We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Alexandria to your Saves list
Travelodge Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 N Washington St., Washington St & Wythe St, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This place is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed here for three nights while visiting Washington DC. This place was great! They are right across the street from Starbucks, so breakfast was no problem. The train with two lines to Washington is just six blocks away. The room was huge, and comfortable, and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    68
    25
    45
See reviews for
38
41
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malvern pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I have seen a lot of negative reviews of this place, and I was a little hesitant right before our trip (after I booked it for 3 nights with no refund). All I can say now is that the Travelodge is a really affordable and comfortable place to stay. The location is awesome and the only negative thing I agreed with from other reviews was that the electrical system could barely handle the hair dryer. Our room was always cleaned and the bathroom was fine. We only took part in the breakfast once, and to be honest, why would eat there when you're in Alexandria??? If you're used to expensive hotels, then yes, you would be disappointed. But if you need a place just to sleep, get ready, and relax, you can't get much better than this place if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stayed with my sister for three nights in March. Hotel is about a ten minute walk from Braddock Road Metro station, but it then takes around half an hour on the Metro to reach major tourist locations such as the Mall/Smithsonian/White House. It is convenient for the Pentagon and Arlington though.

We had just stayed at a very nice Holiday Inn in Boston so maybe it was just the sudden comparison, but the Travelodge seemed a bit shabby. The decor is quite dated, the quilts on the bed were bobbled and the towels seemed thin. It was all clean enough but was showing age and wear. Okay just for sleeping and using as a base to store your luggage but you wouldn't want to spend any sort of quality time there.

The complimentary breakfast is served in a room next door to the hotel, and really isn't worth the bother. Two types of cereal, concentrated orange juice and some rather stale tasting donuts. After day one we just ignored it and went across the street to a Starbucks. There is a Giant foodstore (smallish supermarket) about a ten minute walk away and several gas stations on the same road as the hotel, plus a chinese restaurant, pizza place, etc so you won't starve!

If I was visiting Washington again I probably wouldn't stay here and would look for somewhere a bit nicer within the same price range, but I would recommend it to anyone looking for a budget place to crash for a day or two with the warning that it's quite dated and nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Arrived at hotel on a hot August afternoon after a ten minute walk from the Braddock Road Metro station. Property is only two stories with limited free parking. Check-in was smooth and friendly. My room was on the second floor; a spacious two bedroom with student-size fridge, microwave and coffee-maker. Air conditioning in the room was fantastic; quiet and cool. Everything in the room was clean and functional. Breakfast is 7:30-9:30 am; I did not have time to evaluate. Starbucks, Trader Joe, other stores are a short walk away. A previous review noted public housing in the area; it is low-rise public housing and well maintained. The neighborhood in general is middle class. If you do not mind staying at an older property, this is a low cost alternative to the high-priced hotels in D.C.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Hotel is in severe need of maintenance. Funny smells; nonsmoking rooms smell like smoke and vinegar. Noisy. It looked like the maid had made a valiant effort to clean the room, but the paint, carpets, etc. were just too old and worn to be cleaned. Electrical system out of date and not up to code; my hair dryer dimmed the lights!

Location is about 7 blocks north of Old Town Alexandria (King Street) and 7 shorter blocks east of the Braddock Metro. (I needed to use the Metro to get around DC, because I was going to multiple downtown locations and it's virtually impossible to park.) The walk to the Metro from the motel takes you past public housing projects. The projects are thinly disguised by colonial brick facades (probably required by local development codes) but the behavior of the people hanging around outside left no doubt as to the character of the neighborhood.... I felt I had to tread carefully, especially after dark.

Frankly, if I didn't need a cheap room on short notice I never would have stayed here. But given the absolutely, totally ridiculous prices of DC hotels -- especially if you don't book long in advance -- I grinned and bore it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

I stayed at this motel for 3 nights. I expected a hotel, but this is more like a motel, with some rooms with direct access to the parking lot. It's great if you are with a car.
But if you arrive without car, you get a second floor room, and you feel much safer.
Rooms, carpets are old, but clean. I read comments criticising the the bathrom, there was no problem at all. A bit small, but it's OK. The Old Town are beautiful, it's about 10 min walk from the motel. The motel's surrounding area is safe, but empty at nights.
Great food places near by, just a block north an Asian foodplace, Starbucks, Denny's, and a Pan Pizza just around the corner at Denny's. Gas stations accross the street.
You can order Pizza from Dominos, they deliver really fast.
If you plan to fly, choose Ronald Reagan National. It' 10 minutes from here, with cab and cost apprx. 15USD with tip. But you can take the Metro it' s only 1 stop.
The Braddock Station Metro is about 7-8 blocks away on the crosstreet. Takes 15 minutes to Center Washington DC. There is a continental breakfast included (very basic).
Free internet, no password, and it' speedy!!!
I can just recommend this place. It may not be the newest, but great for resting after miles of walking in DC.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

The hotel is old, but more importantly, it is clean and safe. We stayed 8 nights. Staff was friendly and helpful. Nothing fancy but that is what we were looking for. If you simply want a clean, safe and affordable place to sleep, this is the spot. Valuable tips I wish we had known ahead of time. There is not any parking at Braddock Station. Best solution is to drive to the Visitors Center on King Street and ask about transportation into D. C. There is a free trolly shuttle to King Street Station. We had difficulty finding places to eat prior to finding the Visitors Center area. There are many dining choices and you can walk to the wharf. Here you can eat, shop, book a signtseeing cruise or just enjoy the scenery. You can see the Capital from the wharf! We will definately stay here if we return to the D. C. area. You are actually minutes from everything once you get your bearingsl.

  • Liked — Clean and location
  • Disliked — Being upstairs
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Alexandria

Address: 700 N Washington St., Washington St & Wythe St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Travel Lodge
Alexandria Travelodge
Travel Lodge Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.