We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food & Super Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
5920 Kingstowne Towne Ctr, Alexandria, VA 22315-5878
703-971-3202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 597 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very Good Food & Super Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The restaurant had power even though much of the rest of Northern Virginia did not. Consequently the place was packed with people who not only wanted good food but who also wanted air conditioning. It is a "Grill" and so I guess I should expect noisy...it was noisy. The food was very good, Bang Bang Shrimp, Ahi Tuna, etc., etc. Definitely a solid dining experience. Where they really shined was the service, everyone was attentive despite the crush and the din.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    34
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lorton, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Father's Day dinner stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Went here with my wife, my sister, and my parents for Father's Day dinner. Living so close, I wondered why I'd not been here yet. I still wonder.

We quickly asked for an order of Bang Bang shrimp and an order of the fried calamari and picked a bottle of wine. The seafood was well-fried. The spicy sauce they use is basically a mayonnaise-based sauce with some chili flakes and hot sauce of some sort, but it pairs well with fried seafood. The waiter/sommlier quickly proved the need for a new corkscrew, as the one he tried using was pretty much busted and fractured the cork. Throw that thing away! His wine suggestion was tasty paired up with our appetizers.

Each of us ordered something different and I cannot say anything about anything the others ate since I didn't taste any, but my choice of the house salad and the ceviche special (an appetizer, yet a good portion) were pretty good.

Overall, it's a basic American fish house serving basic fish dishes and a few other items. There's nothing here that was amazing or worth raving about.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food but always crowded on weekends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Bar area is cramped and packed tight. Food and drink specials are awesome but expect a crowded and loud atmosphere. Not really family friendly, enjoys more of a younger crowd.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Always great food and very fresh with great service. You will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Its pretty good but not worth the long waits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

It's overrated but good. I wouldn't wait an hour for a table here - its good but not that good. Fish is usually done well, but many of their sauces are sweet. Service is good and they try, but I think there are so many other places to go if you want fish.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonefish Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.