We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nIce place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Alexandria-South

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Alexandria-South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Days Inn Alexandria-South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6100 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303 (Huntington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    90
    87
    30
    20
See reviews for
93
59
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Saturday manager (March 30,2013) was most helpful us in making the shuttle van available for us. The van made our stay possible and very pleasurable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, Manager at Days Inn Alexandria-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much. Yes! we do our best to exceed your expectation.
Giri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Even before the title of the review became apparent, I was unhappy with my choice and this place was getting a bad review. The paint was peeling, the bed was springy and uncomfortable (not good for a bad back at all), the bathroom was tiny and dirty (there were long hairs in the shower), and the room itself smelled a little funny. I thought about leaving even if I'd lose my money, but in the end I figured it was only one night so I could live with it. Then, in the morning I woke up to bed bugs on the walls! So far, staff has been completely unresponsive (it is unresolved, but I really hope for a refund and for them to reimburse me for the dry cleaning and for the suit case I had to throw away). Worse, they seem to be clueless. The guy at the desk said he'd be sure to "let housekeeping know about the bugs so they can clean"!!! Shouldn't the room get a thorough cleaning between guests each time? Doesn't he realize that a cleaning won't help with bedbugs, they need an exterminator! No wonder they have bedbugs. Avoid this place, staying at another hotel in the area is more than worth the extra $15-20 they'll cost you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn6852, General Manager at Days Inn Alexandria-South, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I thank you so much for letting me know about the situation.

Upon receiving your complaint on Saturday, certified and licensed exterminator was notified for a special thorough inspection. Upon using methods and devices the exterminator certified that there was no evidence or traces of bed bugs or any other insects were found. However, in a good faith of customer relation, I have already initiated the process of refunding one night lodging through Expedia.com. Usually it takes 10 to 15 working days.

The room you have stayed just been painted and beddings are fairly new in perfect condition that will cause no harm to any one . After your departure the very same room has been rented everyday and no one has complaint or given any negative comments.
Hopefully my generosity for offering a refund will justify the settlement of issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#30 of 49 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Free internet...
Show More
5.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 49 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Landmark
Comfort Inn Landmark
#32 of 49 in Alexandria
3.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Alexandria-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alexandria-South

Address: 6100 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Huntington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Alexandria-South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Alexandria-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alexandria-South Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Alexandria-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.