We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you get for <$100 in D.C.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Landmark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Landmark to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Landmark
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6254 Duke St., Alexandria, VA 22312   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Plano, Tx
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What you get for <$100 in D.C.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

This is about what I expected for <$100 in D.C. Dark and dingy and definitely in need of repair. Stains on the ceiling and wallpaper. Mold in the bathroom, etc. Believe the reviews. Would not have stayed here based on the Tripadvisor reviews except this was a last minute trip and it was all we could find for <$200. If we had planned ahead, we could have / would have done better I'm sure.

  • Liked — It had a sometimes available shuttle service to the metro
  • Disliked — Quality of rooms for price paid
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan ahead and you can do better. Pay more unless you're really on a tight budget.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    30
    21
    33
See reviews for
46
18
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2006

Our family of 4 stayed at the Landmark for 6 days in the middle of June. After reading some reviews I was a little scared of what we would find. I was just hoping to find a place that was clean and I was not disappointed.

We were greated nicely at the front desk when we arrived and checked in quickly. One of two elevators was not working the entire week. Our waits for an elevator were not too bad and we only were really packed in a few times. When we entered our room it smelled clean. Although the room and especially the bath were relatively small everything was very clean. Throughout the week we returned to a spotless bathroom and clean bedroom. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was excellent.

Each morning we stopped at the front desk to pick-up our coupons for breakfast. The continital breakfast at the IHOP was very good. Plenty of food was available for even my 15 year old son. We found we needed to allow 30 to 45 minutes to eat each morning which took more time than a self-serve style breakfast, but it was nice to be seated and waited on.

The shuttle service to the Metro was very prompt. It left the hotel on the hour (7am-12noon and 4pm -8pm) and picked-up at the Metro on the half hours. Every time we tried to ride the shuttle it was very crowed. One day we missed the 5:30 shuttle by less than 5 minutes and had to wait in the hot sun for close to an hour. The shuttle was full often when it reached the Comfort Inn, so we started walking next door to the Days Inn to get on the shared shutte. Several times we had 20+ people in the 15 passenger van. Two days we drove and parked our car at the Metro station which was really more convient.

Overall our family would stay there again. We would like to have had a larger space and would lke for the shuttle to run more often, but we were pleased overall with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

We stayed in this hotel over the Memorial Day weekend thru June 3rd in 3 rooms on the 5th floor. Choice Hotels found this hotel for us after the original hotel that we had reserved with them fell through. They had to find us another hotel after the original hotel's remodeling efforts were not going to be completed by June, 2006. They contacted us at the last moment to tell us that we no longer had a reservation so after working with them, they found us this hotel....
We paid $85 / night during Sat thru Memorial Day and $80 / night thereafter. That's the good part as this hotel is a bargain in the D.C. area if that's what you are looking for.
Cleanliness: We too didn't trust the carpets, cringed if a pillow fell to the floor...but didn't see any mold. Housekeepers did try and keep the rooms relatively clean. Windows need a good cleaning, so don't trust the photos of the room showing sparkling views out the window.
The hotel is old, elevator lurches, stops about 4 inches above the floor and the little floor lights telling you where the elevator is were broken. Ventilation is lacking, very hot in the hallways but the room conditioner works fine.
Crowds...wow, the hotel is crowded and the surrounding area is very crowded with all sorts of interesting and potentially scary people. The hotel is surrounded by a very busy ethnic shopping plaza that attract a lot of people, transists and ends up with a lot of trash in the shoping plaza parking lots. I did notice that the hotel staff did try and clean their parking lot quite frequently, but keep your guard up if you want to walk around after dark.
There is a great Asian (Chineese) restaurant right behind Mommas Chicken that has very good lomein, fried rice, etc.

Shuttle: Echo another reviewer's comments that they should not even advertise a shuttle. The shuttle is shared with a neighboring Days Inn and it fills up quickly with the other hotel's guests before it stops at this hotel. The shuttle drivers hate their job and they arrive late, depart early and really don't care what the guests think. The shuttle bus has 15 seats but was frequently packed with 20 people. I also made the hotel pick up a taxi tab ($13) to take us from the metro to the hotel cause the shuttle did not show up once.
The official shuttle schedule is that they leave on the hour from hotel to metro stn. Then they are supposed to pick up from metro at half hour. The shuttle also does not run between 12 PM to 4 PM , so don't even think about arriving or departing the hotel then. My best advise is to time your subway rides to arrive at Van Dorn Metro Stn on the qtr hour so you will be picked up by the shuttle, cause we experienced many times leaving on the shuttle to the hotel at 28 minutes after, not 30 minutes after.
IHOP and the $4 continental bkfast coupons to use there are okay but wait times at IHOP detered us from using this feature most of the time.
During the Memorial Day weekend the hotel was packed to the gills with bikers doing the rolling thunder rally. This would have been a huge problem had we needed a parking place.
So, to summarize, I really am beginning to distrust Choice Hotels. This property, the way they handled the original room reservations at the original hotel, other subpar hotel experiences, plus a rewards program that does not have very good status info is forcing me to look elsewhere. That's too bad, cause I used to trust them.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

We took the children to the Smithsonian and needed a place to stay, since it was March break hotels were at a premium. We stayed at the Comfort Inn with some hesitation as we read the horrid reviews of the Days Inn next door. Prior to taking the room I asked to view it and questioned people on the elevator regarding their room. Upon entering the room it smelled like bleach, which is better than dirt. The room was clean and presentable. I checked drawers, bathroom etc.. and the bedding was relatively new. The price was fine, around $100 for the night. We found the neighbourhood a bit sketchy and emptied the car, everything was fine. We were questionable about our Deluxe Contential Breakfast, but it was quite good and filling, if you do not wish this, your coupon from the front desk can be used towards something else, the menu is very reasonable. As we are also owners of a tourist establishment I find myself beyond picky when it comes to accommodations. The room was fine, the carpet could use a cleaning, but it is pretty high traffic area. The bathroom was clean as was the bed, it is in great proximity to Washington. Even though it was March Break and the area was extremely busy, the wait for breakfast, hotel and check out was minimal. I questioned several people including a business man who had stayed there several times about bugs, and no one knew nothing of them, I never saw any signs... and believe me, I would.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2006

I got stuck with a reservation at this hotel after bidding on Priceline, and I expected the worst after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor.
But the hotel was really good, nothing like the reviews warned me about.For a 2 star hotel, I rate it excellent, better than a standard Super 8 or Days Inn.
The room was clean, the bathroom too - most of the fittings were new, clean sheets and pillows (june 2005 , according to a manufacturing label), big screen tv, Hbo.
It's right across a major interstate, you can see the cars rolling by, but it's ok to sleep, it's not as noisy as one would expect.
Free parking , free city shuttle and free wireless Internet are good bonuses for a hotel 10 miles from Washington DC.The biggest suprise is the continental breakfast, about 8 tables full of stuff .You can even make your own waffles , there's a waffle maker.
Maybe I got a good room, maybe I should read less reviews complaining about "unfriendly staff"....
PS: The continental breakfast was served in a hotel hall, I was told about it upfront , and no coupon is needed.I don't know what the deal with IHOP is.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2005

Had a two night stay.

The first thing we noticed was lack of parking space [most likely] due to people coming to on-premises 24-hour IHOP.

The room was relatively clean.
We also didn't have to wait for elevator, so no problems there either.
This was compensated by issues elsewhere.

In short, the IHOP, which should be an advantage, is definitely a big problem.
Besides affecting parking space (see above), room heating/air conditioning system takes in rather strong food smells (and that's a 24 hrs. IHOP).

Note that if you want an advertized continental breakfast (officially until 10AM), you have to get a voucher from the front desk AND appear at the restaraunt no later than 9:30AM AND specifically request continental breakfast.
Needless to say, none of the above is explained upon check-in, and there was no "information card" in the room.
In any event, even at 2AM you will have to wait at least 20 min. to be seated.

We knew about a shuttle schedule from the hotel's web site ("every hour"), so we drove (5-10 mins.) to a Metro station, which has a big parking lot - free on weekends.

Finally, when I suggested to the front desk that the situation with breakfast has to be better explained (if not changed), we had the following conversation:
Him: "You just come here and get the coupon."
Me: "But how am I supposed to know that?"
Him: "I told you, come here and get a coupon."
Unbeatable logic indeed.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

We just finished staying at this comfort inn for one week. The shuttle service is nonexistant. They should not even advervise they offer it because it always picks up passengers from another hotel first and fills up so there is no room for people to ride. They also only run once an hour which is stupid since the hotel is 10 min. from the metro stop. And the desk does not provide info about the city bus that runs every 15 minutes and stops right outside the hotel. Room itself was not very clean. Maid only swept the floor once during our entire stay and that was because we were in the room at the time she came in to clean it, I think! I would only recommend this hotel for overnight stays not longterm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Landmark

Address: 6254 Duke St., Alexandria, VA 22312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Landmark 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Landmark near Old Town AlexandriaThe smoke-free Comfort Inn® Landmark hotel in Alexandria, Virginia is off Interstate 395 and one mile from the Landmark Mall.We are close to popular attractions, like: •George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate & Gardens •John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts •Fort Belvoir Army base •National Gallery of Art •Washington National CathedralThe Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and the Washington Dulles International Airport are a short drive away.Additional points of interest nearby include: •National Zoo •Smithsonian Institution •Library of CongressVisitors will enjoy outdoor recreational activities like golfing, jogging, boating, fishing and horseback riding, all minutes away.Be sure to visit the 24-hour IHOP Restaurant located on the premises.Our amenities include: •Free coffee •Free local calls •Free shuttle service to the Van Dorn Metro stations •Free parking •Seasonal outdoor poolYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Landmark the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, safes, cable televisions, irons and ironing boards. For guest convenience, valet cleaning services are offered. The Comfort Inn Landmark hotel is your destination for hospitality and value when visiting the Alexandria, Virginia area. We look forward to serving you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Landmark Hotel Alexandria
Landmark Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Landmark Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Landmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.