We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service for business people” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Lexington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very poor service for business people”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel and will not stay here again. I sam a diamond memeber of Choice Privialges. I am traveling nurse and travel 52 weeks a year and will be in this area all summer. Rooms are nice but most of staff is awful. It took 30 minutes to check in. Hair dryer did not work and when i complained was treated as if I had asked for something unreasonable. Did change rooms after I called corporate office. In new room phnes did not work for wake up call and I had no coffe pot for coffee. They did fix phone but were upset about it. They never did get me a coffee pot and I was tired of complaining to them. The food service staff were wonderful and nice. Most of staff needs a class in customer service. The do not like complaints and I find that Choice hotels does little. I used to love staying at Comofrt Inns but I find now that many have very poor customer service. I have not seen this in other hotel chains and see an improvement in customer service but Choice hotels just does not seem to want business people any more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Denise,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of the staff service issues you experienced during your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was not what you expected.

As I expressed in my emails to you after your call to our corporate customer service department, rude treatment of anyone at any time is certainly not acceptable and I have personally reviewed your comments with all of our team members who were on duty during your stay to ensure they are crystal clear about this.

Again, thank you for contacting us regarding your stay.

Scott McEwan
General Manger
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    93
    43
    15
    34
See reviews for
117
52
25
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I had a great stay at this property. Great staff. The property is right near Metro stop. The hotel provides free shuttle to and from station. Very good breakfast. Over all good experience. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We appreciate your deciding to stay at our hotel and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your experience with our staff and our breakfast buffet.

Recommendations from our guests are very important to us, we will pass your kind comments onto our team.

Scott McEwan
General Manger
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Front desk personnel are nice & friendly. Rooms were nice & clean! Breakfast are hot & good but cease at 9:30am.

Shuttle Service begins at 7am unless it snows. Close to Van Dorn Metro Station but shuttle service ceases at 9:30 pm. Taxi service is around $10 (in 2014) from Van Dorn Metro Station to hotel unless it snows then prices increase. The shuttle service will not take you anywhere else but to the Metro according to the front desk.

Hopefully this knowledge in advance will help you make good choices when booking!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay at our hotel, we are happy that you found our desk staff to be friendly and rooms to be clean.

Yes, our shuttle runs from 7 am to 9:30 pm every day and we only transport guests to/from the metro station during peak season which is from March to October. Due to heavy local traffic and high guest demand for our shuttle service we limit it to the metro to provide the best service we can to as many guests as possible.

Thank you again for staying at our hotel, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manger
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

My family chose to stay here because of its reasonable price and it's proximity to DC. You can drive into downtown DC and park at Union Station all day for only $18, which can actually be cheaper than the Metro!

It looks well-maintained, as though recent renovations have been done. But don't expect this to be 4-star... It's comfortable but basic. The free wifi and free parking is great. The free breakfast is nothing special and the eggs are kinda gross. There's only one mirror in the entire room, which is the bathroom mirror over the sink. Tough for 2 or more people to get ready at same time.

These sacrifices were well worth the savings we enjoyed by staying just outside of DC. Oh and Alexandria has its own charm, especially down by the Potomac river. Definitely worth checking out if you have time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Convenience to DC at more affordable prices does bring at lot of guests to our area but with several hotels in the area we appreciate your picking our hotel, thank you. You are correct, we just finished renovation of all of our guest rooms, the project took nearly 3 years as we tried to work during slower periods of the year to minimize impact on our guests.

We are sorry you didn't find our breakfast very special. We try to pack a lot of options in our 37 foot long breakfast buffet. I will work with our breakfast staff on how the eggs are prepared, thank you for your comment, we really want our guests to have a good breakfast for a good start to their day.

Thank you again, we hope to see you on you next trip to the DC area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here recently on a trip to DC. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean. It was easy to get to and from DC. The only downside was that the AC froze up during the night. The breakfast was the usual " free breakfast" fare. Good deal for the money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel for your trip to DC. We are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and room clean. I apologize for the problem you noted with the AC unit. I will get maintenance on it, thank you so much for letting us know, warm days are quickly coming and AC is a must.

Again, we appreciate your staying at our hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My room was filthy with hair in the sink, hair pin on the carpet that I stepped on, the coffee pack was already open and the coffee taken out.
My flight was cancelled so I called early to let them know in advance that I will not be using my room that night and to give it away, I spoke to Monet, the employee asking for refund she asked me to call back in order to check with her manager, Bernadette. I called back and Monet said that Bernadette agreed to refund me that night. However, I was denied the refund upon my departure after two night stay at this disgustingly dirty hotel with a dishonest manager.
The heating system was so loud that woke me up whenever it went on, I could not sleep the two nights of my horrible stay.

Room Tip: Don't bother go there, not worth the price. You can get higher quality for less money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Please accept my apology for the problems with the room you noted in your comments. I have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance staff as the problems you described are certainly not up to our standards.

Regarding the refund for one night, I reviewed your reservations and found one for 2/27 that we canceled at no charge and one that you made for 2/28 that we changed to 3/1. Both reservations were made through online booking sources and prepaid by you. While we made the changes on our end, you have to contact the booking source to request a refund which we will approve. (the reservation for 2/27 was through Expedia). We don't charge your credit card, the booking source does, so they have to issue the credit.

I am very sorry if this was not explained at checkout but any charges for the first reservation and the unused night on the second reservation can still be credited but you will need to contact the booking source. They will then contact us and we will approve the credits.

Scott McEwan
General Manger
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
203 hotel reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay...

Very well convenient location next to 495 exit - easy on - easy off...

Next to bike trail, ideal for morning jogging...

Very warm welcome by front desk manager... Very nice, polite and courteous... Offered me a free complimentary upgrade to suite room with my Diamond status; a nice touch!

Very nice and spacious suite with 2 flat screen tv, 2 restroom, nice couch and enough space for morning workout and office work in the evening...

Very good wifi Internet, awesome shower, great AC and fan system... fridge and microwave in room; a must!!!

Nice little fitness center, cafe with food option from 5h to 9h pm and complimentary breakfast (didn't eat breakfast so can't comment about it; sorry!!!)

Lovely stay for me; will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
We are so happy that we provided a pleasant surprise and a great experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for choosing our hotel and thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your stay.

All of our guests are important to us but we are happy to offer upgrades to our Choice Privileges Diamond members when rooms are available.

Thank you again for staying at our hotel, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.