We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff & Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Staff & Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

For the DC area this hotel is a great find. We took our teen age granddaughter with with us on they trip. The room was newly remodeled, clean, and we each had a private room with 11/2 baths. It was great. Breakfast was good, and coffee was excellent. The hotel location is not within walking distance to restaurants, or a strip center. Although, the shuttle service, staff and other amenities more than make up for that. The staff, Joshua, Kiera, and Andrew went out of their way to make sure we had every thing we needed. After long days of touring Andrew met us at the Metro with cold bottles of water. I would recommend this hotel to any family that is on a budget. You will get your money's worth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    81
    40
    15
    34
See reviews for
104
46
23
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metuchen, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I once stayed in the Bates Motel & I was more comfortable. Seriously, the sheets & bedding were actually moist from the humidity in the room. It was like we were sleeping on a boat! Beggars can't be choosers, and the alternative was falling asleep behind the wheel. I laid my daughter's iPad down on top of the TV, & in the morning the case stunk so bad that I took it off & washed it. It was so musty, we wound up throwing it out.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I reserved three rooms at this hotel for nine people in my family. I picked this hotel for the price, amenities and location to DC. I was very happy with the hotel, the staff, the comfort of the beds and the breakfast. I wish the pool was a little bigger and a little cooler (it was hot in DC), but that's a small thing. We got a shuttle ride to a local Italian restaurant by a very friendly hotel driver, which was nice. I would recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetumpka
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

The workers at this hotel are very nice and accomodating. They have a shuttle that will take you to the metro which is about a 3 minute ride. This metro is the second to the end though which may take at least 30 minutes to get to your destination. Staying further in town may be a little nicer of a commute if you don't mind paying more money for the hotel. However, the metro worked just fine for us. We stayed 3 and 1/2 days and were able to see most everything. The breakfast was very filling and good. The pool was nice and clean. The price was great. I would recommend this location because they are close to the metro, clean, good food and all out nice people.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KS
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our first impression of this Comfort Inn was a "20" something young man checking us in, all the while sporting a big wad of chew in his lower lip AND then actually spitting in a cup... very classy! The lobby looked nice, so I had high hopes for the room. No such luck! It smelled stale of stale cigarette smoke. The rooms are in desperate need of updating and cleaning. We found one electrical outlet in the room where the refrigerator was plugged in, hard to keep phones charged, etc. Now for the good points: all other employees we dealt with were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was always good and stocked well. I also noticed there was a laundry room available if needed. We never used the shuttle for the Metro, but it is a nice convenience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This hotel on the south side of Alexandria, right on I-495 was perfect for touring Mount Vernon, the New Air&Space Smithsonian near Dulles, and downtown DC. Previous posters said its hard to find but that is b/c iPhone maps was wacky for the entire area, and the hotel is surounded by big beautiful lush trees that make it hard to see except right when you get to the entrance. The trees help you feel you are at a resort when at the pool even though you are close to a highway entrance. Friends had given us several restaurant recommendations in Alexandria, which were a quick drive, but perhaps the hotel could have had better flyer ads for those unique family friendly bar/grills.
The breakfast staff was incredible! The food was always full and plenty of varitey, and that's a tough job with a group of high school mission tripers, in no-vacancy summer hotel season.
The only downside we had was the housekeeping staff didn't have enough towels each day, and the towels were well-worn. So, we went to Wal-Mart and bought thick large towels for $3.99 each. The bedding was excellent, and rooms comfortable, clean and new TVs. We were upgraded to a King suite b/c they were so full, and it had a bath and a half! You don't get that at any other hotel chain, but was a great convience to have 2 separate pottys w/ sink.
The staff practically sang "hello" when you walked in the door, and were very good with all the clients coming and going.
Free safe parking is an added bonus compared to hotels in the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Pros: great and helpfull staff, the nicest people I have ever met in a hotel, free and prompt shuttle to metro station, great complimentary breakfast , free internet
Cons: very old rooms (furniture and carpets), we had to change room 2 x and not because we are picky (we travel a lot and it was first time we did that) simply because the rooms smelled, most of them like someone has been smoking there (even though they were suppose to be non smoking rooms). Renovation needed and also change of furniture and paper walls, they looked like they had been there for 50 years.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria

Address: 5716 South Van Dorn Street, Alexandria, VA 22310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is conveniently located directly off of I-495 Capital Beltway in Alexandria, Virginia and is an affordable alternative to lodging in downtown DC. Convenient to the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport (DCA), the Pentagon, the National Mall, the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum, the Lincoln Memorial, the Washington Memorial, Arlington National Cemetery, National Harbor, The White House, Holocaust Museum and the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria is the ideal location to see all that DC has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Comfort Inn And Suites Alexandria
Comfort Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.