We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name isn't "Comfort" Inn for nothing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“The name isn't "Comfort" Inn for nothing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Comfort inn & Suites Alexandria is an Excellent place to stay if you are visiting the Washington DC area. My family and I felt welcomed as soon as we walked through the doors. The lobby was so clean and inviting. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The hotel is conveniently located near Walmart, the mall and restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was excellent. We really enjoyed the courtesy shuttle that took us to the Metro station and picked us up to bring us back to the hotel. We originally stayed at a Howard Johnson in Cheverly MD, that was horrible. We left that hotel after one night and stayed at the Comfort Inn Alexandria and must say that it was a very wise choice going there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments about our hotel and staff, I have passed your praise on to out team. We appreciate all comments from our guests as we strive to be the best we can but of course it is especially nice to receive comments like you posted.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    94
    44
    15
    34
See reviews for
121
52
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Family trip with kids (14,13). Very clean and very convenient to get to Washington for vacation. Room was a bit nicer than expected and bathroom was spotless. Location was close to interstate and felt very safe and secure. Nothing over the top, but if you are looking for a good price, clean room, nice breakfast (eggs and sausage among normal continental choices), convenient location....here you go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
It is great to hear when we are able to exceed our guests expectations, I am happy you found your room to be nicer than expected. We appreciate your picking our hotel for your family trip to Washington and hope to see you again on your next trip to our area.

Thank you again,

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Comfort Inn in Alexandria, VA is a great choice for a no hassle trip to Washington, DC. After you land at Regan National Airport (DCA) just take the Metro to the Van Dorn Stop and the hotel will pick you up with their shuttle van. If you want to go into Washington, DC, they will drop you off at the Metro station and you just get your tickets and go, soooo easy. If you have a car there is a great Italian restaurant not far in a shopping center on Van Dorn, all their food is fresh and wow! The service is outstanding and friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side, but it was quiet>
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on your trip to DC and thank you so much for you kind words about our hotel and staff which I have passed on to our team. I think the restaurant you refferred to is Egardos which has good food in a relaxed atmosphere.

I am happy that our free shuttle service to/from the Van Dorn metro station worked well for you, it is a very popular service year round from 7 am to 9:20 pm so you don't have the hassle of driving into and parking in DC.

Thank you again for staying with us, hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are visiting Alexandria for the first time, I highly recommend the Comfort Inn and Suites on Van Dorn Street at the intersection of I 495. This is very accessible, and easy off and on. The staff is knowledgeable, tops in courtesy and accommodating. The room we had appeared to have new carpet,and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning very quietly kept the room at the desired temperature. The hot full breakfast was outstanding with a complete assortment of all types of breakfast foods. To top everything off, the rates were good and I felt we received full value in the accommodations. The next time I am in the Alexandria vicinity, I will again choose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor and thank you for your kind words about our staff and hotel.

We really appreciate your picking our hotel for your visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We came in a night early and the staff were so kind and found a room during high tourist season. We used the shuttle daily and it was always prompt and the drivers courteous. The breakfasts were very nice and always well stocked. The staff were always very helpful and assisted us each time we needed the shuttle and the staff worked it out so we didn't have to move after the first night. Big thanks! I'd stay here again for sure.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We really appreciate your picking our hotel for your visit to our area and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words about out staff, our complimentary breakfast buffet and our shuttle service to the metro station.

We hope to see you again soon.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Took visitors from Germany on a trip to DC. Rooms were clean, breakfast buffet was fabulous and all at the right price. Metro station and shuttle were convenient. Staff were helpful and informative. Some things that would have been helpful to know. On our return we waited 45 min for the shuttle to arrive - lots of traffic, although I think they forgot to send the shuttle the first time we called. Parking at Metro is free on weekends, so on Sat we drove to Metro rather than wait for the shuttle. Up the street about 1.5 miles was a brand new shopping center with plenty of options to eat, shop and play (movie theatres). Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Faced the street, didn't have any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Loretta:

Thank you both for staying with us and for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel services and staff.

I apologise for the wait you had for our shuttel, traffic during peak commuter times can be very bad but I agree 45 minutes is a long time, I will remind our desk staff that this is a critical service area that needs consistent attention.

Thank you again, we hope to see you again on your next visit to our area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Family vacasion to washinton Dc,The Good
Hotel is closed to a the metro, Nice breakfast, Pool,Clean rooms, shuttle to the metro
The Bad
Away from the main strip about 40 min ride in the metro, next to a main freeway (so is goood and bad)

Room Tip: The breakfast is nice and the shuttle to the metro
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel for your family vacation to the DC area. We are glad that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet, pool and free shuttle to the metro.

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and hope we will see you again on your next trip to our area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.