We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great DC Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great DC Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when I'm in DC for business. It's JUST a bit further out of the city than the rest of the Choice branded hotels and substantially cheaper. For that reason, plan at least an extra half hour for traffic if you're going into the city in the morning. The two or three miles may not seem like much on Google Maps, but 395 is a parking lot during the morning commute.

The hotel itself is nice and clean and well-kept. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff is always great. Just up the street is a well populated shopping area with plenty of restaurants. Always a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    93
    43
    15
    34
See reviews for
117
52
25
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just returned from spending 2 nights here. First of all, let me say that the location is wonderful! It's a great place to base yourself to visit DC area attractions. We had a car so I can't speak about the shuttle service to/from Metro. Parking is free & we paid 10.00 extra (89/nt) to get a newly renovated room which was pretty small but functional. It had a refrigerator & microwave. The A/C unit was quite loud in the room but it helped to drown out the highway noise & the hum of it actually put us right to sleep. Breakfast was a wide variety of items from danish, toast, English muffins, bagels, bacon, eggs, gravy, biscuits, yogurt, cereal. The breakfast room was quite large which was good for a crowded weekend stay but the patio just off this room had more seating overlooking the small outdoor pool. Please be aware there are a few steps down to the breakfast area so if someone is in a wheelchair, the staff can utilize a small lift beside the steps. Housekeeping even left a bag of extra towels on our door when we left the do not disturb sign up while we were in the city. The hotel charges 1.50 fee for the safe in your room, whether you use it or not, fyi.

The only problem we encountered was police & crime scene tape blocking the lobby/front entrance. This freaked us out but after calling the front desk, we were advised to go to the side door where a hotel rep would be waiting. The front desk had been robbed by a man on foot! While we were a little on edge that evening, the rest of the stay was fine.

I will return to this hotel next time I am in the DC area.

Room Tip: Pay extra & get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We made a very short notice driving trip to DC. We didn't have a place to stay until we were on our way. We managed to make reservations thru the Comfort Inn 800#. When we got there, the staff was great. They helped us get settled, and they gave us great rooms, since we had to use two rooms. The folks driving the van to the Metro were very nice & helpful.

The only complaint was that when we called ahead & asked for directions on the way there, the guy answering the phone was nice, but completely clueless on how to give directions. We eventually got good directions when we called back later.

Room Tip: Very nice King suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The rooms are a little smaller than usual. The room was very claen and neat. We enjoyed the outdooor pool. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. We were also very happy with the hotel van service that took you to the train and picked you up when you returned. This was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Before even leaving for vacation, Atiff the manager called to upgrade my two double rooms to king suites for the week and upon arriving at the hotel I was very happy. It did take a little while to check in but that's because we had 3 rooms reserved. The rooms are very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The free hot breakfast was a nice touch but the only downside of this was we happened to be staying when a few bus loads of people so breakfast was busy and the people were rude and wouldn't move out of our way for nothing when we were trying to get to the outside patio but that is not the hotel's fault. Pool was nice and free shuttle service to the metro station was a plus. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I recently had to stay at this location for a business meeting. I was extremely tired, and the staff was very helpful & kind. The rooms were clean, and the bed was comfy. I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Overall, the hotel was great! Friendly staff, exceptionally clean and updated rooms. The pool was small but also was clean and served its purpose. I was also happy to see a lifeguard on duty when the pool was open. HOWEVER, my husband and I believe that we would have had a better night sleep if we slept on the floor. The mattresses were hard as plywood. This would prevent us from staying here again, which is too bad because everything else was great.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.