We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Alexandria-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Alexandria-South to your Saves list
Days Inn Alexandria-South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6100 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303 (Huntington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Las Vegas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The family stayed here for a couple of days to see the sites in Washington DC. The room was nice and the beds where comfortable. The bathroom is a little small. The shower didn't have pressure and it would get too hot and then all of a sudden turn extremely cold. I don't why that was happening but it made for an uncomfortable shower. Breakfast was served but it consisted of cereal, make your own waffle with only one being available, and frozen egg and cheese which has to be heated in the microwave. You can't bring food out of the room as stated by one of the clerks due to the health department. Which I believe is bologna. Overall the stay was great and a short drive to Walmart, Papa John's, Wendy's, Five Guys, and other shops that we have all become familiar with.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    125
    114
    51
    28
See reviews for
139
81
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is a bit dated, but it was economical, clean, and (almost) everything worked. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location provided easy (though somewhat congested) access to Washington DC, my primary destination. The room was small but livable. I had to re-arrange the furniture so the desk faced the TV instead of the wall. The breakfast was OK but the choices were somewhat limited: cereal, toast, bagels, and those make-them-yourself waffles. Some bacon or sausage would have been a good addition to the pre-made eggs. The chocolate chip muffins saved the breakfast however; they were great!
I do have a complaint, however. The internet connection was terrible. I have had this problem in Days Inns before, and I used to think the cause was my old laptop computer, but during this visit several other guests reported the same issues. The resident computer expert on the staff couldn't even get it working and pretty much gave up. The internet worked just a little bit better in the lobby than it did in the room, and I was able to get my work done there, but if you are dependent on having the hotel-provided Internet in your room I would advise against staying here.
Overall this was a good experience for the money and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria-South, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your valuable time to send us feedback and also apologize for the internet issue. IT technician has updated internet connection issue.
Thank you for staying with us.
Giri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

For a discount motel, I thought the stay was great. Quiet, which is important. Clean, nothing broken. Beds were good. Breakfast was good. I wish they had more pastries and fruit that you could grab and take with you. Dining area was great. The food service area was confusing and it took me a while to figure out where the coffee was and everything. I had to ask customers. I had trouble understanding the host when I checked in as he had a strong accent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria-South, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sending feedback. Your feedback is extremely important to us for our daily business. I am sorry to hear that you were little confuse to locate coffee area, as you enter breakfast room coffee kept both side in pot or air pot.
Thank you.
Giri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great price and good amenities at this hotel. Daybreak Breakfast was usually busy and was actually good. 2 waffle makers made the lines move quickly. The room was clean and was comfortable. The AC could have been a little cooler but it was hot outside and our room was on the third floor. Only complaint was the showers/water. The water was constantly either too cold or scalding hot, Sometimes seconds apart. The hotel needs to fix this issue before someone gets scalded badly. Shower is almost unusable right now.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria-South, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank you for letting us know about the shower problem. Plumber has been called and the issue has been resolved. Once again I thank you so much for providing feedback.
Giri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Days Inn Alexandria-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alexandria-South

Address: 6100 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Alexandria-South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Alexandria-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alexandria-South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Alexandria-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.