We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for families” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Mount Vernon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Mount Vernon to your Saves list
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7212 Richmond Hwy., Alexandria, VA 22306   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Long Island City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not for families”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I felt un safe at this hotel. We were on the first floor and at nite there is an armed guard. The staff was nice as was the breakfast room and breakfast. The location was good if your going to D.C as it was minutes from the metro. The hotel was musty and dated. We had a non smoking room but the room reaked of smoke. The price is unheard of but a trade off for comfort and peace of mind. If you are not traveling with children and pit stopping for one night-you will be ok. But we were with our family and just felt we made a mistake. The area is run down and night time brings some seeding looking folks. Try elsewhere if your with kids!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
39
24
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I read reviews of this place mostly good. For the first night it has been real good. Its not in a flashy neighborhood, but quiet. Its location I assume is downtown. I will see how far its from the metro today. Other than that the price is acceptable the rooms are nice for the price. If you are looking for high class stay find another place. If you are looking to budget, free parking, and don't mind the neighborhood this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I had an excellent two day stay with my daughter. We were visiting Washington, DC. The hotel was clean. The Manager Carmen and Christy The Front Desk Manager were very friendly and helpful. I love the outside added Breakfast area. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Don't expect a 5-star hotel. On the other hand, it's not a 1-star either. I'm guessing this place is old, but it was adequate. Less than 1/4 mile from the family I was visiting. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean, although expect a few stains on the upholstered furniture. Housekeeping service was excellent. I was staying with my 16-year-old granddaughter so it was nice that our room had two sinks; one in the bathroom and one outside. The free breakfast was perfectly adequate. Everything was fresh and replenished as needed. If you miss breakfast the hotel is right across the street from a Denny's and also a KFC. There was a pool with a life guard (nice touch that even some 5-star hotels don't have) but we didn't get to use it because we were running around. (Went to Old Town and took the free trolley over to the harbour and then the water taxi across the river to the National Harbour. Have to recommend it.) I'll stay here again because (1) location; (2) price; (3) no listings on the bed bug registry!!

Room Tip: Parking is quite limited on the north side of the hotel, but that's where the pool is and the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was extremely skeptical of the hotel based upon other's reviews of the hotel and surrounding area. I researched the area further and found it to be a nice working class area and a good hotel for the money; I am very glad we stayed here.
The hotel room size was comfortable, it easily accommodated 2 queen size beds and a foldout cot. There was a 3-drawer dresser, large flat screen television, dorm-room size refrigerator/freezer, storage nook with a clothes bar & hangers and a separate sink area and bathroom/shower.
The room was always kept very clean and neat, in fact the cleaning staff even propped our daughter's teddy bear on the pillows each morning.
The breakfast was far from a culinary delight, but it was plentiful, the food was good, the area was very clean and best of all it was free; that was a great cost savings for our family.

The METRO Huntington stop (yellow line) is only 2.5 miles away and there are over 3,600 parking spaces providing easy access to all of the sights DC and the surrounding areas have to offer.

There are plenty of reasonably priced restaurants and fast food places within a 2 mile radius of the hotel.

My only two drawbacks are a small one, the pool doesn't open before 3PM Monday to Friday & not as small, there were ants in the walls; we had to seal up all of the children's snacks in a cooler bag and tied up any empty food wrappers inside the garbage bags to minimize their presence.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel for the money; there may be nicer hotels a little closer to "Old Town" Alexandria or in DC itself, but most of them do not have free breakfast + a pool + free parking (which can be $20 to $40 for the hotels that charge for parking) and cost a lot more than $85 a night.
We will definitely stay at this hotel again, the next time we come to DC.

P.S. Go to Huntley Meadows park one morning for a walk, it is 2 minutes away by car off of Lockheed Blvd (the first light after the hotel). It has a boardwalk trail going through wetlands.
It is a nice walk to burn off the calories from the free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The room was clean and spacious, the hotel staff was friendly and they had a great breakfast for the cost of the stay. It's a great value if you're looking to tour Washington DC and are willing to save a little money by staying further away (it's pretty close to the Metro).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is the worst experience of my traveling life. Checked in and the room is full of ants. The carpeting chosen breeds sugar ants because there's imbedded...whatever...throughout the room. How the cleaning staff can miss ants climbing on the tables, etc. is beyond me. Then, there were no other rooms to move us into...AWESOME. The night clerk refused to call the hotel manager. Instead, I got a can of RAID that leaked all over. The house phone in the room is dead, totally broken. What is so sad is that this could have been a fine room. The neighborhood is not a big deal; good restaurants two minutes up the street. Close to the Metro. Just a horrid stop (supposed to be here three nights). Ha! There is no excuse for this...none. Choice Hotels did nothing to solve this (should have moved me into another hotel). Instead, I am stuck standing vigil so my family can sleep. This is just wrong. By the way...room 334.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Mount Vernon

Address: 7212 Richmond Hwy., Alexandria, VA 22306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Mount Vernon 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a suburban family friendly hotel just minutes from Washington DC and the Mount Vernon Estate and Gardens, our hotel will offer you both non smoking and smoking rooms with 2 queen size beds or 1 king size bed. All rooms have a 42" flat screen HD TV with 100 cable channels, you can also find a side walk cafe to enjoy your breakfast and coffee or just sit and enjoy the day, you will find a picnic area with an out door grill for your family gatherings adjacent to our out door seasonal pool this along with many more down home amenities await you when you arrive, We can't wait to meet you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Quality Inn
Quality Inn Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.