We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Almost Heaven Bed and Breakfast

Almost Heaven Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Almost Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Almost Heaven Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
6339 Brocketts Crossing, Alexandria, VA 22315   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Alexandria B&B and Inns
FRK PRK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

Very much enjoyed our stay at this BnB. Great host, great house.

This BnB is near the Metro which made access easy to the DC area.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

It was nice to arrive in another country after a long journey and FEEL AT HOME, that was our first impression of Almost Heaven. Picked up our hire car from Dulles Airport and despite driving on the wrong side of the road as we call it in England, had no difficulty finding the address. We were made very welcome by our hosts throughout the stay who although busy themselves, gave us good advice for travelling in and out of DC and recommended some excellant local restaurants.
After seeing the sights of Washington DC all day, and feeling hot and sticky, it was lovely to think you could finish anytime and get back to somewhere nice and quiet, where you could read your book, have a swim, and generally recharge your battery before going out in the evening.
Almost Heaven was a great start to a wonderful holiday, and I would strongly recommend staying there to both my family and friends.
Dave and Sue Gregory, Plymouth, United Kingdom.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2007

The overall feel is that of being a paying houseguest in the home of strangers. The owners are very nice, but it's just uncomfortable to be staying in their home--and it's very much their home. To get to our room, we went up two long flights of stairs past about 150 family photos (weirdly, many of them are the same pictures, over and over, arranged in different configurations). We ended up tiptoeing and whispering, and no way would I have been willing to have sex there; this is definitely not a romantic B&B.
The breakfasts are pretty bad too; pancakes from a mix, or "peach waffles" made from the same mix, with slightly warmed canned peaches and about a cup and a half of the heavy syrup from the same can dumped over the waffles.
Also, this place is in Springfield, not Alexandria. You take the Springfield exit off 95, you drive past Springfield Mall--it's Springfield.
It made for funny stories to tell the people we were visiting, but God we wished we had just stayed in a hotel.

  • Liked — Near the wedding we went to.
  • Disliked — Feeling like I was paying to be a stranger's houseguest.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

Well where to start... our GPR got us there, but we couldn't find it. All there was were residential homes and no sign that said Almost Heaven... oh wait there it is! We almost called and asked for better directions. We rang the door bell and her son opened the door and said "yea?" Then I knew we were in trouble. Carol was there and was extremely helpful. She wasn't going to be there for family reasons so her young 20 something year old was in charge.
The whole area here is very expensive and you almost wonder if the city knows what's she's doing, because it just seems like since she has extra room in this large house she is renting these rooms out to help pay for the mortgage. I don't mean to pass judgement on someones personal doings, it's just seems this B&B is an after thought.
We had the entire basement (Seculsion Rm) and that was really wierd. First of all, it was 10 below zero the entire time and the basement was full of family/teenage games. The bathroom(which had other hotels ammenities) was small and the bedroom was normal with a bed that was fabulous!
The breakfast was good. You get a good selection of cereals, bagels and other snacks to get your day started. It was strange making your own coffee and rumaging through their kitchen for things.
The pool was nice if you like dog poop around the pool. We played volleyball and played dodge the pool cleaner.
The house is filled with family photos, awards, trophies and other things like toys etc that remind you that you are definately in someone's house vs a B&B.
As far as location, it's residential. There are plenty of places to eat and you are close to the Metro. Parking will cost you $3.75 on your Smart Card. You can get a Smart Card at the terminal. It costs $5 just for the card, but you can add $$ to and use it for parking and Metro. It's a lot easier then trying to find $ everytime. You are 40 min from the Smithsonian stop (National Mall area). You can also park across the street at the Springfield Mall and walk over if you don't want to get stuck in traffic coming out of the station.
The whole experince was like being at your in-laws(who aren't sure they like you yet) during a holiday and they had no place to put you.
I would reccommend this to someone who is on a tight budget, but if you want more of a DC experience find some place closer.

  • Liked — close to Metro
  • Disliked — very awkward having the run of someones house you don't know
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

First off, this is not your typical Bed and Breakfast. My previous experiences with B&B's were historic homes in semi-rural locations. That is not the case here. Almost Heaven is located in Kingstowne, VA just outside of Alexandria and not far from the Franconia-Springfield Metro station. It is essentially a large modern house in the suburbs. Imagine if you will, sharing a Bed and Breakfast with a family that lives downstairs. There are family decorations everywhere, toys in the garage, kid's books and trophies in a bookshelf upstairs and myriad reminders that a family is very much in residence. While Ms. Clark is very gracious and a charming host, frankly the other members of the household don't give off the most welcoming of vibes. The rooms are very private and secluded but the common areas are usually filled with family members. Lounging downstairs feels sort of...off-limits.

Almost Heaven has no sign outside. Nor is there any other indication to signal that this is actually a B&B. Mapquest got us there but as we were pulling up into the driveway, the man of the house, who incidentally never introduced himself, looked at us as if he had no clue why we were there. Again, not terribly welcoming.

We stayed in the "Top of the World" room. The room was large and clean (although there was a leftover container of Carmex and a very used wrist wrap in one of the drawers). The room was also quite warm. There is an air conditioning unit in the room but it's located behind a heavy curtain which reduces its usefulness. There was a large fan in the room and that, in conjunction with the ceiling fan, helped a little. There is a small television in the room but there is no cable or satellite connection. Instead there is a set of "bunny ears" which provide shaky reception at best (and about six channels). If you want to watch TV then rent the basement room. There is no cleaning service on the weekend and your bed will not be made. The bed however, was well appointed and as soft as advertised.

The bathroom was clean and well stocked but there's nothing particularly glamorous about it. Just a standard home bathroom with a shower. There were plenty of towels. The complimentary toiletry items though were from other hotels. For example, the shower gel, shampoo and conditioner were all labeled "The Venetian". The bar of hand soap was labeled something else altogether. Upon seeing this, my girlfriend suggested that the name for this B&B be changed from Almost Heaven to "Almost Legitimate".

I didn't bring my laptop so I can't vouch for the wireless Internet but Ms. Clark was kind enough to allow me to use the laptop downstairs when I needed to.

The pool is nice and clean but due to the presence of an automatic pool cleaner and volleyball net swimming laps is not advised.

There are plenty of menus for local restaurants, travel guides and maps located downstairs. I have no doubt that the hosts would have been more than happy to provide information had it been needed.

As stated in previous reviews, you are in fact told when to come down for breakfast. While I am sure that alternate arrangements could have been worked out if necessary I don't think they're encouraged. The breakfasts themselves were wonderful and large. No complaints there.

Military discount notwithstanding, I am not sure that Almost Heaven is worth the expense. If you are looking for a relaxing place to stay in a quiet ,remote place where you feel free to roam the grounds then caveat emptor. Staying here, for me, felt very much like staying at a distant relative's house. You're welcome to stay , use the accommodations and to come and go as you please but you still feel like a bit of an intruder nonetheless.

That said, if you need a safe, decent place to stay near Alexandria and understand what you're getting then you could do worse.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Lack of privacy
  • Tips/Secrets — Think long and hard before staying.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2006

We truly enjoyed our stay at Almost Heaven. The hosts are indeed busy during the day, but quite helpful regarding directions and things you might need. I did not mind the quiet of each day....what could you mind about being able to walk all around the area, enjoy the lovely pool and patio area or just grab a nap during the afternoon. We had the top floor with an air conditioner and ceiling fan, which made it quite comfortable and it was very warm while we were there. The coffee, tea, etc, as well as breakfast offerings on-you-own during the weekdays were generous. We had the whole third floor to ourselves with a microwave and small fridge for our use, so we could have things we purchased for snacks as well. It was a lovely getaway and the breakfast on Saturday was to order and very large. Yummy biscuits!
We had everything we needed and the space to enjoy ourselves.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

Almost Heaven is a beautiful private home with the most wonderful and warm family. They share their home with all their guest and make them feel part of the family. The location is the best, with no problems getting around any where at any time. The metro is within walking distance. We had the most delicious breakfast. Paul made the breakfast to order, anything we desired, he prepared. The portions are much too generous. The Starbucks coffee tops the morning off each and every morning. They do have all the amentities and accomodations you will need away from home. We were extremely thankful they had wireless internet and a computer for our personal use. Iwould recommed anyone to stay and enjoy the comoforts of Almost Heaven Bed and Breakfast. They are extremely busy and have only three rooms. THe family is very kind, helpful and really enjoy their guest. They took exceptionally good care of all our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Almost Heaven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almost Heaven Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6339 Brocketts Crossing, Alexandria, VA 22315
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine bed and breakfast with on site hosted family. Perfect location. Walk to metro, hot breakfast on weekends, self service during the week, with everything you want for breakfast. In ground pool, jacuzzi, Suite has 60" TV, pool table, hockey, all kinds of entertainment. All rooms have queen beds, private baths, TV, and all the amentities you need. Home is 6,000 square feet, very clean, comfortable and well maintained. Home is 15 years old. Best hot breakfast and best location. We take care of out guest, bend over backwards to get you what you want and need. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Almost Heaven b&b
Almost Heaven Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almost Heaven Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.