We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My DC trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My DC trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Had a great time, hotel was very clean, staff was friendly, loved the shuttle to the metro and the breakfast, room was a very nice suite which was worth the higher rate. The only negative was the pool was not open yet although it looked good.

Room Tip: get a suite, it's work the price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Virginia:

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stat with us but sorry the pool was not open yet. Our pool is open on weekends in May then every day from Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day. We hope you are able to visit us again this summer and enjoy our pool.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    81
    41
    15
    34
See reviews for
105
46
23
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel was excellent, well positioned for metro.! Staff were very polite and the shuttle to the metro was a very good service. We all enjoyed the breakfast. Thanks for a 'comfort ' stay! If we come to DC we will certainly use the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your compliments on our staff and our shuttle service to the Van Dorn Metro station. As you know we take guests to and from the metro station from 7 am to 9:30 pm every day as a lot of our guests enjoy not having to drive into DC to see the sights.

Thank you again for deciding to stay with us on you trip to our area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice I just checked into room 604. I have been pleased with the front desk staff ( I didnot catch her name) but she has been very helpful. The room is clean and nice. I will recommend this hotel to friends and family. I will write another review after my stay when I check out..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on your stay experience at our hotel. You noted that you wrote your review right after checking into our hotel. I hope the balance of you stay with us was great and you enjoyed your trip to our area. I will certainly pass your comments about our desk staff being helpful on to the desk staff.

We hope to see you again on a future trip to our area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millerstown, PA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have been made so welcome at this hotel. The manager personnally welcomed us to the hotel when we arrived and gave us so much great information about the metro and what we should see and what we should not waste our time on. The shuttle to and from the Metro is a plus at least with us. The shuttle driver back to the hotel was funny and of course we had her laughing. We met the Director of Sales and spent time talking with her. We are familiar with the area and know some good wineries and of course recommend a few to her. The lady in the cafe was so very nice also and we spent time talking with her.. How could you not like this place. We will definately recommend this to our friends and family who might want to stay here in the future. This is one of the most friendly motels that we've been at.

Room Tip: we did not use the room service or spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for all the positive comments on our staff that you included in your review of our hotel. I read your review in our last staff meeting so that I could recognize all of the team members you mentioned.

We hope to see you on your next trip to our area and will do our best to provide the same great experience for you.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel was very good for the price charged, less than U$130 for three adults, including a good breakfast, room was clean and comfortable. Staff was competent and helpful when giving direction to have dinner. I think its a good option to stay when visiting Washington DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor.

We hope your return to our area in the future and consider staying with us again.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here on a long weekend trip to DC. LOVED it. Checked in late & the staff was so delightful. The amenities are nice, although we didn't use most of them. Starting with the room, the bed was AMAZING! Loved the pillows. When housekeeping came to tidy the room, they even put our shoes neatly against the wall and my clothes draped over the chair. So nice.

The only bad side to the room was the bathroom. Nothing major, though. The toilet, bathtub & sink were really LOW. And, we didn't have a handicapped room. That, and the water pressure wasn't there. Nor did the shower get really hot. But, it was enjoyable.

The hot breakfast wasn't anything to write home about. It was nice that they offered such a variety, but the food tasted like it had been sitting (and we got there around 8am).

All in all...this hotel is in close proximity to the Van Dorn St. Metro Station (Just a short ride to the city). But, be warned...BE PREPARED TO WALK. We bought a $14 day pass and got on and off as many times as we wanted. I would definitely stay here again. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
April C:

Thank you for staying with us for your trip to DC. We are so glad you loved your stay and hope to see you when you come back for more DC sightseeing. I have asked our maintenance staff to check to see if there are any problems with our water circulation pumps to be sure the water pressure is where it should be and I asked our restaurant staff to make sure to rotate food on the breakfast buffet more frequently to keep it as fresh as possible.

Again, thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about out hotel.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburgh, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to this area for a mini family vacation. We wanted to visit Washington DC and found that this property wasn't far away and provided us with the amenities we wanted. We paid a little more for the room than some of the properties closer/in DC but there was no extra parking fee, a hot breakfast and a shuttle to the Metro station just down the roadway. We arrived early but were able to check in. The room was not huge but we were only there to sleep and shower...what do you really need? We were comfortable in the room. All of the hotel employees we dealt with were extremely polite and helpful. Breakfast was excellent providing us with a good start to our days. We could eat a really good breakfast and then eat a late lunch and/or early dinner saving money on meals. We did order in one night, the hotel provided us with several menus from local restaurants that delivered right to your door. We would definitely stay again. The only complaint I have would be that there wasn't enough water pressure in the shower for my liking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
AmyKay:

Thank you for picking our hotel to stay at for your mini vacation. We appreciate your taking the time to write a review about us on TripAdvisor and thank you for the kind comments about our staff and complimentary breakfast buffet.

Not knowing which room you stayed in, I have asked our maintenance staff to check all of the shower heads in our rooms to make sure they are free flowing and if any need to be replaced.

Thank you again for staying with us, we hope to see you again on your next trip to our area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.