We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Travelodge I've Stayed At” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Alexandria to your Saves list
Travelodge Alexandria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 N Washington St., Washington St & Wythe St, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nicest Travelodge I've Stayed At”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Travelodges are cheap for a reason. They're not 4 star hotels but they get the job done. My stay was one night and it is a few min drive from the nearest metro station. Room was semi-clean. Front desk attendant was nice but creepy. I couldnt tell if he worked there or not. Overall, it did the job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    83
    37
    58
See reviews for
52
52
36
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile


I stayed here 3 nights last week. Let's shake it on down:

GOOD:
- about as cheap as a hotel gets if (a) you want to go to DC and your per-person rate makes hostels pricey (b) you don't mind taking 30 minutes to get into the city (10-15m walking +15-20m Metro ride) (c) you have a car to deal with
- despite some reviews stating otherwise, I found the layout (old 2-story brick motel) charming. The area is called Old Town, y'know!
- contrary to a review I read, we did have a fridge which we put to good use
- staff was very friendly. After checking out, I realized I left something in my room. I called the front desk, and the manager left immediately to retrieve my item and called me to confirm it would be waiting for me.
- Alexandria is a nice area to see, and if you want to visit Mount Vernon it's just a 20-minute scenic drive away.

UNGOOD:
- wifi just didn't work. I could connect no problem, but I was not able to send or receive anything unless I turned it off
- breakfast was mostly drab - packaged honey buns, mini bagels, and 2 cereals (though I do give them credit for having Honey Bunches Of Oats)
- there was no way to make a bath (though I only had success with 1 of 4 budget hotels on this trip, so maybe this is a trend)

In the end, the GOOD outweighed the UNGOOD and I'm happy I chose this place. If I come back to the area as a family and with a car, I'll strongly consider this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I will not be staying here again.
as soon as I walked into the room, I saw a room key on the floor under the table. At one point the smoke detector was replaced, but they left the broken one in the dresser. and on the last night, the bathroom sink would not drain.
when I checked out, I had to push the front desk bell twice.
Only positive thing was it is within walking distance from the Metro Rail

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantonment
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

First impression was not good. The parking lot made me very uneasy because it didnt feel safe. Had we seen it in person and not had reservations, there is no way we would have stayed there. Hotel only had a few guests and that made us wonder if there was something wrong with this hotel and we were not aware. Walk to the metro was ok during the day but I would not walk it at night or alone. No elevator which made getting our luggage to the 2nd floor very difficult.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafat M, Manager at Travelodge Alexandria, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
The motel is located in Old Town Alexandria and all parking lots are of the main Washington street. The occupanccy for the month of June was 73% and for first 15 days of July is 68%. The metro station is only 7 blocks. The demographic of the area has since changed and there has never been an incident where our guest was involoved. However there is a Dash bus service which runs from a block away ( Pendelton Street ) on regular intervals and is a 2 minutes ride to metro station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#25 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
0.6 mi away
Morrison House, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Alexandria

Address: 700 N Washington St., Washington St & Wythe St, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Travel Lodge
Alexandria Travelodge
Travel Lodge Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.