We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hampton - best of our holiday tour.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Hampton - best of our holiday tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Best hotel of our holiday. Got a nice warm welcome after our long journey from the UK. Parking is free and plentiful. They took into account our request for a quiet room, we were right at the end of a corridor, well away from lifts and ice machines. Room safe is always a bonus and nice fresh sheets and duvet. Always plenty of coffee and hot water for tea or hot chocolate, and freshly baked cookies (we didn’t tend to find this at the other Hampton’s). Breakfast had plenty of choice, although the small area got quite crowded some mornings. I'm not a huge fan of the plastic plates and cutlery but hey, you're getting a complimentary breakfast! The shuttle bus was great for us, we used it every morning around 8:30 to go to the metro stop, drivers were always cheerful and nothing was a problem, and they were always waiting on time to take us back to the hotel.
It was nice to also get the shuttle down into Alexandria Old Town and have a stroll down to the harbour. There are fast food places nearby and also a 7-11 if you need groceries or a couple of beers.
I would definitely recommend this Hampton and if we ever go back to DC we will be using it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    90
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
121
65
18
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
williamssport
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I booked a room on Kayak.com for Oct 20. Kayak mistakenly booked the room for 27OCT.
Arrived at hotel on Oct 20 and hotel was booked solid. Hotel informed me they couldnt issue a refund I had to contact Kayak for a refund. Called Kayak and they said they could not issue a refund because the hotel has a no refund policy and would not refund them!

DONT BOOK rooms at this hotel!! You could book a room and show up to no vacancy and no refund!

Ended up at the Candlewood Inn next door and the rooms are much nicer anyway and the staff are much kinder!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorene S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for your inconveniences. Your comments will help us to improve our policies and better serve our guests in the future. We are more than willing to assist you with this in any way that we can, however when booking through a third party, we have limited control of their booking and refund process. Please contact me to discuss this furher. I hope that you will consider staying at out hotel if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a lovely hotel!
We stayed here for three nights to visit Alexandria and of course Washington D.C.
The room was clean and cozy, was equipped with a safe, bath-tub and all the regular Hampton stuff like free wireless LAN, the ingenious lap desk and fresh duvets and sheets. The hotel offered a perfect complimentary breakfast in a very nice breakfast area, free coffee and tea and free cookies all day long.
It was very quiet outside, parking was free of charge and the staff helpful and friendly. By car you can reach Washington and downtown Alexandria in approximately 20 minutes, which makes it a good starting point of every trip. We should also mention that there are many shops and restaurants nearby like t.g.i fridays, a Taco Bell, Wendys or a Seven Eleven.

Anytime again!

Room Tip: Further away from the street the rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We only spent Sunday night here, arrived around 10:00 Sunday morning and we were able to park our car and use the hotel shuttle for both days while touring D.C. The shuttle service is nice, about 10 minutes or so from the hotel to King Street. What we would have spent on 2 days for parking elsewhere, we used towards the Metro getting around D.C. Good breakfast, comfy and clean room. Hotel staff was very nice and accommodating as well. Only drawback was we wanted to be on the road by 3:00 due to traffic and the shuttle service doesn't start back up til 3:00 and we didn't get picked up til 3:15, didn't leave metro station until 3:35 and with traffic didn't get back on the road til 4:00. I would suggest taking a taxi back to the hotel from the King Street Metro ONLY if you are in a hurry to try and beat some of the traffic on 495 to 270 instead of waiting for the shuttle in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

It sets the standard for Hampton Inn. I stayed there three times during the past month or so, and enjoyed it every time.

During my first stay, it was a bit noisy since my room was facing the Leesburg Pike. I requested a quiet room and they immediately switched me to a room on the back side. It was quiet, freshly clean, and comfortable.

The breakfast was almost gourmet. The oatmeal was delicious. There was plenty of good hot food such as sausage and eggs. It was a lot more than a continental breakfast. Also the juice was fresh.

During my most recent stay, I hear loud TV from next-door at night. The front-desk immediately called the next-door to turn it down. They prompt and effective in handling matters.

Overall, it was quiet, clean, and comfortable. The rate was reasonable as well!

Room Tip: If you don't like the noise from Leesburg Pike, ask for a quiet room on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The stay was short as we got in after 10pm and left around 9am, But we had the best sleep in a long while. The beds were perfect soft pillow top for the wife and firm enough mattress for my back. Curtains kept the room dark for sleeping in and the breakfast offered was a nice suprise. Would recommend for all and will stay here if ever in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed four days. It is nice and clean. Room is in good condition. Breakfast is very good and enjoyable. We drove to the hotel. Parking is convenient. Internet connection is fast enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.