We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent DC Option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Excellent DC Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Hotel options are numerous in the Washington, D.C. area, and with that, the value, price range and location varies greatly. You can spend a lot of money to stay within walking distance of all of the historic sites of DC, which is very valid for a lot of people and spend money parking at those hotels every day. Or, you can find a great value right outside of DC such as the Hampton Inn of Alexandria, VA on Leesburg Pike.

For just under $100/night (less than half of what you'd pay in downtown DC), you'll get a clean hotel with very friendly service. They also offer a great breakfast with your stay each morning. The one thing that might prevent people from staying here is the fact you'd then have to drive into DC each day, but the commute only takes 10 minutes and finding parking in DC is actually not that difficult as there are free lots by the Thomas Jefferson Memorial and free on-street parking on Sundays.

We'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the DC area and we'll definitely be back next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    94
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
127
67
18
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I stayed with my family at the Hampton Inn Alexandria on Leesburg Pike. I can't say enough about the comfort of this hotel. We only stayed 2 nights but the beds were so comfortable. The hotel had a continental breakfast with waffles, fruit, cereal, eggs, biscuits, toast, etc. It was perfect for a family with small children. The hotel was conveniently located near the Interstate but not so close that we were able to hear noise and traffic. We had a great stay here. Great location, price, and amenities. If in the DC area again, I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The price was reasonable at this Hampton Inn and it worked for us because it was near family we were visiting. Staff were very accomodating, breakfast was fine ... note that the pool is outdoors.
However, I wouldn't choose to stay here if my goal was to sightsee in DC, and it would be out of the question without a car. We selected it over the Hampton Inn in Old Town Alexandria because that one is pricier and charges extra for parking, but at least there you would have the charm of Alexandria, be in walking distance to the metro and have easier access to DC.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile

This hotel had everything we were looking for in the DC area. Close to all attractions, Old Town, free parking, safe neighborhood, breakfast included and comfortable, clean rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We flew in from AZ and met up with family from NY. It was so nice for the kids to be able to hang out in the common area, eat snacks, play games and reconnect after long days of sight-seeing.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Perfect place to stay for a Washington DC getaway. VERY family friendly.

Safe, quiet neighborhood, immaculately clean property. More reasonable room rates than being in the city, free parking, kids loved the cookies in the lobby. Very attentive security, and very efficient and friendly check-in. About 4 miles from the Metro, but that's not a big deal, really, just a short drive to park there and you're laughing.

Everything you would want in a hotel - that's what you generally expect from a Hampton property. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Water, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Standard Hampton room w/2 double beds. No mini-refridge in room, but a microwave in the lobby. 24hr access to business center w/printing facilities. 24 hr coffee/tea/hot chocolate; cookies in the evening; quality fresh fruit (bananas, apples) available. Wifi in room. Breakfast/coffee was good, replenished very quickly, eggs & sausages weren't too salty, and make your own waffles seems to be a staple in all Hamptons, Homewood suites and Embassy Suites now? Only stayed one night, bed comfy, room & bathroom were clean. I noticed the Hamptons now has the individual 2 coffee paper cup makers in the room i/o the glass caraffs. Safe in room. Rollaways were $7, and they're not the folding beds. The halls were kinda wierd, spider-like; easy to lose your sense of directions going through the hallways. Neighborhood was safe with lots of restaurants w/in short distance. Virginia highways were confusing to navigate, but that's not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Ask for room near elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I had a reservation at a different hotel but wanted to stay at this property due to proximity of biz appointments. They were sold out but I called the afternoon of my arrival anyway, and the lady (didn't write down her name) offered to put me on the cancellation list - very helpful. Sure enough, Mohammed called around 4 pm and said they had a cancellation. So I was able to cancel my other rez before 6 and stay here. GREAT SERVICE by Mohammed and the other staff. They gladly called a cab for me, and were otherwise helpful and courteous. Property also very clean with great breakfast as the other posts state. Room rate also VERYcompetitive in this market. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South

Address: 4800 Leesburg Pike, Alexandria, VA 22302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.