We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience - All Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Experience - All Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

Just completed a great stay at this well-appointed hotel with outstanding service. Top-notch Westin experience - clean, new, very comfortable and stylish. Great work space, to include internet access quality. As a newer hotel, all areas are clean, neat and pleasant.

Of particular note was the attentiveness of the staff. My room was upgraded without request, the concierge had a pre-printed running route in my hnds before I finished asking, and smiles were in abundance. Of particular note was a staff member in the lobby who heard my colleague express frustration over her inability to have breakfast - she mentioned to me that she needed a bagel and a soft drink along our trip. Before we could pull away from the hotel, there was a knock on the window - this staff member overheard my colleague and took the initiative to obtain a soft drink and a bagel and package it for her trip.

The location is great - a 5-10 minute walk from the Amtrak and Metro stations.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    247
    81
    32
    18
See reviews for
124
120
42
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

This hotel is new and 'looks' attractive but the staff is extremely inexperienced and unaware of how to properly handle problems. First, parking is valet-only and costs $24/day. I was traveling with 3 other people, were we had 4 separate rooms. For some reason they had us booked as sharing rooms. They had 4 available rooms but still had us standing in lobby for over 30 minutes while they stared are the computer and didn't know how to handle the situation. Everything was extra, water was not complimentary, internet is $10/day, and $7 for only 15 minutes in business center, there are like 7 men to greet and help you at the door and then the front desk has 6 computers with one employee. One of the members of our party arrived to his room to find it not cleaned up from the previous occupant. But the final kicker for me was when I checked out and they told me that my credit card was declined. I knew that this wasn't the case so I called my credit card company and learned that the Westin Hotel had 12 charges to my account totaling $4800. I went to the manager to complain and they really never took any blame and couldn't explain it. Unfortunately, my card was locked for over 24 hours. The staff was extremely young and inexperienced. They never made any consolation to me and never even offered. I will NEVER stay at another Westin property.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — poor service, rude staff, charges for everything, poor cell phone service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

We stayed at the Westin Alexandria from April 11-13, 2008. We were extremely pleased with the hotel - a new luxury hotel. The staff is well trained and friendly.

The service was excellent from check in until the check out. Valet parking is $25 a night but they were very fast and helpful.

The hotel is very new, modern, and is an excellent location in Old Town Alexandria. It is in easy walking distance from some restaurants and the Metro.

We booked a king room. It was perfectly clean and well appointed. Bedding was typical for the Westin chain, which is indeed heavenly! The room had a nice sitting area and a large flat panel HDTV. Noise was never an issue and our room has a view of other buildings...not too bad.

The bathroom was spotless. The two showerheads - Westin Heavenly Bath - were great!

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — service, location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

Overall a good experience here.

The staff were very helpful to our group, many of whom had special needs. They were attentive to many details and requests we made.

The rooms were nice with large flat panel tv's and the beds were very comfortable.

The hotel is expensive but so is every hotel in the DC metro area. The amenities in the business center are very expensive. To print a single page costs $1.

The location is a bit isolated. The hotel is NOT in Old Town. It is at minimum a 10 minute walk from there.

One problem that many of us experienced was terrible cell phone service while in the hotel. I know that is not the fault of the hotel but it is something they should be made aware.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

I stayed at the Westin Alexandria from April 10-14, 2008. I was extremely pleased with the hotel. The service at check-in was excellent. The hotel is very new and is an excellent location in Old Town Alexandria. It is in easy walking distance from some restaurants and the Metro. The hotel's restaurant is also wonderful, and I enjoyed delicious, if expensive, breakfasts there each morning as well as one evening meal that was wonderful.

My room was very comfortable. In fact, I am considering purchasing some of the bedding components, as they are available for sale. The temperature was comfortable, the widescreen television was better than mine at home, and the bathroom was clean and modern. My only complaint with the bathroom is the lighted mirror. The lights are incredibly unflattering, so be prepared to be alarmed at your appearance, especially first thing in the morning!

I experienced no problems with noise from adjacent rooms, although I could hear movement. Perhaps my neighbors were just quiet.

  • Liked — The comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Lighting in the bathroom.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bochum
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

Stayed at Westin in early march 2008 and we were very impressed of this modern hotel.
Arrived at front door , where valet parking is 25 bugs a night. we parked round the corner for free. Got a nice room at 7th floor.very new room.
visited the spa area which is very poor. no atmosphere and i think still under construction. we would come back again. we payed 80 bugs a night with priceline. thats very fair.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

I stayed at this property for three nights while there for a conference. The room was booked by corporate travel at the conference rate of $189. This is significantly below the rack rate for this facility.

The property is located in a recently renovated part of Alexandria. It is well lit, clean and safe. It is a ten minute walk to the nearest Metro station, although the station is a little hidden from the hotel. The development of restaurants in the area has not kept up with the hotel and offices. As a result, one must walk a considerable distance from the hotel to the variety of restaurants along King Street in Old Town. This should be a consideration for anyone wishing to spend much time there. In inclement weather, or for those with disabilities, a cab ride, with typical urban fares, would be a must.

As mentioned in previous reviews, the property is new, having opened in November 2007. It is of contemporary design and layout.

The lobby is spacious, spotless and over two stories high. The centerpiece is an unusual wooden clock some fifteen feet high. The air in this Westin lobby, as in other properties in the chain, is lightly scented and exudes cleanliness. Several small sitting areas are in the lobby and lights are dimmed each evening with the addition of multiple lit candles. Quite a nice touch.

Check-in was flawless with everything ready when I arrived. I had my key card and was on my way within one minute. The staff was well dressed, very competent, and obviously service oriented.

Interior hallways are clean, quiet and well lit. There is quite the distance from the block of elevators to the ends of each hallway. Speaking of elevators, the service was prompt. With multiple elevators serving one area, I waited no longer than one minute at anytime during my stay.

I was assigned to a king room. It was perfectly clean and well appointed. Bedding was typical for the Westin chain, which is indeed heavenly. The room had a nice sitting area and a large flat panel HDTV. As mentioned by previous reviewers, my room overlooked a construction site – noise was never an issue.

The bathroom was spotless and very well appointed, again typical for the Westin brand. Interestingly, there were as absence of drawers or other storage space. This could be an issue for long stays. Water pressure was below average for this price point. The two showerheads, typical for the Westin Heavenly Bath, were present but were not really usable simultaneously.

Housekeeping service was spotty during my stay. After my first night I returned to the room at 6:00 PM to discover that service had not yet been provided. I called Service Express and the operator apologized profusely. A housekeeper was in the room within fifteen minutes and provided all necessary service. After my second night service was provided early in the day, but toiletries were not replenished in the bath. Again, a call to Service Express corrected the omission, but this should simply not occur at this type of property two days in a row.

As mentioned by previous reviewers, cell service inside this hotel is sorely lacking. Numerous colleagues spoke of this issue, and it crossed all carriers. This is unacceptable in a hotel that caters to business travelers in the DC market. Wireless internet service, at $9.00 per day, was slower than most. Frankly, I have had better service for free at Hampton level properties.

Conference service was very good. Meeting rooms were comfortable and well appointed. Staff was helpful, but not overbearing. There was a lack of room/table cleaning during breaks. This led to tables full of cans and glasses by the end of the day.

Banquet food service was well above average, even for the Westin. Across the board, conference attendees bragged on the food, both quality and variety. In both buffet and table service settings, this was a high point.

I took advantage of room service one evening. Service was prompt, polite and the food presentation was excellent. The pricing was appropriate for the property.

Check-out was flawless and the final bill did not contain any errors. Again, the desk clerks were most professional and polite, thanking me for my business and inviting me back.

This is a very good property that is having some slight growing pains. I trust that as time progresses that the small issues I encountered will see correction. At the rack rate price point, this would be a necessity.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Poor cellular service inside the property.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Starwood, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.