We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Linton, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Love This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This place was the best place to stay for our DC visit. I did not have reservations either, but they upgraded me to a suite for no charge. Jose at the front desk was the best. Breakfast was always good and well stocked. The rooms were wonderful and everyone was helpful. Great shuttle service to the metro as well. Will stay here again. My only complaint is that I wished the pool would stay open longer at least until 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for deciding to stay with us on your DC visit. I am glad you liked the suite we upgraded you to, it's nice to have some extra space, even on a short visit.

I have passed your positive comments about Jose at the desk and the breakfst and shuttle service to our staff, it is always nice to be able to pass words of praise onto our team members.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    91
    43
    15
    34
See reviews for
116
51
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hell, Michigan
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We appreciared the free parking since many of the hotels we researched charged for parking. The shuttle service to the Metro was prompt and we appreciated the convenience. The room itself was all right although the air conditioning fan was a little loud. The staff at the front desk were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us on our DC trip. I apologize for the loud air conditioner unit in your room, I have asked our maintenance staff to do a quick check of guest room AC units throughout the hotel to see if we can find any that seem too loud and make adjustments as possible.

Thank you for your kind mention of our shuttle service and desk staff, I have passed your comments on to those team members.

Thank you again for staying at our hotel. We hope you will give us the opportunity to have you stay with us on a future visit.

Scott McEwan
General Manger
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We needed a place that we could afford for a 9 day stay and this fit the bill. We were leery of the distance from Metro, but the service was fabulous. The free shuttle always showed up immediately when we called. The front desk was very helpful, whether you needed a razor or a printed mapquest map.
The full breakfast had an excellent assortment, though the scrambled eggs were watery and the waffles were not the best. Much can be forgiven because the coffee and hot water were always well stocked. Plus there was toast, English muffins, pastries, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, bagels, bacon or sausage or biscuits & gravy (rotating), yogurt, and juices. We did not go hungry.
The hotel is not within walking distance of any restaurant, and their "cafe" was very limited. But their notebook of services included menus of several restaurants with free delivery. We ordered from the Chinese place and the food was good, reasonably priced, and arrived quickly. We ate at the patio near the pool while the kids swam. The pool even had a lifeguard on duty!
The room was spotlessly clean at all times. The water pressure was the usual low pressure you get in hotels. Probably from their water saver devices. But I've had worse.
We liked it well enough that my husband will stay there next month when he will be passing through.

Room Tip: We had room 605 and were happy with it. It was in the back, not overlooking Van Dorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for picking our hotel for your 'long' visit to the DC area. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

You noted in your comments that our 'Cafe' is limited, as in a limited menu which is true; however we are about to start work on a guest convenience market which will sell beverages, snacks and sundries 24 hours a day. It will be located in our lobby next to our front desk where we currently have a computer for guest use. We are building a new business center down the hall from the lobby that will provide more space and a quieter environment for our guest needing to access a computer and also include a free workstation for guests to use their own laptop.

Again, thank you for staying with, we hope to see you on your next visit to our area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

For the past five years I have traveled to our nation's capital during the week of May 15th and each time I've stayed at the Van Dorn Street Comfort Inn & Suites in Alexandria, Virginia. My experiences at the Comfort Inn have always been great. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating. Their continental breakfast is very good and helps start each day off right. They have a free shuttle to and from the Van Dorn Street Metro Station. I've used the shuttle service countless times. I have the Comfort Inn phone number programmed into my cell phone so when I arrive back in the evenings all I've had to do is make a quick phone call requesting the shuttle. Within a few short minutes the shuttle arrives and provides a friendly shuttle back to the Inn. I would recommend the Van Dorn Street Comfort Inn & Suites to anyone looking for a good comfortable, friendly and convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us over the past five years, we hope to see you for many more years to come. We really appreciate your taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and are glad that you have enjoyed your stays at our hotel.

Just to let you know, we are in the process building a new business center just down the hall from our lobby which I hope you find useful on your next visit. As soon as the business center in finished we are converting the area in the lobby where we have our computer desk now into a guest convenience market which will sell beverages, snacks and sundries 24 hours a day.

Again, thank you for staying with us.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped in the wee hours of the morning and only stayed about 10 hours before hitting the road again. The staff was courteous, friendly and extrememly helpful. They allowed us to stay 4 hours past check-out to rest up without an added charge. The room was clean and decent size. They were doing some improvements on the rooms. Warm, full and free breakfast. We would stay again. Heard from the staff that they were close to the metro. Easy on/off of highway. There is a charge for the safe-which is common in hotels now- but they refunded it.

We were across from the elevators but it was extremely quiet. The rooms were well insulated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review about us about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to extend your check out time to give you more rest time before you had to get back on the road.

You mentioned that we are doing some improvements to our hotel which is true. We have been working on renovating all of the rooms and public areas of our hotel and hope to finish the last of our older rooms by the end of this year. At that time we will be going 100% smoke free at our hotel for all rooms and public areas.

We hope to see you on your next trip to our area and hope you will have more time to relax at our hotel and visit some of the local attractions near our hotel.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We found upon arrival the room wasnt very clean. The towels were stained, mold in the bathtub and the bedspread stained. We also had found a hair in the sheets...gross! The carpet was filthy and turned our socks black so I insisted on shoes at all times. I think you could do better for the amount of money they are asking. Also...no restaurants within walking distance and their cafe doesn't have many healthy options....seems like pub fare! Also two out of the four nights someone was trying to get into our room...at one point my husband opened the door and asked what was going on...apparently they oversold our room. I hope it helps...I read the reviews and thought hmmm....could be ok...not so much!

Room Tip: Do not cheap out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I am very sorry that your room was not properly cleaned, what you described is not our normal standard and I apologize that your stay was not what you expected.

Our 'Cafe' does have a limited menu to keep cost and prices down but we will certainly look at the possibility of additional healthy selections. We will be opening a 'Guest Pantry' next to our front desk by the end of July that will offer additional food selections as well as 24 hour availability.

We would welcome the opportunity to have you give us another try in the future and to show our sincere regrets for your experience during this recent stay we would be happy to upgrade you to one of our recently renovated one bedroom king suites if you contact me directly after booking your stay.

Again, I apologize that your stay was not what you expected and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Had a great time, hotel was very clean, staff was friendly, loved the shuttle to the metro and the breakfast, room was a very nice suite which was worth the higher rate. The only negative was the pool was not open yet although it looked good.

Room Tip: get a suite, it's work the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Virginia:

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stat with us but sorry the pool was not open yet. Our pool is open on weekends in May then every day from Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day. We hope you are able to visit us again this summer and enjoy our pool.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.