We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Alexandria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
New York City, New York
1 review
“Westin Alexandria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I just ran a 5 day convention and seminar at this wonderful hotel. The accomadations were clean ,modern and
gave a very elegant up to date atmosphere for my attendees. The banquet food from the reception to the entrees were equal to an upscale restaurant quality and was served hot and plated very nicely.
The staff from the bellman, front desk people and wait staff were courtious, very knowledgable and extremely helpful.On the professonal side, my hotel contacts were very accommodating and very flexable for my needs.
I had over 100 attendees and did not have one complaint.. They even created a buffet breakfast for my group in their new restaurant so they could be served more efficiently.The bathroom shower was great. Even the flowers were fresh and elegant. I highly recommend this hotel
L.F.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms it just depends on what view you like great shots of the Masonic Temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Lou F,
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay and meeting with us. I was delighted to know that all exceeded your expectations and that you particularly enjoyed the staff and service. Thanks for the business and we look forward to being of service again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    200
    73
    28
    17
See reviews for
112
100
36
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I visited this property for a three night stay in mid-July. The hotel is still reasonably new. I bunked here in late 2007 and early 2008 when it had just opened. (Also, full disclosure: I am an SPG Gold level guest, and also a Starwood shareholder.)

This was not a perfect stay for me, but I’ll still return. My issues were quite minor, but cumulatively were an annoyance.

First the good: The property was immaculately kept. Bathrooms (both in my room and public ones) were sparkling clean. Sidewalks around the property were also kept clean. The bell staff was hustling and keeping cars in motion at the porte cochere.

The location in Carlyle is excellent, a short walk from the King Street Metro station. They do offer a shuttle service too/from that Metro stop, and the immediate surrounding area.

Although my meetings meant I had dinner out each evening, a couple of us did have drinks in the Westin’s Trademarks bar/restaurant. The service there was crisp and pleasant.

The rooms are standard issue Westin, with a great bed and nicely appointed furniture. Wifi strength was good, and there was also a hardwire option available. The aircon was great, and it chilled my room nicely!

Now, a couple of minor issues. (And, as frequent readers of my postings know, I never post negative comments about a property without first speaking with a hotel manager. In this instance, I have shared my issues directly with the Director of Operations.)

I currently have a minor fracture in my ankle, and am in an airsplint. I had called the Westin a week or so out, and explained that I’d need help. The Manager I spoke to then told me to ring the hotel from the Reagan Airport station, and they’d have a shuttle waiting for me at King Street (two stops from airport). I called the hotel from inside a Metro train, at Reagan. They transferred me to the driver, who told me to call back when I was on the sidewalk at King Street. Sure enough, I was there in 5 minutes, and waited in the 90F+ heat for 15 minutes for the Shuttle to arrive. Bad first impression.

I was given an upgrade to the Club Lounge, and was very surprised to learn that they do not offer beer or wine for sale. The Embassy Suites a block over has a very robust Happy Hour every evening, so this took me aback. The ladies working there were very friendly, but no evening beverages. Also, in the morning, I was disappointed to not find any newspapers in the Lounge… not even USAToday.

Speaking of newspapers, I was surprised that they were so difficult to find. Newspapers were placed in one stack next to the entrance to the restaurant, and they only had USAToday... no WSJ or WashPost. In almost every hotel I stay in in the US (and 95% abroad) newspapers are either delivered to the door, or at the least, to the elevator lobby on each floor. In many hotels, there's more than one choice of paper.

The water pressure in the sink in my bathroom was a victim of a low-flow faucet. I understand the intent, but this was pretty bad.

When I purchased a postcard in the gift shop, the young lady couldn't be bothered to take off her ear plugs or stop her phone call to handle my purchase. I hope I didn't interfere with her call too much...

Then, there was the banner… There is a large banner in the lobby advertising the new SPG Gold Benefits, and Gold Welcome Gift. No one mentioned this to me, nor offered such things to me during my check-in or stay, or check-out.

Finally, when I checked out at 8a, I asked the Front Desk Agent to speak with the Manager on Duty (to share my concerns), and was told that such a person wasn't in yet. I became more specific to ask who was in charge, and he said that person would be in later. I suspect the GM would be a bit surprised to find that the hotel is operating at 8a with no one in charge.

So, for this stay, I had a very mixed Westin experience... I had Westin comfort and cleanliness, that was great. BUT, I experienced a series of small issues which resulted in an overall disappointing stay. I compare this property against the Hilton down the street, the Residence Inn on Duke Street and the Embassy Suites at the Metro, all of which I’ve stayed at.

YES, I will return here… the folks I do business with are in Carlyle and they have a great corporate rate. I’m back in September, so I hope they’ll have addressed some of these items.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Chauncey_Gardiner,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking to time to share your comments. The amount of detail that you shared is very valuable as we strive to improve and I am glad to know that you had an opportunity to share this same feedback with our Director of Operations before leaving. I know he appreciated meeting you. It sounds like you will be returning and I welcome you to reach out to me prior to your next stay. I certainly would like to look after your accommodations and hope that we might have an opportunity to meet at that time. Thanks again.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Westin, Alexandria has some work to do. The 3 day experience was filled with ups and downs, but the downs won. The staff is extremely hit and miss - our check-in was terrible, our check-out fine.

The first night my husband went to the front desk to let them know that the promised "in-room" safe, was not in our room. They asked him to go back to the room to check - saying that it was behind the dresser door on the right - it wasn't. He checked again and called back down to let them know. Their response was - "well, we'll try to locate one for you - do you really need it?" WHAT? Yes we need it - we had planned 3 full days of sightseeing and wanted our valuables to be contained. They told us that we could put our valuables behind the front desk instead. No way...

The restaurant was nice and accommodated our 15 and 12 year old kids - we were too tired to walk to Old Town Alexandria for dinner so we stayed in the hotel - the food and service were not disappointing.

The room (a double) was small but fresh and contemporary, however room towels were not replaced every day as requested, the coffee service wasn't replaced as it should have been, the shampoo/conditioner and soap were not replaced and the ice bucket disappeared after the first night.

The pool on the 3rd floor is extremely small and children are not welcome - that was our experience. The lifeguard was very rude and extremely unfriendly. After one visit, we bagged the pool idea - one of the reasons we booked this hotel.

Our next family visit to the DC area will not include the Westin, Alexandria.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Amy C,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your comments. I want to extend my sincere apologies for some of the inconveniences you experienced. We would have liked for you to have had a much better stay. Concerning the fact that your room was not serviced sets me to wondering if you might have opted for our Green Choice program which does not call for the housekeeper to service the room everyday. That information would be valuable to know as that or a DO NOT DISTURB are the only reasons why we would not service a room. Your feedback is much appreciated and helps us in our efforts to continually improve. Thanks again for your patience and understanding and I do hope you might give us another chance to get things right for you.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Booked this room as a last minute quick get away for my family! We were treated wonderfully from the moment we pulled up. The front desk staff was very quick, extremely friendly and efficient. My family and I enjoyed the pool. The bathroom shower was awesome!!! We look forward to visiting this hotel for quick local getaways!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear R I,
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share you comments. It is always nice to hear great comments concerning our staff and service and I was glad to know you enjoyed other aspects of our hotel as well. Hope to see you again soon.

Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked this hotel for a stay-cation with my husband on Valentine's Day weekend. The hotel lobby and rooms are very nicely appointed. As guests, we were treated very kindly and our every need was met. The rooms were quite clean and modern. The shower head was a bit wonky but did the job. The hotel is not exactly in Old Town. In fact, it is a few block away. The hotel does have a shuttle that takes you back and forth. Parking is difficult in this area and the neighboring garages and valet service is expensive. The subway is nearby and probably the ideal method. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was delicious and priced okay. (The hotel gave us a free continental breakfast coupon but we ordered additional items.) All-in-all, it was a great stay in a nice area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Jessica M,

Thanks for staying with us recently. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed yourselves and took advantage of the many things to offer in the hotel and around Old Town. Come see us again soon.

Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I wish I liked this place more because it's a great place for a work conference. I lived in the neighboring suburb of Arlington last year and attended a conference there at the time. Although the valet parking in pricey, it's a really nice place for a conference with better than average conference food/snacks. It always annoys me though when they nickel and dime you to print something at the business center.

The rooms are spacious and who doesn't love the "Heavenly Beds" at the Westin. The on-site restaurant/bar "the Trademark" has a good happy hour with a few $5 apps and wines. Other than that, there's nothing worth staying on site for. Any restaurants that are very good are a good half mile or so away on King Street, like Brado, Brado Tasting Room, and Vermillion. Sure, the Metro is a fairly close, but if you're a high heels kinda girl like me, taking a cab is about $18-20 to/from the airport in traffic and a good $30 to go into the city. There are more convenient places to stay in the city and in Virginia unless you need to be in this "Carlyle" neighborhood of Alexandria near the Masonic Temple. Only reason I can think to stay here is if you need to be near the courthouse or the Patent Office nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Cycloneusa,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your comments. Glad to know that you enjoyed our Heavenly Beds and your experieince in Trademark. I know you found our location a bit of a walk from some of the places you would like to visit in Old Town. We do run a shuttle service to and from any location in Old Town as well as to the Metro for our guests convenience. I am not sure if you were aware of that since you did not reference it. Many of our guests enjoy this service when they would prefer not to walk. Thanks again.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel while on a business trip to Alexandria. The hotel is beautiful. It is very clean and the decor is inviting and makes for a great atmosphere. I brought my family along for this trip and they loved it. The location is perfect; it is close to the King St. Metro and to the train station. Washington is just across the river; so it's like you can access two great cities at once. The hotel is conveniently located to Old Town. Staying in this area is like taking a trip back in history. There are so many historic places, the homes and shops are beautiful. The hotel restaurant has great food and drinks. We will definitely return to this hotel. There is also so much to do and see in D.C.; this hotel is a perfect location. Parking isn't cheap at $26 a day, but they do offer limited shuttle service. They also charge for wireless internet as they do at most upscale hotels. Honestly, I've never understood the internet charges, when wireless internet is free at La Quinta or Holiday Inn...oh well. The hotel front desk staff was courteous and very friendly; we were checked-in, in just a few minutes. The cleaning staff went out of their way to greet us every morning. Stay at this hotel if you're in the DC area; you will not be disappointed. Website: www.westinalexandria.com phone: (703) 253-8600

Room Tip: Book a high floor room facing the court house; you'll love the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Dave E,

Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your thoughts. Your comments concerning our staff and numerous other highlights of your stay are most appreciated and I was so glad to know that you and your family enjoyed yourselves. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.