We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
“Good hotel in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for the Marine Corps Marathon in DC and it was excellent. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Provided a free bagged breakfast to the marathoners that was perfect,and the shuttle to/from the metro was quick and easy. Waited less than 5 minutes for the shuttle. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Susan,

Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We always enjoy being able to provide comfortable lodging for participants of the Marine Corps Marathon. Thank you again, we hope to see you on your next visit to the DC area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    81
    40
    15
    34
See reviews for
104
46
23
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited our son in Alexandria. The hotel was very close to his apartment.

The staff was very pleasant, the room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was great.

The computer & printer on the first floor was very handy to print the route home.

We cut our trip short because of the "shutdown" in DC, but that was in no way caused by the hotel.

We recommend this hotel. Although we didn't use it, there was a shuttle to the nearby Van Dorn St Metro Station.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor. There are 2 elevators. We imagine the elevators would be busy in peak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. It's great to hear that our hotel is conveniently close to your sons appartment, we hope to see you again when you make your next family visit.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel, was very nice and neat. The lobby was welcoming and beautifully decorated. The front desk were polite and very welcoming. i love my experience at this hotel. Breakfast was good.
I will definitely come back to visit

Room Tip: The king suite was spacious,neat and very beautiful.. i loved everything around this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel on your visit to our area, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.

The room tip you added to your review notes that you stayed in one of our king suites, we are so glad you enjoyed it, we are very proud of our suites. Many hotels call their rooms suites when they are just larger rooms while our suites have two rooms with a seperate living room and bedroom.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manger
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent three nights here, having picked it for accessibility to Mt. Vernon, as well as for affordability. Good call. Although it's an older facility, our room was comfortable, with great beds and bedding, very clean, and super convenient to DC when we wanted to take the metro in to see the sights. The hotel even offers complimentary van service to and from the station, which is about five minutes away.

The breakfast was a notch above the typical, with real scrambled eggs instead of the yellow hockey pucks we found elsewhere on the trip.

Staff was courteous and helpful, with an array of printed instructions for getting from here to there. The only downside was an air conditioner that came on like a jet engine, so loud we had to change the volume to be able to still hear the TV. It might bother a light sleeper but didn't bother me.

I will definitely recommend this place to my budget conscious friends as a safe, convenient, affordable place to stay in an expensive area.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room not facing on Van Dorn; traffic is pretty heavy. We were on the 9th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Judy,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write about your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt our hotel is a good value.

Yes, our hotel is a few years old but we have worked hard over the last two years to renovate almost everything inside the building with the exception of a few rooms that we hope to have completed over the winter months.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel was very nice. Staff was pleasant. They helped us with Metro questions into DC. Breakfast was average and attendant was on top of the situation. This hotel also offers a little dinner cafe. We didn't try it, but it was nice to know it was there. We used the shuttle daily to and from the Metro. We never had to wait very long. The shuttle drivers were great. Our room was very clean and nicely furnished. We were on the top floor and had a nice view of the city. Would recommend to anyone wanting a reasonable place to stay just outside DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel for your DC Trip. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and ammenities.

You mentioned that you didn't have a chance to try our evening 'Cafe', perhaps on your next visit. Our 'Cafe' has a limited menu with pizza, burgers, beverages, beer and wine but it saves on going out after a day seeing the sights in DC.

When you return look for our new snack shop we opened last week in our lobby next to the front desk. It is open 24 hours and has beverages, snacks, some convenience food items, ice cream, beer, wine and a few sundry items.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again very soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manger
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed for several days on business and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, and convenient. The staff was accommodating, and it was nice to have a complimentary breakfast available too. Close to the metro so you can get around town.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review in TripAvisor about your stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I may have expected a lot more from this hotel based on the reviews I read but the room we were in smelled and needed some serious update. It's possible it is what it is because it's a pet friendly room but still. I've been to other pet friendly hotels and they don't smell.

The breakfast was ok. The good thing about the hotel was the free shuttle to the metro station.

Room Tip: don't stay at room 511. seriously, it smelled funky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Please accept my apology that your room was not acceptable. We have been working hard to renovate our entire hotel but there are still some rooms left to be renovated, most of which will be done the end of this year.

Room 511 is one of the older rooms that are to be renovated later this year. Old or not there should not be an odor. Our housekeeping staff will be doing a deep clean of that room this week to find and resolve this problem.

We hope you will consider staying with us again and give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. If you decide to stay with us again, please contact me after you make your reservation and I will make sure you get the best room available in the category you reserve.

Thank you for staying with us and again I apologize that your experience at our hotel was less than you expected.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.