We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nights sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
State Road, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good nights sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here last night on stormwork after being moved from Springfield Virginia. The hotel was very clean, and the people were friendly. The beds slept pretty good but they were a bit firm. The air conditioning was cold and I slept very well. The room cleanliness was great, I didn't see a spot of dust anywhere. The outdoor pool looked nice but we never got to use it beacause it closed at 8 and we didn't get back from working till 8. It would be nice if the pool stayed open a little longer. Our stormcrew could have used a nice cool dip in the pool after working in the heat all day. I would recommend this place as a good clean place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    86
    43
    15
    34
See reviews for
112
50
23
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

After a lot of hotel research, we decided that this would be the one. Free parking, shuttle, continental breakfast, and wifi was what we were looking for. There were a few poor reviews before we booked but enough good ones to take the risk. The hotel itself was very clean, and the staff were polite and friendly. Our room was perfect for the amount of time we actually spent in there. We chose a basic room, 1 queen bed which included a fridge and microwave. Other reviews complained about only receiving a few TV stations. It didn't take me long to figure out that the remote wasn't configured properly. Thanks to the free wifi, I was able to view the local TV guide and had no problem receiving all stations. The breakfast was great and full of variety from hot to cold items, perfect for fillingy yourself up before a day of sightseeing. I hadn't noticed any large groups during our stay so the shuttle was always ready to go to and from the Van Dorn Station (3 min drive to metro and 30 min to Smithsonian stop). I didn't see any construction during our stay and assume it's all finished. The only "trouble" I had during our visit was a broken ice machine on our floor, which I noticed was being replaced with a brand new one as we were leaving. Anyone on a budget should not look any further. The hotel exceeded our expectations and I have no problem recommending it to others. Thanks again Comfort Inn for a great stay!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were in the area for a vacation to Washington D.C. The room was really nice and the staff was very helpful. There were a lot of choices to choose from on the breakfast bar. (Although some of the people staying there didn't know how to clean up after themselves). It was very close to the Van Dorn Metro Station.A boy scout troop of about 40 was staying there at the same time. Unfortunately, there is only one shuttle to the metro. We had to wait for thirty minutes each day before we could get to the metro stop. Therefore, we were late meeting up with our group who was staying in the D.C. area. My suggestion would be to have more shuttles if there is a large group or for the group to make arrangements to get to the metro station another way.

Room Tip: We chose a suite. It was good if someone wanted to stay up longer since there was a separate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I just stayed a few days at the Comfort Inn in Alexandria, Va. Great place to stay the entire staff was so very helpful and the manager went out of his way to help me. If you are in the area, this is the place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I went with 11girl scouts and 4adults for the 100th Anniversity of GS in Washington, D.C. this hotel was very reasonable in price, close to the metro, breakfast was very good. Lots of choices for the girls. Rooms were clean. The pool was nice, too. I would go back to this Comfort Inn again for a family vacation. The staff was excellent-very helpful since we were from out of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yadkinville, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great location!! Staff was excellent. Can't say enough about the shuttle they were ready to go when we were and back at the station when we were ready to go back. Other than getting out of the parking lot the hotel is in a great location close to restaurants etc. Continental breakfast was very good and a great variety of items. Would recommend staying here to anyone going to DC

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau County, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

During our visit to D.C., my family stayed in Comfort Inn and Suites in Alexandria rather than the more expensive Arlington or D.C. The cost savings was substantial and during off-rush hours it only took us 20 minutes to drive into D.C. for sightseeing. We looked online and found a garage for $20 (max daily rate) about 1 block from the National Mall. This was cheaper and more convenient than all of us taking the metro to D.C. and back in the evening. Besides that, Alexandria is a very lovely town to stay in, much safer than other "less expensive" areas that we had considered in MD or along New York Avenue in D.C. We enjoyed our stay at Comfort Inn and Suites and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor which gave us the option of using the stairs if the elevator was in high...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.