We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I stayed there with my kiddos this past weekend. It is everything you expect in a hotel. We had a good time and really have no complaints. Nice clean rooms and good service Nice hotel to stay with kids at. :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIAlexandrea, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us! It was truly our honor and privilege to serve you. When choosing a hotel, there are some key hallmarks which entice every traveler. When preparing to receive our guests, we have taken into consideration what our valued guests look for in accommodations!
Our deluxe complimentary breakfast (complete with hot breakfast items), close proximity to the National Mall, Smithsonian, National Harbor and all that DC offers, as well as our outdoor pool, the on demand shuttle for easy access to transportation in and out of the city are all available to you just because we'd expect the same!
Furthermore, the renovation of our hotel is attracting all the buzz!! The soon-to-be Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is poised to do nothing less than awe our guests with vast upgrades and spacious two-room suites, perfect for your family! We are so honored that you decided to join us as our personal guests. We are equally delighted that you enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing with us that we are meeting our goal to ensure a pleasant stay for our valuable guests, like you and your family!
We sincerely hope that your travels bring you back to our neighborhood (the Cherry Blossom Festival is coming up!), and we welcome the opportunity to serve you again here at the Comfort Inn (soon to be Comfort Inn and Suites) Alexandria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    81
    41
    15
    34
See reviews for
103
46
23
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

The staff, especially the sales manager, Gary Mabry, were so careful to listen to my needs for a large family reunion. We aged 5 months to 75 years and we needed special attention to details in the rooms. I spoke with Gary prior to arrival enough times about my guests who kept multiplying along with their individual needs until I felt he was part of the family. All the staff were extremely helpful. My family were all pleased with the arrangements. Phyllis K.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIAlexandrea, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
It was our pleasure to serve you and your family. Comfort Inn (soon to be Comfort Inn & Suites) Alexandria aims to treat every one of our guests – whether in a large group or traveling alone for business or personal leisure – with the courtesy and respect that they deserve. We count it a privilege that you chose our hotel for your accommodations and cordially extend ourselves to you and your lovely family when your travels lead you this way.
It was an honor as well to take part in such a great event like the promotion of your son in the Armed Forces. We not only consider it a great privilege to serve you , but that your travels centered around the honoring of a great man who has put himself in harm’s way so that we can enjoy the freedoms we so often take for granted. So our sincerest thanks and thoughts are directed toward him and your family for lending such an honorable man to this country for service. Again, thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

When we arrived late in the evening at the Comfort Inn in Alexandria, VA for a two night stay we were checked in and given the room key. The four of us trudged up the elevator to our room only to discover that the "two double beds" room we had booked looked an awful lot like a single king bed, which does not work so well for a group of 4 adults. So, we trudged back downstairs with all of our bags to straighten this out. The two men working at the front desk listened to the problem and then one of them proceeded to inform us that the hotel was overbooked and they did not have any more rooms. Did he say he was sorry for the confusion/inconvenience/incompetence or say anything remotely resembling an apology? No! He spent a bunch of time trying to figure out how our 2 double beds reservation became a king bed in the computer (even after we showed him the confirmation email with 2 double beds). We asked if they had a roll-away bed? No. Did they have an additional king room? Well, yes, then after several minutes of confusion about which credit card the room was booked with the guy just stood there occasionally typing something into the computer and not saying a word. Finally, when we asked what he was working on, he said that he couldn't book us into the second room because of something wrong with the room in the computer system. (During this time the line was building behind us and the other man at the desk was helping a woman whose reservation was also messed up: she also had a group of 4 people in a room with only one bed.) Finally, he said he could move us into a room with two double beds, but only for tonight and he didn’t have any rooms to put us in on the second night of our stay. So, we ended up with a room for one night but apparently we are expected to sleep on the street for the second night of our stay. All of this ridiculous hassle would have been made so much less frustrating if the guy at the front desk had, just once, said “I’m sorry about the inconvenience”. This place has extremely poor customer service and I do not recommend that anyone stay here, ever.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dosmanger, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, November 12, 2010
I agree with you - even in the mix up with reservations, which unfortunately happens in the hotel industry, the FIRST thing we do is APOLOGIZE for the inconvenience as we assure you of our desire to correct the error as expeditiously as possible. WE APOLOGIZE, first of all, that this was not done promptly. WE ALSO APOLOGIZE that this event even occurred.
Because our hotel is such a convenient gateway to the Old Town Alexandria region and downtown Washington, DC while also being perched directly at exit 173 off the 495 Capitol Beltway, we get a lot of traffic for both business and leisure/touring travel. Our remodeling efforts have also caused us to upgrade reservations and try our best to accomodate the requests of all of our guests in order to facilitate an enjoyable stay for everyone who walks in our doors.
Your review shows us that in the midst of all the "busyness", we allowed some of our core principles to fall through the cracks, but I assure you that this is being addressed and hope that in the future you would consider sharing in all of the new and exciting things that we are doing to upgrade and improve our property.
Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and assure you that we are working to get this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

As an afforable hotel, this worked fine. The rooms and especially the bathrooms were clean. The beds were comfortable.
I was dissapointed at the lack of a crib for my younger child, especially since they advertise them as being available.
The breakfast was nothing to write home about but was provided.
We had no problems with the shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dosmanger, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
We are so glad that we "Did the Job", but we are shooting for so much more. Thank you for sharing the ways that we met and/or exceeeded your needs here and please note that we are also working on your other observations as we speak.
Our cribs are indeed available, but they are on a first-come-first-serve basis. It is rare that they are all in use simultaneously, but when they are, we do see how that can present a dilemma. We apologize that one was not made available to you and we are working on creating storage space as we remodel so we can hold more than just the required minimum.
As far as breakfast is concerned, it is usually one of our best features according to our guests. I assure you, however, that with the RENOVATION OF OUR CAFE AREA, we are priming up for optimum functionality and preparing to do even more to make our Deluxe Continental Breakfast even more appeasing in the future.
Thank you so much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Spring Lakes, North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

This hotel advertises that they have their own resturant. The only dinner selections they had were microwave pizza, burgers and some sandwiches. The hotel is in a very busy area with no resturants within walking distance. The hotel on the other hand was good for the value. Room clean, staff friendly. Metro transfer fast and on time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dosmanger, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
We apologize for your displeasure with our Cafe. While we are not a full-service restaurant, the offerings are usually seen as more than adequate to suit the needs of our guests. We apologize that you did not feel this way.
Our menu, including pizzas made in a pizza oven and not a microwave, burgers, fries, onion rings, assorted other types of cold sandwiches and sides, soups (chili, chicken noodle and tomato soups), chicken fingers, buffalo and barbeque chicken wings, assorted cakes and pies for dessert, as well as assorted soft drinks, water, beer and wine provide a plethora of choices for adults and kids alike.
And worthy of note - as we complete OUR NEWLY DESIGNED CAFE/RESTAURANT area, we will be designed to be more functional and provide an even wider assortment of foods as our new state-of-the-art facilities will better fit the needs of our clientele.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will consider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Wanting to spend a few days wandering around Washington, DC, this hotel met our needs for a place to sleep, shower, and change, but it left a lot to be desired. The good first - on demand shuttle to and from the Metro station was a real plus. The continental breakfast got us off to a good start for the day. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. Plenty of free, safe parking. But ... the room was very, very small. We two had to stand sideways to get past each other at the foot of the bed. The A/C was too blowy. We almost wanted to leave it off because if we were working at the table, our hair and papers blew all over the place. The number and placement of electrical outlets were completely inadequate. I prefer not to brew coffee in the bathroom but there was no other good place to plug the coffee maker in, and even there, it had to perch precariously on the edge of the sink. I had to unplug either the table lamp or the TV to plug in my laptop. The morning sun beating into the breakfast room was blinding, rendering most of the tables unusable or uncomfortable - they need some kind of filtering shades on the windows. Our room keys failed six or seven times because their magnetizing process is far too sensitive. Going back down to the lobby every time we wanted to get into our room got old - and when we reported our room number so they could re-magnetize them, we were not asked for identification. Guess we could have given them any room number. And finally - the hotel is on a very busy five lane road so turning left out of the parking lot was a challenge. We'll find someplace else on our next trip to DC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dosmanger, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
Many of the issues brought up in this review are already in the process of being dealt with. Our ongoing remodeling project boasts as its next goal - A COMPLETELY REMODELED CAFE/BREAKFAST AREA and we are so excited to be able to offer this to our guests real soon. Furthermore, as the process starts with the room renovations, it will be a pleasure to see the guests response to more spacious quarters, offerings of more suites for the comfort of the entire family (without the need for separate rooms) and yes, more outlets which will now accomedate the growing need in our technological society to always "plug in". Please join us in the celebration as these new changes unfold. We know you will not be disappointed. thanks so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Read the negatives before I got there, so wasn't sure what to expect. The room was clean, no bugs! Parking was easy. Location was convenient for me. This is NOT a 5-star hotel, but it doesn't pretend to be. Has a couple of problems - TV channel guide is out of date, and one elevator wasn't working. But I've stayed in "better" hotels and had worse stays. People were friendly. Breakfast was not 7-course, but got me started fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dosmanger, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, October 13, 2010
We are so glad that we were able to make your stay pleasant. We are working very hard to do several things - asthetically and with staff training - to ensure that all of our guests have a great stay at our property. Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.