We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money motel for a night's stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Value for money motel for a night's stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We chose this hotel during our visit to DC in July 2012. We took the bus from Pentagon to reach this hotel. The hotel is around 30 minutes from DC and is very well connected by frequent bus services to Pentagon. The hotel is like any average motel and is good for a night's stay. When we reached the hotel at around 11:30 PM, the front office staff was a little grumpy (possible sleepy!). The room was neat and the amenities were of acceptable standards. However, they did not have any iron box in the hotel which caused great inconvenience for us since we were there for a business meeting and needed help getting our shirts ironed. The choice of items for the complimentary breakfast was ok. Overall, we chose this hotel for the low cost and it indeed turned out to be of value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Ganesh_bugs:

We appreciate your deciding to stay at our hotel for your trip to DC. I apologize for the less than expected welcome on your arrival, I have discussed this with our night desk staff to be sure they understand it is critical to welcome our guests properly regardless of the hour. I'm not sure what an iron box is but I will find out and see if we can get at least one to keep at the desk for future requests.

Overall I am glad that you found the hotel to be a good value. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you on your next visit to the DC area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    81
    41
    15
    34
See reviews for
103
46
23
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Last week, I was on a trip to see DC and stayed at this hotel. I receieved extraordinarily nice service from the manager, Atiff, who always responded to my needs not only with a smile, but within a heartbeat. The front desk attendant, Saba was so sweet and even had a huge smile on her face, ready to serve, at 2:00 am when I was cold and needed extra blankets. What a kind staff they have here!

I was also impressed with how clean the cafe was and how fresh my bedroom was.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgmtteam, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Becky M:

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and appreciate the kind comments about the service our team provided. Both Atif and Sada are valued team members, I have shared your comments with them.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again on you next trip to the DC area.

Scott McEwan
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites
Alexandria, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I'm in DC for business. It's JUST a bit further out of the city than the rest of the Choice branded hotels and substantially cheaper. For that reason, plan at least an extra half hour for traffic if you're going into the city in the morning. The two or three miles may not seem like much on Google Maps, but 395 is a parking lot during the morning commute.

The hotel itself is nice and clean and well-kept. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff is always great. Just up the street is a well populated shopping area with plenty of restaurants. Always a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just returned from spending 2 nights here. First of all, let me say that the location is wonderful! It's a great place to base yourself to visit DC area attractions. We had a car so I can't speak about the shuttle service to/from Metro. Parking is free & we paid 10.00 extra (89/nt) to get a newly renovated room which was pretty small but functional. It had a refrigerator & microwave. The A/C unit was quite loud in the room but it helped to drown out the highway noise & the hum of it actually put us right to sleep. Breakfast was a wide variety of items from danish, toast, English muffins, bagels, bacon, eggs, gravy, biscuits, yogurt, cereal. The breakfast room was quite large which was good for a crowded weekend stay but the patio just off this room had more seating overlooking the small outdoor pool. Please be aware there are a few steps down to the breakfast area so if someone is in a wheelchair, the staff can utilize a small lift beside the steps. Housekeeping even left a bag of extra towels on our door when we left the do not disturb sign up while we were in the city. The hotel charges 1.50 fee for the safe in your room, whether you use it or not, fyi.

The only problem we encountered was police & crime scene tape blocking the lobby/front entrance. This freaked us out but after calling the front desk, we were advised to go to the side door where a hotel rep would be waiting. The front desk had been robbed by a man on foot! While we were a little on edge that evening, the rest of the stay was fine.

I will return to this hotel next time I am in the DC area.

Room Tip: Pay extra & get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We made a very short notice driving trip to DC. We didn't have a place to stay until we were on our way. We managed to make reservations thru the Comfort Inn 800#. When we got there, the staff was great. They helped us get settled, and they gave us great rooms, since we had to use two rooms. The folks driving the van to the Metro were very nice & helpful.

The only complaint was that when we called ahead & asked for directions on the way there, the guy answering the phone was nice, but completely clueless on how to give directions. We eventually got good directions when we called back later.

Room Tip: Very nice King suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The rooms are a little smaller than usual. The room was very claen and neat. We enjoyed the outdooor pool. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. We were also very happy with the hotel van service that took you to the train and picked you up when you returned. This was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Before even leaving for vacation, Atiff the manager called to upgrade my two double rooms to king suites for the week and upon arriving at the hotel I was very happy. It did take a little while to check in but that's because we had 3 rooms reserved. The rooms are very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The free hot breakfast was a nice touch but the only downside of this was we happened to be staying when a few bus loads of people so breakfast was busy and the people were rude and wouldn't move out of our way for nothing when we were trying to get to the outside patio but that is not the hotel's fault. Pool was nice and free shuttle service to the metro station was a plus. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.