. The accomadations were awesome the pillows were great. The breakfast was on point fresh cut fruit and everything. I had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great hotel at good value. Excellent location for food,metro and proximity to DC. Shuttle is handy but only a 10 min drive into downtown Washington (at the right time of day!) Staff friendly and helpful, rooms comfy and clean, breakfast very good and always spotless and well stocked - only niggle is weekend mornings were very busy and not enough tables for everyone. Will be staying here again if i return to DC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We have stayed at many Hampton Inns over the past several years. Most are very good, but this one is consistently fine in every respect: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria VA (Route 7, King Street), a few miles west of Old Town. It is one of the older Hamptons, but was completely renovated in 2011 and is fresh as a daisy with one of the best breakfast rooms we have seen. The staff is always welcoming and its turnover is almost nil, which speaks well of the management. The rooms are spotless and the Business Center computers always work. It is convenient to a wealth of shopping along Route 7 between Alexandria and Falls Church and is located just a mile or so from the King Street exit of Interstate 395 (heading west off the ramp). It has recently added "Pentagon South" to its name, being only 3 or 4 miles south of that building. Dining on Route 7 is limited, but the delightful restaurants of Shirlington are just 5 or 6 blocks away, and one can reach downtown Washington in ten minutes or less when I-395 traffic is moving well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.