We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pet friendly hotel ever stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best pet friendly hotel ever stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Westin is fantastic. By far the best pet hotel I've ever stayed at. Great, clean room. Reasonably priced. Only negative is the expensive parking; typical for Alexandria.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    188
    73
    28
    17
See reviews for
105
96
35
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed here with friends for a get-away weekend to DC. If you drive or can walk a couple blocks to metro to get into city -- this is a great place.

The hotel:

-is clean
-cute bar in lobby
-workout facility with weights
-pool and hot-tub ( a little spartan, but at least they have 'em)
-near a Starbucks (this is a plus for me)
-and about a 7-10 minute walk to a metro

I highly recommend this hotel for visitors to DC.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This hotel gives the impression that it just wants as much of your money as it can get. Heavily overpriced rooms, $24 valet parking only option, $10 for a few mins of wifi, $5 for bottle of water that is left in room. On top of that, the fridge in room is locked (contains more overpriced drinks and nibbles) so if you want access to a fridge, you have to ring for it and a poor little women drags into your room a well beaten up small fridge and plonks it on your room floor - more cheap motel than decent hotel.

On top of this, having booked a Club room, and paid in advance, on arrival we were given a non Club room, with interconnecting door that is made of paper so not only can you hear next doors conversations, the TV channels but also their coffee maker burbling away. It was on 4th floor. I complained and it was only at this point that they offered me access to the Club level lounge (free breakfast) which, as I'd paid for it, was not exactly something I felt was much of an improvement.

Point of note, whilst I stood at reception discussing the problem, a number of phone calls were taken complaining about the wrong rooms and all were fobbed off with stories of being over booked, don't ring reception, go back down and make a fuss.

Apparently Westin policy is that a room reservation, whether paid in advance or not, is ONLY a request, so although I'd paid for a Club room on 8th or 9th floor, Westin can put me where they like.

Eventually we got our 9th floor room, free bottle of water in room, no interconnecting door. However there is no guidance in room as to this Club lounge for inclusive breakfast (which was very nice and sufficient I will add) and a phone call to guest services for advice, led us to a private breakfast meeting on 2nd floor - pathetic.

If you are on business, don't care about the costs and get a taxi downtown for a meal, go for it. If you are paying yourself, go elsewhere would be my suggestion

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Check in/ out was very quick and the attendant was very helpful in answering question we had. The room was very clean and polished.The location was "ok" but not alot to do around the area. We stay Labor day weekend and everything in the area was close for the holiday. The hotel amenities was not really good. The hot tub appeared dirty to me so we didn't use it. The view was not all that good the surrounding building kinda blocked any if not all the view outside.The wall are very thin so thin that the first morning i awaken in a sound sleep to outside nosie of children crying in the hallway. The best thing was the price and the value of the my stay. I will probably stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I have stayed twice now at this location this year, and have found it to be consistent. The customer service is a bit slow, from check in through wake up call setting via the telephone from the room. There are few restaurants in the immediate area, and the hotel's list of restaurants in walking distance appears in need of update. The business center costs to use, but there is a computer/printer for airline boarding passes at no cost. This is a quiet location and a good setting for meetings.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We had a great night's getaway at this hotel. Nice place, close to Old Town. Brought our bikes and rode the great bike trails along the Potomac River.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed here while in Alexandria during the week of August 21st. We make it down to the DC area at least once every year and found Alexandria to be the nicest place in the area. We chose the Westin as we had a dog with us and the Marriott Residence Inn on Duke Street (we stayed there before) was sold out. The positives: large rooms, no dog fee and great location. The negatives: no free internet, noisy hallways, unresponsive front desk, toilet clogged twice on us, small pool, limited parking and no continental breakfast.

Conclusion - families should stay at Marriott Residence Inn or Embassy Suites. Business travelers would be ok with this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Westin Alexandria Hotel
Alexandria Westin
Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Booking.com, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.