We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The rooms are a little smaller than usual. The room was very claen and neat. We enjoyed the outdooor pool. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. We were also very happy with the hotel van service that took you to the train and picked you up when you returned. This was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    81
    41
    15
    34
See reviews for
103
46
23
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Before even leaving for vacation, Atiff the manager called to upgrade my two double rooms to king suites for the week and upon arriving at the hotel I was very happy. It did take a little while to check in but that's because we had 3 rooms reserved. The rooms are very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The free hot breakfast was a nice touch but the only downside of this was we happened to be staying when a few bus loads of people so breakfast was busy and the people were rude and wouldn't move out of our way for nothing when we were trying to get to the outside patio but that is not the hotel's fault. Pool was nice and free shuttle service to the metro station was a plus. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I recently had to stay at this location for a business meeting. I was extremely tired, and the staff was very helpful & kind. The rooms were clean, and the bed was comfy. I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Overall, the hotel was great! Friendly staff, exceptionally clean and updated rooms. The pool was small but also was clean and served its purpose. I was also happy to see a lifeguard on duty when the pool was open. HOWEVER, my husband and I believe that we would have had a better night sleep if we slept on the floor. The mattresses were hard as plywood. This would prevent us from staying here again, which is too bad because everything else was great.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at this property for 4 nights, we chose this location due to the proximity to DC. We visited the Smithsonian and other landmarks in DC and surrounding areas.

The receptionist was extremely helpful, and knowledgeable of the local attractions and restaurants. The breakfast was mediocre, my only complain was the room was extremely damps, and the room did not have an extractor fan.

Other wise this a good hotel for the budget minded traveler.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Comfort Inn and Suites Alexandria, 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria is the worse hotel I have stayed in. The front desk staff is not helpful. When I checked in on Sunday, 29 July, it took the clerk more than 30 minutes to check me in. I was to the point of nearly walking out. When I asked if there was a problem, she continued to work on the computer and ignore me. The next day when I arrived at the hotel after a long day at work, I could not open my door. I found out when arriving at the front desk, they had disabled my card because the clerk from the night before did not charge my card for a pet deposit, which is $25 per night. So I will end up paying $150.00 just to have my pet with me. I would have done better staying some where else if I knew I was going to be charged so much. The hotel is smelly, and needs updating. Wireless internet does not work in the room. Plenty of kids running up and down the hall all night screaming and slamming doors. I called the front desk clerk to report the noise but nothing happened. Bad choice to stay here. It is off the highway so lots of traffic noise!!!

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Three weeks ago, my sister's first visit to my brand new home was threatened when the DC area was wrecked due to the terrible thunderstorm at the end of June. That Friday, my power went out, and by Saturday, Pepco was threatening to not turn back on the power. My sister and her daughter were staying at my house with myself and my son for the first time that weekend. I live in Bethesda which was completely without power.

After calling a number of hotels near me, I realized that we were going to have to go to VA in order to get a hotel. I had read a really great review on this website for this Comfort Inn and saw what great rates they had, so I called the hotel.

At first, I thought I was not going to get a room, so I asked to speak to a manager. A VERY understanding young arabic gentleman helped me get the room and made sure that when we got to the metro station that we would be picked up by the shuttle bus.

The shuttle bus driver was also very gracious and really helped my sister and I keep the little ones calm after two hours trying to get to the hotel. When we arrived, I asked to meet the manager who helped me get the room. He continued to further assist my sister and I by carrying our bags to the room so that we could attend to the little ones.

The room was clean and comfortable and the kids really enjoyed the breakfast room the next day. We were even able to enjoy the sites of Alexandria a bit, thanks to a few helpful hints on places to take the kids for fun from the manager.

At every turn, the staff of this hotel was truly there to make our stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask the fornt desk staff. They really were very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.