We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Rates & Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent Rates & Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights on a recent family trip to DC. Room was clean & bedding comfortable. Minifridge was helpful to have with the family. Breakfast is complimentary & offerings are pretty much what you would expect -- although it was crowded & a number of flies were on the food. We only had breakfast there once because of the crowd & flies. Laundry room was clean, but no change machine was available (and the vending machines only provided dollar coins as change, which aren't taken by the washer & dryer). Front desk provided what change they could, but ran out. Location is good -- close to the train. Was impressed that the outdoor pool actually had a lifeguard on duty when open, although we didn't take advantage of it while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at our hotel, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your room. I checked with our breakfast staff and they noted that they had some problems with little fruit flies but were able to resolve it by using some natural (non toxic) traps (they look like little apples). We have also increased the amount of quarters that the front desk has in their bank to help with providing change for the guest laundry. We are very sorry that these problems impacted your stay at our hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us and for letting us know of the problems you encountered.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    93
    43
    15
    34
See reviews for
117
52
25
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

For the rates and location this is great. Has free parking and free shuttle to the Van Dorn street metro station. The shuttle arrive very quickly after you call them. The location is great and has many fast food places within walking distance. The access to DC thru Metro is a breeze. The breakfast is included and is usual with some warm items. It closes promptly at 9:30 am so do not accept to even have the juice machine working even if you are 5 mins past that time. Swimming pool is small and only outdoor, but for this time of the year it was OK. The hotel generally is older looking although was clean. Staff are nice and responsive to your need. All in all if you are on a budget this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel. The hotel building is 'older', built in 1985 but we just finished a complete renovation of all or our guest rooms and public areas and we are very proud of our hotel.

Thank you again for picking our hotel from the many options in our market, we do hope to see you again on your next trip to our area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Having stayed in Central Washington DC previously, we found that the city has more to offer than you'd think, and even two weeks isn't enough time to fit everything in!! This (our third visit to DC) needed to be a little different, with the addition of a hire car to allow travelling further afield.
We needed somewhere to stay that had free self parking, still local to the DC area, and possibly bed and breakfast.

The Comfort Inn & Suites, Alexandria. Ticked every box!!
We found it very clean and well presented, with friendly staff, and a host of other features that left some of the larger, more "elite" hotels somewhat lacking!!
Our room (to the rear of the hotel, 6th floor) was clean, well laid out, and surprisingly quiet, even given that the interstate (I-95) runs a short distance behind the property!!
With a small fridge, microwave and coffee making machine, the room suited our needs perfectly!!
The unsung heroes of the Comfort Inn & Suites are the "Behind the Scenes" staff, with a well stocked cafeteria, serving breakfast (free / included with the room) having items to suit all tastes. The kitchen staff never seem to stop, with more popular food being restocked within minutes!!
And if needed, a simple, "no fuss" restaurant operates in the evenings, if you are eating in, after a day in the city!! Again, with food (and drinks) to suit all needs.

The regular shuttle bus was also most convenient (also free / complimentary) offering quick (2 -3 minutes away) transport to the local Van Dorn Street Metro station, which is then only about a 25 minute ride from Central Washington DC and all of its sights.

Again, the drivers are helpful and friendly.
The staff at the front desk are also great, with any information needed, being offered quickly and professionally.
Although we didn't venture in, the hotel also boasts a swimming pool, to take a cool dip in the evening, before heading out again, or turning in for the night.
All in, our two weeks here we're amazing, reaching much higher than any of our expectations.

We wouldn't hesitate staying here again, and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a more cost effective alternative to larger, more expensive hotels.
The Comfort Inn and suites, Alexandria made our third trip to Washington DC a very pleasant experience.

Thank you!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you. We really appreciate your staying with us and taking the time to post this great review. We share all reviews with our team but this one is a great morale booster to our hard working team members.

Please let us know of anything else we can do to make your next stay as good or hopefully better and please do come back.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is probably the best Comfort Inn I have ever stayed in, and I was really pleased with the value of the hotel for the price. It has just about every comfort and amenity one would expect...clean, comfortable rooms, refrigerators, business center, morning breakfast, laundry facilities, good wifi, shuttle service to the subway, location convenient to shopping and highways, pool and exercise area. We rented two rooms...the double queen and one of the king suites. The king suite was especially nice. The staff was very courteous and worked hard to keep us happy.

Room Tip: The 2 room king suites are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dave,

We thank you for the very kind comments you posted about our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of our suites or as we call the "real suites" because unlike most hotels that claim to have suites, our suites have two separate rooms with a TV in each room and two bathrooms and most importantly, room to stretch our.

Thank you again, hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel is only a five minute drive from the Washington Monument, Arlington National Cemetery and many other Washington attractions. It has a nice complimentary breakfast, with scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, toast, yogurt, cereal, fruit, bagels, etc. The room was clean and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi, free parking. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel, we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to our area.

I don't usually correct guest comments but it is really a 15 to 20 minute drive into DC or a bit longer during rush hour. We really appreciate your great review but want to give others who read it a conservative estimate of travel time.

Thanks again,

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a great experience during a recent stay. In fact, this was our second stay after a nice visit four years ago.Rooms were clean, and breakfast was good. Most importantly, the staff were genuinely helpful and friendly, from the front desk to the cleaning staff to the van driver. I always appreciate friendly staff who are glad to go the extra mile for their guests, and you will find those folks here. I will be back the next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Welcome back. We are very happy that you decided to stay with us again and thank you for your kind comments which we will pass on to our team as they all work hard to do our best for our guests.

Thank you again, we hope to see you again on your next visit to the DC area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

There was nothing particularly good or bad about the rooms. There was a shuttle to the Van Dorn Metro station that we took both days - very efficient, we never had to wait. Parking is free. You will need a car if you want to go anywhere since it is not walking distance to anything. Staff was friendly.

We booked our room through Hotwire, but my parents got the same rate when booking direct on the Comfort Inn website.

My only complaint was that the elevators needed a good cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel on your recent trip to the DC area. I am glad to head that there was nothing bad about your stay but disappointed that we were not able to make you feel your stay was not just good but excellent. Please let me know if you return to give us another chance at an excellent experience and as a returning guest I will be happy to upgrade your reservation to one of our suites at the same rate. Just book your room and email me at the hotel.

Thank you again.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.