We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation to DC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Landmark

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Landmark to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Landmark
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6254 Duke St., Alexandria, VA 22312   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Temecula, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vacation to DC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Great value for the $$. We paid $76.50 per night for a King bed room. Refer, micro. $5 credit each toward IHOP (in building) breakfast. Free shuttle to the MetoRail station. Clean linens every day. IHOP was very clean. Hotel shuttle/MetroRail to DC is about 1 hr.

Down side: hotel is well past its prime. Room was clean, but well worn. Hotel shows signs of wear. Neighbrhood is questonable.

For us it was fine. We mostly just slept there. Up early, breakfast at IHOP, and off to DC. Usually returned around 8-9 PM. Showered and bed to start again the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    29
    20
    33
See reviews for
43
18
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malinta, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed here with a school group visiting DC in mid May. Overall the hotel was dingy, although our room wasn't horrible save for the carpet stains and general lack of upkeep to the bathroom. Our toilet was clogged when we arrived, so I told the front desk about it. the clerk handed me a plunger and told me to bring it back when I was finished with it! I told him I would take care of the clog myself but they would have to get the plunger themselves, as the elevators were extremely slow and a roundtrip to the front desk takes 15 minutes. Around 11PM I received a call... it was the front desk asking me to return the plunger! I told them I would leave it in the hall and they could get it at their leisure. A half our later (when we were asleep) there was a knock at the door... it was an employee, asking if it was OK to take the plunger I left in the hall for them!

The vending machines were junk... it was a gamble if you would get the product you selected or if the machine would just take your money. I actually got a bottled lemonade out of one machine (two floor up from my floor as the other machines didn't work), but the lemonade was hot. Not room temperature... but HOT, like a warm cup of tea or something. Nice. I also had to go down a floor for ice as the one on our floor was out of order.

Coffee in the lobby was usually empty... I got one cup the whole three days we stayed.

The hotel grounds are unattractive, and I wouldn't recommend walking around after dark in the area unless you're a male capable of handling himself.

Luckily the sightseeing portion of our trip was great and overshadowed the crappy hotel. No idea what rate our school got for this hotel, but I guarantee we won't be back.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any good rooms... all people we traveled with had many complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

hi, i stayed there july 27th till mid aug. had a great experience there, customer sercvice was great, loved 5 dollar of coupons for ihope, and anytime i had a questions , employees where very helpfull and great

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

wonderful front desk staff extremely helpful and friendly , clean rooms has i hop inside the building open 24/7 at first i was hesitating about staying there but now i would recommend it everybody best place to take your family to

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Comfort Inn Landmark Hotel was just fine for a brief stay, conveniently located near interstate, and a simple drive to Old Town Alexandria, where we dined and shopped. The money we saved on the $59 nightly rate compared to other hotels in Old Town paid for the dinner and shopping! We'll certainly return. Clean and comfortable, with $5.00 courtesy breakfast voucher for the IHOP located in the hotel. Not luxury, but very satisfactory economy stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was the worst hotel I have ever been at.
Only one staff member was beyond helpful. I was informed at check in to park in the back parking lot as to prevent any damage to my car- since there is a 24 hour IHOP and there is alot of traffic in and out all day and night. 4 days into our weeklong stay we arrived back at the hotel and found signs on the doors to only park in the front lot as the back lots have been roped off and they were going to pave the parking lot...there was no parking at 7pm- and I asked the RUDE manager at the desk where we are to park when we come back and she just wanted to complain about her job and that she was not told anything about it. She acted llike it was a huge inconvience for her to do her job and assist the customers staying there. When we arrived back after midnight- there was no place to park and she wanted to get into a full out heated argument with me about how she doesn't know where to tell people to park. she ran out to the parking lot where someone had just left and stood in the parking place and YELLED at me to have my husband pull the car around---and kept yelling at me until he did arrive in the parking place. Needless to say- our night was ruined and then we had to change plans the next day- since we didn't want to leave the hotel and move our car - and go through this again. The shuttle is a joke- was never on time- if you have tours , etc arranged in DC plan to arrive much earlier- as you are not sure when the shuttle bus is going to really leave the hotel. You get $5 voucher for breakfast which is overpriced to begin with and you will spend over $10 a person for breakfast in the I HOP. Difficulty getting towels in the morning as the housekeeper tells me " no English", I called choice hotels and filed a complaint. they told me the owners are to respond to my complaint and call within 72 hours......a few weeks later-- still no response from the hotel. Now I know where the staff gets their lack of caring for the customers. I called cstomer relations again to follow up on my initial call since I did not get a call as I was told I was going to - they told me there was a note that the hotel sent me out a letter on the 10th of August. I still have not received that letter- and I keep calling back to customer relations to tell them that this hotel does not care about following the choice hotel procedure for follow up complaints and I still have not received my letter.....I would recommmend to NEVER go to this hotel- even if it's the last one on the planet.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The staff was incredibly helpful. Wonderful breakfast. Stayed 2 nights and the breakfast was different for both days! Room was clean and beds comfy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Landmark

Address: 6254 Duke St., Alexandria, VA 22312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Landmark 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Landmark near Old Town AlexandriaThe smoke-free Comfort Inn® Landmark hotel in Alexandria, Virginia is off Interstate 395 and one mile from the Landmark Mall.We are close to popular attractions, like: •George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate & Gardens •John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts •Fort Belvoir Army base •National Gallery of Art •Washington National CathedralThe Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport and the Washington Dulles International Airport are a short drive away.Additional points of interest nearby include: •National Zoo •Smithsonian Institution •Library of CongressVisitors will enjoy outdoor recreational activities like golfing, jogging, boating, fishing and horseback riding, all minutes away.Be sure to visit the 24-hour IHOP Restaurant located on the premises.Our amenities include: •Free coffee •Free local calls •Free shuttle service to the Van Dorn Metro stations •Free parking •Seasonal outdoor poolYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn Landmark the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!All guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, safes, cable televisions, irons and ironing boards. For guest convenience, valet cleaning services are offered. The Comfort Inn Landmark hotel is your destination for hospitality and value when visiting the Alexandria, Virginia area. We look forward to serving you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Landmark Hotel Alexandria
Landmark Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Landmark Alexandria
Alexandria Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Landmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.