We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The hotel offers a free shuttle to Metro Station on the 1/2 hour. Coffee, fruit and cookies avail all day. Morning breakfast was more then adequate making this a good value and a decent place to stay if you are in the area for business or sight-seeing. Pool is very small but offers nice diversion for the kids. Hotel was extremely crowded the night we stayed which was on a weekend. Hallways and room a little dingy.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    118
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
157
87
21
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The breakfast was a real breakfast, the shuttle was always on time, and the beds were so comfortable! I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Alexandria.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Found bedbugs in my hotel room on my last stay last weekend. I have reported this to the management and hopefully they will address this issue immediately.

I have taken extra precuations not to bring the bed bugs to my home. I will not stay here again.

Previous stays were fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorene S, Manager at Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We were distressed to learn of the bed bug issue and we have taken immediate action both in-house and with an outside company. Please understand that this is an isolated incident as we employ a very rigorous program of both prevention and detection to try and avoid problems of ths nature. You may rest assured that in the wake of this occurrence we are redoubling our efforts and doing everything within our power to make sure similar problems do not arise again. We have tried to reach you on several occasions to extend our sincere apologies, to ask how we can make things right, and to explain in detail the steps we are taking.
Please contact us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My family and I decided on a Washington DC vacation. We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Alexandria, VA.. the location was very convenient to the Metro into DC. Also a shuttle from the hotel is provided to the metro or Old Town. The staff is more than helpful in assisting you in any way possible. We are already talking about returning we had such.a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We choose this hotel in order to avoid the exuberant prices of the hotels in DC. The hotel is easily accessible by car and parking is free. A shuttle of the hotel brings you to the metro in Alexandria (see comments below). For us this worked well. Rooms are OK and even on the street side relatively quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Finding good food in the neighborhood is however not easy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is a perfect choice for visiting DC if you don't want to pay inflated prices. A free shuttle runs every half hour and drops you off at the King Street Metro station (Metro and Amtrak), which provides you access to anywhere in the greater DC area via rail for $14/day. The National Mall is about 1 hour away from the hotel lobby when traveling by shuttle and Metro.

The staff is both attentive and professional. The rooms are contemporary, and typical in size when compared to other moderately priced hotel chains. Free wifi is provided throughout the hotel. The fitness center and outdoor pool are adequate, however, the pool is a bit on the small side and closes at 9pm. Breakfast is included, and includes eggs, meat, waffles, bread, oatmeal, cereal, etc. A 24-hour coffee station includes fruit, cookies, tea, etc. This property is also a two-minute drive to shopping and restaurants.

We would definitely stay here again when visiting Washington, D.C.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomah, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Drove from Chicago to sightsee DC, didn't want to pay outrageous prices for accommodations, found this gem online. We got there the Sunday after the storm and they had just gotten power turned back on. Staff was great checking us in and explaining the sporadic power, even went so far to call restaurants. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was wonderful, my teens had no problem finding something to eat that they liked. Shuttle to Metro station was a pleasant surprise, we got the tickets before we started eating and shuttle was ready when we got done. Although the van only seats 11 we were the only riders both there and back.

Rode the Metro to DC, easy to navigate, got the all day pass $14.00, even went out to the. National Zoo. Great way to get a round and avoid traffic. We also avoided rush hour 7 am to 9am and 3pm to 6pm.

Coffee, water, and fruit were available all day, exercise room was clean and sufficient. They had a business center that I didn't have a need to use, pool closed a little too early for it to be usable for us, kids got about 20 minutes one night, closed at 9pm.

Had pizza delivered from Hot Stone Pizza one night, walked down to TGIF another night and decided the wait was too long ended up at Popeye's across the street. Restaurants within walking distance and delivery to the hotel, couldn't ask for anything else, great location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.