We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, just” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Alexandria Landmark

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Alexandria Landmark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Days Inn Alexandria Landmark
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   110 South Bragg Street, Alexandria, VA 22312   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Adequate, just”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

We used coupons for a low rate in this hotel. The other attraction was the shuttle service to the Metro station. We found this hourly service to be adequate and reliable, running all day.
We were surprised that there was no safe in the room as there had been in other Days Inns we had stayed in. Also, most of the power sockets had been wall-papered over, - this job appeared to have been done by an amateur. Breakfast as such was inadequate, being only coffee/juice and granola bars.
The toilet backed up and overflowed (not our doing) the first night we were there, but management promptly found us another room, equally safe-less and socket-less. In both rooms the bath/shower valves did not work properly.
The area seemed okay to us but there are probably better parts of town to stay in. Overall, I would not choose this hotel again.

  • Liked — Shuttle to Metro
  • Disliked — Limited breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    53
    82
    131
See reviews for
88
47
38
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2007

The room was stinky (literally, bad odor), the bedding was not changed, the bathroom was filthy and the stained carpet was not even vaccumed. I requested a different room, but the new one was even worse: the lights were on, both beds were in disarray (bed spreads were thrown on the floor etc), garbage bags were all throughout the room; in other words, the room was either not checked out yet or it has been just checked out. The third room seemed to have been cleaned recently, but everything looked worn out. Towels, bedding, all smelled like detergent, but their original white color was some kind of grey. On top of this, the faucet in the bathroom was leaking and there were bugs in the room.

The receptionist seemed very irritated when I interrupted his PSP game with my demands of sleeping in a decent room.

Bottom line: STAY AWAY! It's a shame because the location is very convinient - right off I-395 and they offer a free shuttle to the Metro station (I did not use it though, thus I cannot say how reliable it is)

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the filthy rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburb of chicago
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2006

when we first came into the room, all the lights did not turn on, we had to call for more light bulbs. When you tried to put something into the light sockets, the light receptical would push alittle into the wall, the toilet was filthy, the floor was wet in one place by the sink, there was no remote for the tv. I registered on line and it still took 25 minutes at the desk to register, and i found the people who worked there to be cold. i have registered this with days inn and also hotels.com

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the state of the room
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2006

Pros:
1. Had TV- Showtime (nice) but few channels were squiggly
2. Able to fall asleep despite stained sheets
3. Late checkout - 12 pm
4. Next to the Comfort Inn which has a 24 hour IHOP
5. Couple vending machines but refill the ice cream one!
6. Quiet area that night (it was Halloween so expected the worst)

Cons:
1. The shower didn't work or look too well (turned knob from bath to shower completely and water came out of both faucets but most of the hot water came from the bath faucet).

2. The heat was blasting in the room (it is a mild fall so far) but forced to use the AC which cooled the room 2 hours later.


When the lobby is locked and the front desk personnel speaks to you through a box office microphone, you know you aren't in the greatest area.

Wasn't the worst experience I've had, but my tolerance is high and I certainly wouldn't volunteer to ever stay there again (had a family member pay for the room after a last minute trip was planned to the area).

  • Liked — Showtime
  • Disliked — Dirty feel
  • Tips/Secrets — I don't know if the Comfort Inn next store is nicer, but I'd the odds are in favor it is.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

I know this place well. I live in Alexandria and have had a few out of town friends stay at this dump.
the rooms are dirty. this place is in a very bad drug neigborhood. drugs are sold and used right there at this motel as well as the other 2 Bragg street hotels and the welfare (section 8) townhouses X the street from this motel. over the years, many drug raids have taken place at this motel. it is cheap and therefore it attracts that element .
.....> This is not a place for a tourist !!!
i suggest to stay away from this motel
( and also the other 2 hotels located on Bragg street)

Stayed December 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2005

Roaches (saw 10-12). They offered us another room (like roaches would stick to just one room?).

Elevator didn't work.

"Free shuttle to metro" runs once an hour during a few hours in the morning and a few in the evening - rest of the time you're on your own.

They did give us roach night free. Hopefully we didn't take any of them with us.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2005

We recently visited this area to see family and friends - we drove from Chicago. Since we were on a tight budget, this hotel fit the bill.

However, a good friend of ours told us that the place was roach infested. We decided to take our chances. When we entered the room, it was damp, dark, and old, but it seemed okay.

I opened the dresser drawer and there was a huge roach! (And a trail of white powder we assume to be insecticide – which means they KNOW of this issue, but have done nothing – by reading the other reviews – to solve it permanently)

We quickly grabbed our children (a 7 month old and an 8 year old) and told the office we wanted our money back.

During that time, a woman came down and had bite marks on her lips, chin, and chest - clearly visible. She was complaining that she was lying in bed and then felt something biting her.

And then a woman that was there to visit a friend said that she had bite marks as well when she stayed the week prior - still there!

Needless to say, STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE! It is far worth the money to pay more to stay at a nicer establishment.

Roaches and 2 patrons with bite marks?!? Scary.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Alexandria Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Alexandria Landmark

Address: 110 South Bragg Street, Alexandria, VA 22312
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Alexandria Landmark 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Alexandria Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Alexandria Landmark Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Alexandria Landmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.