“Absolutely Horrible Customer Service and don't assume that just because you made a reservation you actually have a room”
When we arrived late in the evening at the Comfort Inn in Alexandria, VA for a two night stay we were checked in and given the room key. The four of us trudged up the elevator to our room only to discover that the "two double beds" room we had booked looked an awful lot like a single king bed, which does not work so well for a group of 4 adults. So, we trudged back downstairs with all of our bags to straighten this out. The two men working at the front desk listened to the problem and then one of them proceeded to inform us that the hotel was overbooked and they did not have any more rooms. Did he say he was sorry for the confusion/inconvenience/incompetence or say anything remotely resembling an apology? No! He spent a bunch of time trying to figure out how our 2 double beds reservation became a king bed in the computer (even after we showed him the confirmation email with 2 double beds). We asked if they had a roll-away bed? No. Did they have an additional king room? Well, yes, then after several minutes of confusion about which credit card the room was booked with the guy just stood there occasionally typing something into the computer and not saying a word. Finally, when we asked what he was working on, he said that he couldn't book us into the second room because of something wrong with the room in the computer system. (During this time the line was building behind us and the other man at the desk was helping a woman whose reservation was also messed up: she also had a group of 4 people in a room with only one bed.) Finally, he said he could move us into a room with two double beds, but only for tonight and he didn’t have any rooms to put us in on the second night of our stay. So, we ended up with a room for one night but apparently we are expected to sleep on the street for the second night of our stay. All of this ridiculous hassle would have been made so much less frustrating if the guy at the front desk had, just once, said “I’m sorry about the inconvenience”. This place has extremely poor customer service and I do not recommend that anyone stay here, ever.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
November 12, 2010
I agree with you - even in the mix up with reservations, which unfortunately happens in the hotel industry, the FIRST thing we do is APOLOGIZE for the inconvenience as we assure you of our desire to correct the error as expeditiously as possible. WE APOLOGIZE, first of all, that this was not done promptly. WE ALSO APOLOGIZE that this event even occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
Because our hotel is such a convenient gateway to the Old Town Alexandria region and downtown Washington, DC while also being perched directly at exit 173 off the 495 Capitol Beltway, we get a lot of traffic for both business and leisure/touring travel. Our remodeling efforts have also caused us to upgrade reservations and try our best to accomodate the requests of all of our guests in order to facilitate an enjoyable stay for everyone who walks in our doors.
Your review shows us that in the midst of all the "busyness", we allowed some of our core principles to fall through the cracks, but I assure you that this is being addressed and hope that in the future you would consider sharing in all of the new and exciting things that we are doing to upgrade and improve our property.
Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and assure you that we are working to get this right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.