We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but basic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice but basic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a comfortable stay at this hotel. It was very clean and we got a smart deal online. The city of Alexandria is just charming, and it is a few minutes walk from old Alexandria. I would definitely come back to this hotel as it is a fair deal. Good solid hotel with good price/quality ratio. It only seemed to lack that little extra that makes a good hotel great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear TaylorS,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback. I was glad to know you enjoyed your stay and that you will return again. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    216
    74
    29
    17
See reviews for
115
105
41
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

It's all true, from the spectacular lobby with 50 foot high ceilings, to the lively on site bar and restaurant, 4 fast elevators, comfy Westin beds, thick towels, rainwater showers, HD tv, and generally good service. And just steps away from the courthouse and the patent office.

You might quibble with the tiny 20-foot long swimming pool and the feeble low-flow bathroom sink faucets and the $ 26 daily valet parking fee. But overall, nothing much to complain about.

But -- why is a self styled luxury hotel that touts its luxurious pampering of guests, still insisting in 2013 on charging those guests $ 9.95 for an hour of WiFi, or $ 14.95 for a day of WiFi??

Hello Westin: this isn't the late 1990s. That thing called the Internet is no longer a coveted novelty worthy of a special fee. The budget hotels next to the truck stops alongside Interstate highways all have free WiFi. You can do that too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear andsank,
Thank you for staying with us. I was glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments concerning the internet cost are appreciated. We do offer complimentary internet in and around the lobby area so as to accomodate a guests need in that regard and are presetnly evaluating pricing options concerning usage in the guest room . Thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Back to the Patent Office for interviews and staying at my favorite hotel in Alexandria. Two blocks from the PTO, 1.5 miles from Old Town, great staff, decent bar, and good meeting facilities. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear JimM,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. I was glad to learn that you are enjoying the location convenience as well as our staff and service. We look forward to your future visits and I hope our paths will cross while you are staying with us.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our extended family visited Alexandria for a wedding this past weekend, and 14 of us stayed at the Westin. We chose the hotel because it offered an amazing pay-in-advance weekend rate, and because I had stayed here before on business and really recommended it. Every aspect of our stay was perfect. Hotel staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating. The concierge gave us great tips on finding things of interest. Rooms were clean and well-appointed. A minor repair was needed in one room and maintenance was up to fix it within five minutes. The hotel shuttle was conveniently available to take us at no charge to the wedding site (five minutes away, but we were traveling with seniors). The restaurant accommodated our large party for dinner and then again for breakfast the next day, and servers were courteous and did a great job. Food at both meals far exceeded that available at most hotel restaurants I've visited -- it was uniformly fresh and well prepared. We were really sad to leave and would stay here again in a flash.

Room Tip: You probably want to try for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear nycresident2010,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to share these comments. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay on so many levels. I hope we will have an opportunity to be of service again in the near future.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our professional organization selected this hotel for a three-day board meeting for about 50 attendees. The location was convenient to transportation in the DC area. Rooms were large and well appointed. Dinning was limited to a bar/grill just off of the lobby. Food was limited but filling. However, the breakfasts and luncheons provided separately to the group were very good.

I highly recommend this property to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Fullimit,
Thanks for staying with us in conjunction with a recent conference. I was gald to know that you found the location convenient, our rooms comfortable and appreciate the overall recommendation. Given you are not too far away, I hope you might have the ooportunity to visit wiht us again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtonville, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This luxury hotel is beautiful, well appointed and very clean. From the point of check-in everything was fabulous! Upon arrival we had lunch in the Trademark Restaurant, service and the food were great. You must have the Flock of Grilled Spiced Wings with a side of Tarragon Ranch-what a flavor profile! We were here on a family vacation so we traveled to DC, Maryland, and all over Old Town Virginia, the FREE Shuttle staff were very accommodating and informative. Our executive suite had breathtaking views of the city and was clean with subtle appointments throughout the rooms. Our Room Attendant was very nice, helpful,and respected our privacy when needed. But beyond this the General Manager Richard Casale, and his Director of Operations were first class captains of this outstanding ship! Now we have stayed in hotels all over the world with great service, but I have to acknowledge the front office team was simply amazing, I wish I could remember their names! they were very personable, helpful, funny and true professionals! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and we will be back! P.S. my 8 year old daughter & I loved the pool! Keep up the great work Rich! L.Davis

Room Tip: Request a room that has views of the city, on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear LanceD,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for your kind comments. I was so glad to learn of your wonderful experiences with our staff and certainly enjoyed running into you while you were here. Continued best and please come visit us again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is very new, and that is obvious (and a nice feature for me at least). The building is nice and well designed. The room was good although I did have to call a couple of times because house keeping was a little sloppy (didn't bring fresh towels despite the old ones on the floor, left dirty glasses around and didn't bring fresh ones, etc). But that was rectified with a call to the front desk. I didn't sleep great there, but i'm not sure that was the fault of the westin as it wasn't an obvious source. The bed seemed comfortable, it wasn't loud etc. It is really convenient to the USPTO (my reason) and the court house there. It's close to the metro, about 2-3 blocks although there are hotels that are a little closer/more convenient (the hilton and embassy suites for example). But since it isn't right across the street from the metro it doesn't have trouble with noise. The pool is a bit of an after thought, like they went "well, we have to have a pool so let's just stick it in this corner" but i found that issue with other hotels in big cities so maybe that's a common thing. It is nice to have an indoor pool in the middle of winter but I would love to have one where the actual pool area is inviting and comfortable. I found the breakfast option confusing, it wasn't clear at all to me where breakfast would be or that it was even really an option. I saw room service but was under the impression that there wasn't a breakfast place. Not a huge deal as I am familiar with the area and knew where things like starbucks and whole foods are but i found out later that they do have a restaurant for breakfast. They should make that clearer either at check in or in the guide in the room ('cause I did look). All in all I would say it's a good option in that area of alexandria.

Room Tip: i think based on the location and layout any room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear megs,
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. I was glad to hear that we are conveniently located to the work you are doing with the Trade Office and Courthouse. We have a bit of work to do with housekeeping judging from your comments and we will concentrate some efforts there. Concerning breakfast, we do serve that everyday in our Trademark Restaurant located just off of our lobby. Not sure where the confusion came in concerning that but would welcome more feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.