We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't order take-out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Thai and Sushi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Thai and Sushi
801 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-535-6622
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #332 of 648 restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Don't order take-out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We've eaten in the restaurant and enjoyed the food. Decided to try take-out after they moved. The prices were much higher than listed on their website menu for take out. The food, once at home, was not very good. Can't remember what we ordered.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    4
    12
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice setting, did not love the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We decided to try it out based on recommendations from others. While the restaurant itself is attractive, the food is mediocre at best. Meals were not balanced flavor wise. Mind you, one in our bunch had the Pad Thai and said it was one of the best meals ever. I would look elsewhere for Thai. Compared to other Thai restaurants, we found it someone pricey. Nice staff ... we won't be back though. Sorry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“New location, overpriced, poor preparation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Royal Thai of Alexandria is now located on the southeast corner of N. Fairfax St. and Montgomery St. in Alexandria, VA, just a block from the former location. While the restaurant enjoys a nice new location, I got the feeling that more attention is paid to ambience than to serving exceptional Thai dishes. The menu has not changed much from the former location but the preparation was ... well, awful - tasteless and unimaginative. It's as if the dishes were prepared in advance and just microwaved prior to servicing. I ordered the crispy duck, a signature dish. The "crispy" was soggy, and the duck was bland and tough. Total bill for three was $71 which I consider excessive ... no, robbery ... for such poor quality Thai food. I strongly an "avoid" rating!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good Thai food in out of the way location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I always have a very good meal here. The food is tasty and fresh. Although the restaurant is small, I have never had to wait for a table. I like the minimal modern design, particularly the hanging lamps! The service is fine -- never had any problems with orders and the place is small enough that you can easily catch a server's attention to get a drink refill, etc.

The portions are generous -- even at lunch I usually cannot finish all my meal and get a takeout box. The dishes are presented attractively, and you can choose the spiciness of your meal.

Be forewarned that this restaurant is not in Old Town per se but is fully accessible if you don't mind walking several blocks or possibly taking a short bus ride. Obviously it is accessible by car (although parking can be a problem at lunchtime).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best thai in the area. Nice folks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a little hole in the wall. The restaurant is nothing to speak of. Pretty basic decor nothing special. The Thai food is the best in the area without doubt. Currys especially good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai and Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Royal Thai and Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Thai and Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.