We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Landmark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Landmark to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Landmark
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6254 Duke St., Alexandria, VA 22312   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Tipton, IA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a dump”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

While we really enjoyed Alexandria and Washington, DC, the hotel was pretty run down and not in a very nice area. Evey other floor was a smoking floor and the venting system didn't work very well. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The shuttle to the metro station was full, so we gave up after the first day and drove to the metro station and parked there.
The "free" breakfast was in the IHOP attached to the hotel, paid for by coupon, but the coupon didn't cover the cost. If you wanted a better breakfast, you could order from the menu, but the food was mediocre. We stayed there 5 nights. Toward the end of the week I stepped in to the bathroom and was hit with water pouring in through the light fixture, coming from the roof. They said their gutters were clogged and that's why that happened. I had to ask to have our room changed and they then did it cheerfully. The second room was like the first - a bit run down and needing some care. The rooms were kept very clean and I appreciate that in a hotel room. We didn't enjoy our experience in this hotel and would not stay there again. Would not recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbishop, Manager at Comfort Inn Landmark, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Alexandria Comfort Inn. We try to provide a clean, comfortable, and affordable stay to those visiting the DC area. We would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay and would like you to know that we have corrected these issues with ongoing training with our staff and a revised schedule for our shuttle service. We hope you will consider us again if you are ever in the are in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    30
    21
    33
See reviews for
45
18
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed at the Comfort Inn Landmark from January 15th-21st. We were in attendance for the Inauguration of Barack Obama. We tried to get a hotel in DC, but they were sold out. We came across the Landmark Hotel and it offered a competitive rate so we decided to stay there. I will have to stay we received very good service and the hotel workers were very friendly. When we arrived our room was very cold and never warmed up. I called down to the lobby and within 10 minutes maintenance was checking it out and within 30 minutes we were transferred to a room where the heat was working.

Each morning we made our way down to pick up our IHOP continental breakfast coupons from the front desk. Shuttle service was good and the driver was very nice. When we did not use the shuttle service the person running the front desk was very gracious and called a cab to pick us up. What I have to say is, "Please remember this is not a 5 star hotel and you will not receive 5 star amenities," but it is a clean hotel with friendly staff and location is close to the metro station.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

This hotel would have to rate absolutely at the bottom of the list as a last resort for me if nothing else was available. The hotel cleanliness left a lot to be desired and the staff was at best barely breathing. Here are a few words just to give you a taste of what I experienced at this hotel. I walked in the door to the front desk and asked if I could check in (a little after 3 pm). I was told gosh I'm really busy and now you're checking in. I looked around but no one but I was there. The person standing at the front desk was an older gentleman with one piece of paper in his hand, no smile, and head down the entire time except to take my credit card with a look of disgust on his face. After getting my key I entered my non smoking room which smelled like a smoking room. The room didn't appear clean just put together. The T.V. channels were fuzzy which left my option to go out around town open. Knowing the staff was resistant to giving help I ate downstairs at the IHOP with some friends. When reviewing the hotel situation with them they seemed to have it a bit worse. After arriving back home to Italy I called the hotel when I remembered I left without getting a receipt I called the hotel to ask for the receipt. The first time I was told to hold and then was patched through to someone else who hung up on me. The second time I called I was told I'm sorry I just can't help you. This hotel by far needs customer service training and training on cleanliness.

  • Liked — Checking out!
  • Disliked — Checking in and staying there
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethbishop, Manager at Comfort Inn Landmark, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
I would like to thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to my attention. I want to apologize for any inconvenience that you had endured during your stay at our Alexandria Comfort Inn. We strive to give clean and friendly service and we want our guests to feel that they are being provided this not only to their standards, but to the standards we have set within our company. Let me assure you that the housekeeping staff and front desk staff have been retrained on how to provide the up most in clean and friendly and how to maintain these standards that our guests and our company have set. Again please accept my sincere apologies for falling below your expectations. I hope that you will give us another chance if you are ever in the area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2008

We checked in but were never told about the coupons needed for the continental breakfast in the IHOP. We were supposed to receive these coupons but were never told we needed them. We booked at this place because of the shuttle service, but the driver decided to take the day off. We were informed of this after we had waited for 30 minutes. The bathrooms were dirty. We needed extra washclothes and we had to go down to the front desk to get them ourselves and when we got them, they smelled like cigarrete smoke. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

The hotel was as expected for the star rating. It was convenient to have an IHOP in the lobby of the hotel. The area is commercial and a little run down looking but it seemed to be safe. The shuttle service to and from the metro only runs hourly - no problems getting the shuttle from hotel to metro - but if you miss the shuttle going back to the hotel, they will not return until the next hour. On last day, discovered a cockroach crawling on my suitcase. Be careful.

  • Liked — Convenience of restaurant in lobby.
  • Disliked — Pest problem
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

I had an experience where a mouse is roaming in my room. When I called front desk they say the maintenance guy is not available until the next day. They couldn't switch the room for me that day. When I went to complain to manager the next morning, another couple complaining about mouse in their room as well.

Very poor maintenance. Not so clean rooms.

I would never stay there again and would not recommend for anyone.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

I recently stayed at this Comfort Inn for the 5th time as a chaparone with an 8th grade group of about 240 students. We took over about 3 floors. I was pleasantly surprised at the new look this year compared with past years. New furniture, new rugs, granite counters in the bathrooms and four soft fluffy pillows for each bed! Everything looked great.

We did have some problems with plumbing. Some of the students' toilets had problems and most of the chaperones had to take care of these issues themselves. I only saw one maintenance worker and I don't believe he was on duty the times that we needed him (mainly at night when we returned to the hotel for showers etc.). A few rooms were missing hair dryers so we had to share. Some of the AC wasn't working properly either.

All in all, I was impressed with the "makeover" from previous years, and since this was so recent, I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt to say they are still in the process of completing the "makeover". When you handle this many students each week, I'm sure any place will take a physical beating!

Don't worry about the safety of the area. It is fine, just lots of traffic.

  • Liked — Great Pillows!
  • Disliked — AC wasn't working too well in our room.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Landmark

Address: 6254 Duke St., Alexandria, VA 22312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Landmark 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Landmark near Old Town AlexandriaThe smoke-free Comfort Inn® Landmark hotel in Alexandria, Virginia is off Interstate 395 and one mile from the Landmark Mall.We are close to popular attractions, like: •George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate & Gardens •John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts •Fort Belvoir Army base •National Gallery of Art •Washington National CathedralThe Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and the Washington Dulles International Airport are a short drive away.Additional points of interest nearby include: •National Zoo •Smithsonian Institution •Library of CongressVisitors will enjoy outdoor recreational activities like golfing, jogging, boating, fishing and horseback riding, all minutes away.Be sure to visit the 24-hour IHOP Restaurant located on the premises.Our amenities include: •Free coffee •Free local calls •Free shuttle service to the Van Dorn Metro stations •Free parking •Seasonal outdoor poolYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Landmark the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, safes, cable televisions, irons and ironing boards. For guest convenience, valet cleaning services are offered. The Comfort Inn Landmark hotel is your destination for hospitality and value when visiting the Alexandria, Virginia area. We look forward to serving you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Landmark Hotel Alexandria
Landmark Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Landmark Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Landmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.