We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Property, Clean But Basic.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8849 Richmond Hwy., Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Wilton, Iowa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Older Property, Clean But Basic.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is an older motel, basic accommodations, but clean. Rooms could use an update. The motel has a strange setup, the rooms face inward to a courtyard area, no windows on the outside of the motel. It looks like a big warehouse. Never saw a motel with this design before. Not many restaurants in the area, but it is near Mount Vernon, which is why we stayed here. Not sure I would pick this motel again, there is a new Hampton Inn going up next door.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
15
15
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I didn't understand what other reviewers meant by lots of bus tours. What it means is that this motel is made for people who stay only one night, like the bus tours. They wouldn't care that the dresser drawers were hard to pull out or pulled out onto the floor. Nor would they care that the maid service didn't finish cleaning my room every day until after 3 PM after removing all the bed linens by 10 AM. That's fine for people checking out every day, but not for me when I wanted to come back and rest after getting up very early to care for my granddaughter. The people were perfectly nice and the place is quiet, even with the outdoor "hallways." But they also should make clear that there aren't any elevators, so if you have a problem or a heavy bag, stay on the first floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The outside looks good, as does the lobby. The courtyard area looks nice too. But the room was tired and not very clean either. However it was only $89 plus tax when others close by were twice the price. The breakfast area was clean and the breakfast was better than average. I was glad to only be there one night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here for three nights on business in early April 2012. Made reservations through Choiceprivileges and had no problems at check in (aside from waiting for 15 minutes--why does it always take so long?). The hotel looks like a castle from the outside and it has a large interior courtyard.

My room was on the second floor near the end of a hall. The room was a bit dated and dingy, but not dirty or nasty. Fridge worked fine. Did not try the coffee maker or other amenities. Internet access was fast with no issues. Room was cleaned each day.

Breakfast is average with pastries, fruit, cereal, etc. Entrance to the hotel is a challenge because of a divided highway and the drive is hard to see because the sign is small. It is not possible to make a left turn out of the parking lot without driving on a strange access road toward a gas station, then catching a light. Otherwise, you need to take a right and then make a U-turn (not always easy).

On the plus side, we finished our project and checked out one day early (room was not prepaid) and saved a little money. Hotel is only a few miles from Mt. Vernon.

I would stay here again and recommend this hotel for travelers who need modest accommodations at a relatively reasonable price (given the area).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I will probably never go back but it was a decent hotel for a quick stopover while travelling south. It looks like a prison from outside but once inside it is fairly nice with a nice courtyard in the middle.

The breakfast was good with lots of hot food.

With so many nice hotels nearby (on the way back we stayed at: BW Old Colony Inn, Alexandria), might as well travel the extra 5 minutes to go there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this location for one night on December 22, 2011. We had arranged our travel through Expedia and paid for all costs upfront. The stay was uneventful and fortunately, given the very base condition of the room and property, we were committed for only a single night. Upon return from our trip to Washington, we discovered that the hotel had added another charge of $88.24 to our Visa card. We called the hotel and we were advised that the charge had been added as two blankets were "missing" from the room. At the time we tried to talk to a manager but were advised that the manager was not in. After calling back three times at different hours and on different days, it seemed that the manager was never available and messages were left unanswered. Frustrated, we contacted Visa and were told that the charges would be refunded if I personally wrote a letter describing the situation. I can only say that my wife and I are deeply insulted and offended by the hotel's absurd charge that we "stole" two of their ratty, old blankets. Just a word of warning to those wishing to stay at this hotel. The manager, "Nikki", seems to have few scruples regarding charging guests in order to make up for a shortfall in linen inventory. We would never again stay in a Quality Inn property given the treatment that we received.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The bath tub drained slowly in our room, since my husband and I only stayed in this hotel one evening, so we didn't bother to complain. If you'd like your room very dark while sleeping, it's probably not very good idea to choose this one; because curtains won't be able to block lights from aisle. Employees were helpful, we liked Bill there at the front desk. All in all, I would say it's worth of money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 8849 Richmond Hwy., Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Alexandria
Quality Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.