We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot to Stay for DC Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Harrison, Michigan
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Spot to Stay for DC Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel was very nice. Staff was pleasant. They helped us with Metro questions into DC. Breakfast was average and attendant was on top of the situation. This hotel also offers a little dinner cafe. We didn't try it, but it was nice to know it was there. We used the shuttle daily to and from the Metro. We never had to wait very long. The shuttle drivers were great. Our room was very clean and nicely furnished. We were on the top floor and had a nice view of the city. Would recommend to anyone wanting a reasonable place to stay just outside DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel for your DC Trip. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our staff and ammenities.

You mentioned that you didn't have a chance to try our evening 'Cafe', perhaps on your next visit. Our 'Cafe' has a limited menu with pizza, burgers, beverages, beer and wine but it saves on going out after a day seeing the sights in DC.

When you return look for our new snack shop we opened last week in our lobby next to the front desk. It is open 24 hours and has beverages, snacks, some convenience food items, ice cream, beer, wine and a few sundry items.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again very soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manger
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    83
    41
    15
    34
See reviews for
108
47
23
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed for several days on business and found the hotel to be clean, comfortable, and convenient. The staff was accommodating, and it was nice to have a complimentary breakfast available too. Close to the metro so you can get around town.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review in TripAvisor about your stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I may have expected a lot more from this hotel based on the reviews I read but the room we were in smelled and needed some serious update. It's possible it is what it is because it's a pet friendly room but still. I've been to other pet friendly hotels and they don't smell.

The breakfast was ok. The good thing about the hotel was the free shuttle to the metro station.

Room Tip: don't stay at room 511. seriously, it smelled funky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Please accept my apology that your room was not acceptable. We have been working hard to renovate our entire hotel but there are still some rooms left to be renovated, most of which will be done the end of this year.

Room 511 is one of the older rooms that are to be renovated later this year. Old or not there should not be an odor. Our housekeeping staff will be doing a deep clean of that room this week to find and resolve this problem.

We hope you will consider staying with us again and give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. If you decide to stay with us again, please contact me after you make your reservation and I will make sure you get the best room available in the category you reserve.

Thank you for staying with us and again I apologize that your experience at our hotel was less than you expected.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I cannot possibly put into words how wonderful this hotel is! This hotel is excellent for a short stay or an extended stay (we stayed 7 nights). It is close to Van Dorn Metro station for easy access to DC. The front desk staff were always courteous and helpful and attended to every need we had. The breakfast offered a variety of hot and cold choices. We used the free shuttle to the Van Dorn Metro Station everyday and we never had to wait on it. The property is very clean and orderly. We had a King Suite and it was very spacious and clean!! The Business Center was a lifesaver for me as I had to print out things each night. It was open 24 hours!! The laundry facilities were clean and orderly!

If you are looking for a "home away from home" this is it! Clean, prompt service, polite staff, free shuttle, free hot/cold breakfast, refrigerator/micowave/safe in rooms. You can not ask for more!!! Stay here and you will not regret it!

I must mention by name the front desk staff as they each were so courteous and helpful our entire stay: Jose, Andrea, Jawad, and Bernadett. GREAT JOB!! The shuttle bus driver, Portia is very courteous and helpful as well. She was always smiling and greeted us with warm "good mornings" and "goodnights". GREAT JOB!

Room Tip: We had a King Suite. The room was very spacious with a full bath/shower in the bedroom and a half b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel.

Your review was very kind and I have shared it with our entire team. We appreciate all reviews as feedback from our guests in important to help keep us on track but it is a great morale booster for our team when our guests enjoy their stay and write about it.

I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast but also want to let you know that we just opened our new snack shop this week which offers, snacks, beverages, ice cream and more 24 hours a day. I think you will like the addition when you stay with us again.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

When looking for a hotel for a weekend visit to the DC area I was looking for free parking and free breakfast. Well I found it here plus a free shuttle to the nearby subway station!!!!!
The prices were very reasonable compared to other hotels in the general area. The hotel in general as well as our room was very clean and appeared recently remodeled. Our room was very quiet even though it was on the main floor and near the workout room. Our friends who were traveling with us but in another room did have some noise issues with their room being near the ice machine/ elevator.The front desk staff were able to relocate them and were very nice about it The breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold selections and was promptly refilled as needed. We used the shuttle to get to and from the metro station, it was very convenient and there within minutes of being called for, and the driver was very courteous.
We would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for picking our hotel to stay at during your weekend visit to DC. We have lots of free stuff as you noted, free parking, free breakfast, free WiFi, free coffee in our lobby all day.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your room, our breakfast and our fitness room. I am sorry your friends experienced some noise issues but fortunatly we were able to relocate them to a better location in the hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived into Baltimore and should have reached the hotel within an hour. There was an accident and we were very late arriving- after midnight. When I called to say we had a reservation but were stuck in traffic, the hotel clerk said my name before I did, telling me they had our room ready and waiting. The room was very clean, well lit, beds were comfortable and bathroom was perfect. Breakfast was so enjoyable the next morning, in a sunny inviting room with a lot of windows. I wished we could have enjoyed more of the hotel amenities. Will consider this hotel whenever we head south.

Room Tip: A little off the highway - but rooms are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I am so glad we were able to make you feel welcome after the longer than expected trip you had to get here.

We hope to see you again in the near future, perhaps for a longer stay so you can enjoy all we have to offer.

Thank you for staying with us.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I am so pleased in writing this review. I stayed here for a month and every employee that works here is awesome. Jose, Michelle, Bernadette, Batool, Jahad, Usher, Andrea, Hip, Porscha, I hope I didn't miss anyone but what a great staff and hotel you have here Scott. I do not have not one complaint other than your minor shortage on towels in which is an easy fix lol. Rooms are super clean all thanks to your housekeeping staff Maria, I think another Maria, and some others that I cant remember. Your drivers are all great as well. Soloman is a great cook. Amare is quite the funny man, Porscha is great as well, and Mr. King is just Mr. King lol. Great staff all around. Myself and the company will continue using your hotel for our trainees. Thank you so much for the hospitality. I will be coming back in November for a weekend. Hope to you again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Location is also awesome given the free shuttle service to the Metro Station in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted about our staff and hotel. Maria just completed a linen inventory and we ordered more towels today to build the stock up.

I made sure all of the staff, especially those you mentioned, saw your review as they really appreciate the encouragement for their work they do.

We will look foreward to seeing you in November. Our new guest snack shop will be open when you return to make any late night snacking easier.

Thanks again.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.