We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend a little more money and stay away from here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Alexandria-South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Alexandria-South to your Saves list
Days Inn Alexandria-South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6100 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303 (Huntington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Spend a little more money and stay away from here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

We are in the Wyndham Rewards program and try to find affordable, decent places to stay. This place wasn;t it! The neighborhood didn't feel safe, you worried about leaving your car in the lot, the place just wasn't clean and there was a security guard walking around. Now we felt good that he was there, but we were worried that we needed him in the first place!! The lady behind the counter treated us like we were idiots because we wanted to park at the Metro station around the corner. She said we'd NEVER get a parking spot after 6am and we were crazy to even try. We didn't listen and got a place everyday after 9am, no problem. The pool was only open a very limited time each day. We met several families during our stay and they mostly all felt the same way, that the hotel wasn't anywhere near the quality they expected. For being a DC area hotel, we expected it to be more traveler-friendly. We have learned our lesson, we'll spend a little more money and get somewhere closer in to town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    122
    109
    50
    26
See reviews for
131
77
40
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

This hotel is super old and needs major updates. The rooms are clean but it reminds me of those old hotels you see in a Hitchcock movie. The WIFI here absolutely sucks...it connects then stalls and you have to reconnect. Terrible for internet access. The price is "cheap" for DC standards, under $100/night. However, if you had other opportunities, I would try to find another place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Stayed here after a long flight to Dulles. Clean, comfortable - just what we wanted for one night. Very cheap. On main road to richmond which was ideal

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights during our family vacation to Washington, D.C. We picked it for the location to the Metro and the price. The price was great and the service was wonderful. Older hotel, but kept clean. It is about 1 mile from the Metro and the hotel will shuttle you to the station but not pick you up, but the walk back is down hill). You can park your car at the Metro for $5 a day, which is what we did. The hotel has an outdoor pool with a lifeguard. Very clean pool. Only open from about 4 pm to 9pm, which was a small bummer, although it worked for us as we went sight seeing during the day. The free breakfast was probably the biggest downside. The hotel was full of people and the place to get breakfast was small and crowded. They served breakfast from 6 am - 9am but by 8:30 they were out of most food and it was not retocked - so get your food early! We ended up getting McDonalds two days to just avoid the crowd and hassle. On another food note, the resturant attached to the hotel has WONDERFUL gyros and pizza.

We had a situation after the first night, with our room not locking as we were getting ready to leave for the day. The front desk sent a maintence worker up immediately and when he coudn't fix it right away, they gave us a new room so we could secure our items. On our last night we realized that we had left a shoe in the previous room and they let us back in to get it. They checked back with us about an hour later to see if we found it. (we had) We thought that was really kind for them to check with us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

on the outside, my initial feeling was this place is a dump. After seeing the rooms, im glad i booked this hotel. Huge clean rooms, Queen size beds. Price is a little bit high though

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Picked this location as a resting site following a long haul flight into Dulles.

Helpfull booking system and attentive to our needs with a great, simple food operation on the property.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

The hotel is a little dated however the rooms are in great shape, large and updated. This isn't very convenient if you're trying to use public transportation however the Huntington Metro Station is 5 minutes away by Fairfax Connector Bus 171 which runs every 1/2 hour. Unfortunately the street that it's on is very busy so walkers take note. There's food close by, Metro. I was staying here for business and it had the best continental breakfast layout I've seen in DC for the price range. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are safe and clean.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Alexandria-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alexandria-South

Address: 6100 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Alexandria-South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Alexandria-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alexandria-South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Alexandria-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.