We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired rooms, helpful staff, disappointing stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Tired rooms, helpful staff, disappointing stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Things started badly at Check In (at midnight after a long haul flight) when instead of swiping my card to take a $50 holding fee, they tried to swipe the full amount for my 4 night stay, and ended up blocking my card ! We then stalemated as they refused to check me in without this deposit...I scraped together $50 cash but considering my employer has a corporate account, and we travel to this hotel regularly, there was no flexibility, trust or generosity offered in light of repeat business which was a shame. My room access key was also blocked 2 days later, as I had exceeded the $50 deposit on food / drink bill. As this time I was shocked to be forced to pay for all 4 nights...2 nights in advance of check out before my room card was unlocked ! I've never heard anything like it ! The staff were friendly and helpful, but inflexible.
Rooms and corridors in the hotel were tired, old and had a musty smell. Everything seemed clean enough, but too old to feel really clean (plug sockets were stained and yellow, as was base of bath) Towels were lovely and fluffy. Bathroom products were nice scent and quality, but water pressure was ridiculously low, taking me an age to wash my hair ! The hairdryer was old, flaking and peeling and sticky (!) and thankfully was so tired, the plug pins were bent and I had to ask for it to be replaced - it was foul – there was full iron and ironing board, and bath robe, which was nice. Worth noting; they have a silly minibar system where you have to order (and pay for) what you want them to deliver to your minibar, and it will then be stocked. Fridge not turned on otherwise, so was unable to cool the - complimentary - bottled water though, and although I could hear the ice machine clattering down the hall, it failed to produce any ice the whole 5 days I was there.
The gym was ok, with ample running and cross training machines, and mat space. The pool has been cleverly photographed for the website as it is barely long enough to swim laps in. Water and towels provided in gym, as well as option to hire gym kit and trainers.
Bar and dining area were busy in the evenings, as well as being open to the public. Not much else in the area, so worth eating out before heading back to the hotel. There are a couple of Metro stops within walking distance, but a bit dark and quiet at night.
All in all, a disappointing stay, not the quality I’d expect from a Westin or for the price paid, and will unfortunately therefore not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Away from the ice machines, as they're very loud !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear WorldMoocher,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share these comments. It appears we could have have handled your check in and room deposit more efficiently and I want to extend my apologies. I was glad to hear that you found the staff helpful as things were brought to their attention. Also in light of your comments, we will certainly pay closer attention to the condition of the corridors and guest room hairdryers. As you mention our mini bar in the rooms will be stocked upon request and additionally it does serve to cool some items that you might bring along. Thanks again for the feedback. It is much appreciated and will help us focus our efforts accordingly.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    200
    73
    28
    17
See reviews for
112
100
36
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was expecting more from a Westin in such a fine location as Alexandria. The price is high and the entrance looks very fancy and the door and check-in staff were great. However there were a number of small issues which made the experience memorable for the wrong reasons
1. Small things not right - the hotel had run out of room slippers. I have grown used to these and was disappointed when the housekeeping and front desk staff said they were out
2. Bedside telephone was not working - it was a cordless set which clearly past its prime
3. Thin walls and voices heard from the air ducts
4. Rowdy and drunk crowd in the elevators and hallways

But the biggest issue I had was when ordering my room-service breakfast the second and last night I was there. Someone 'forgot' to put the little ordering card on the door knob the second day (I used it on day 1). Wanting the same items, I called the front desk and room service around 12:30 and again at 1:30 am but no one answered. Finally when I awoke at 6;30 am in the morning I called the One-touch-service line and reached asked to order off that card and was told I couldn't do so because it was too late. Fine, please give me the normal rate for your "Healthy Breakfast"or whatever I had day 1 - "sorry, it's not on the menu". Fine, then how long for an omelette - since I'm now in a rush "sorry I can't tell you, it can be up to 25 minutes". Oh my! Can I have the duty manager.... "the manager is not here now". So I hung up in anger. I called back and asked for this person's name and never got it but was finally transferred to the kitchen without a name of course! (end of story - kitchen figured out how to hand write an order and send it up in 10 mins).... during checkout I reported the ordeal to the front desk who said they would knock off $5 of a $400 bill...hah - I told them not to bother since I was in a hurry.

On the bright side, the location was good :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear GourrmetGourmand,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. I want to extend my apologies for the inconveniences. We certainly should have reacted with more of a sense of urgency concerning your relatively simple room serivce request which just added insult to injury to go with the slippers, telephone and noise concerns. We appreciate this feedback. All that you bring to our attention is being immediately addressed for improvement. Thanks again. I hope you might return to Alexandria and give us another chance to get things right. Please feel free to reach out to me personally as I would like to look after your accommodations.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here two nights for a wedding and for vacation....loved the starbucks coffee provided; great amenitites; clean and friendly staff; loved the courthouse across the street...really close to the train and that was awesome because that took us everywhere in DC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Deena,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I was glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel, our staff and location. We hope to see you back again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Overall, hotel is clean and comfortable but more attention to details would make it better. For example, not enough staff in the morning for check-out, questions etc. There is no concierge. There are no signs indicating where meetings are and waiting for ten minutes to ask where a convention is being held is easily fixed by having a board, electronic or otherwise, where everything is posted each day. Housekeeping does not replace toiletries. Only one restaurant on premises with extremely limited menu. Small shop on premises also has an extremely small selection. Room walls are thin so you can hear everything going on in the halls and adjoining rooms.
Good things about the hotel: porter and valet staff were fantastic. Gym is nice and the location is great. Beds were extremely comfortable. The price for the DC area was reasonable as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear poggy,
Thank you for staying with us. While there were some positive aspects of your stay, clearly we could have done more to meet and exceed your expectations. Thanks for taking the time to point out those opportuniies as it gives us some direction in moving forward. I do hope that you will have an opportunity to return again and welcome you to reach out to me personally so that I might look after your arrangements.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is a very good, functional business traveller hotel. Its a bit hard to find, on an odd back street, and there were some small drawbacks, like long waits for valet parking on two occasions (20-30 minutes), but they hotel staff is generally very good and the whole experience was well organized for the business traveller. Its a pet-friendly hotel, so if you have allergies like me ask for a pet free room at booking and again at check in. Mine was fine (and I'm very sensitive, which means the hotel is clean).

Room Tip: There are some pet-free rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear B L,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to comment. I was glad to know that we were able to serve your business needs and that you found our staff to be helpful and organized. We hope to see you back again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Va
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Booked room through HotWire and got a great rate for a five night stay. Unfortunately I was reminded of that and treated as unwelcome. I had contacted hotel prior to stat to request a bit of a view and a refrigerator for medication. Contacted back and told all would be taken care of. Checked in Friday, nice room but no view and no refrigerator - was told nothing else available. Friday night around 9 air conditioning stops working - call desk am told they will correct it. Nothing happens no one shows up, call back told same thing. This time man comes and takes battery out of thermostat and puts same one back in. Says this will reset thermostat. Unit comes on and runs a cycle or two but fan will not run independently, room cools some wife is tired so we go to bed. Sometime in the night unit quits again, wake up around 4 am very hot and stuffy this time thermostat is blank...shows nothing. Go down to desk and they say we can change rooms. Girl also insists that I am booked till Monday (not Wednesday). To frustrated to argue will wait till later. Go up repack and change rooms and get some sleep. Go to desk about noon Saturday to make sure everything is ok, girl gets reservation info straight, says we are ok till Wed. No one has yet offered an apology for all of this and now this girl informs me that I was moved to the club floor which I normally would not be allowed on so I can't drink the free water - for me it will be 4 dollars. No apology but a stern warning about the water. Rest of Saturday had a good day out and about. Sunday good morning and went to ballgame, returned to witness another guest in tears with the desk about something. Thought all my troubles were behind me until I checked my e-mail to have an alert from credit card company about authorizations. Checked account and Westin in three days has placed 5 separate charges totaling $592.00 for a room that was pre-paid. Headed down to desk again at 10 pm man tries to explain computer system and how it is requesting authorizations on my card. makes no sense and no one else available to talk to. Received message on Monday from Thomas the Operations Manager who says he will look into it. Tuesday he leaves another message basically saying that their system estimates what it thinks you will spend based on purchases. In other words on the second day I spent 70 bucks in the hotel restaurateur so it assumed I would do so each day. Explanation made some sense but numbers still did not add up. Housekeeping was very poor, basically make bed and replenish towels. Floor not vacuumed, ice bucket and dirty glasses never touched, iron and ironing board never put up. Final morning called down for valet to get car and phone rings a dozen times with no answer. Hang up and after a couple minutes desk calls me and says they were busy but they will get car. Head down to check out and they have two people working desk at 9:00 AM and both are checking in a large group of students. Waited 20 minutes to check out only to be handed a bill for 400+ dollars. Almost lost it at this point. Ask for Thomas and the desk agent went to find him. In the meantime the other agent figured out that he had given me someone else's bill. Have never been treated so poorly in a hotel. Made to feel unwanted as a guest. The fact that they were selling rooms through HotWire on Memorial Day weekend in the DC metro area should have warned me that something was up. Most other area hotels were at a premium for the holiday. Will not recommend Westin to anyone. Had a reservation in Charlotte, NC for end of June for a conference but have already cancelled that and found another hotel. All of this could have been avoided with some friendly faces, customer service, and an apology or two. But instead they were protecting their precious free water and making excuses for everything else.

Room Tip: Head for the Hilton!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear PenguinBill,
Thank you for staying with us this past Memorial Weekend. Clearly we did not take very good care of you and I wanted to extend my sincere apologies. Your feedback is helpful in our efforts to make some improvements. Although there seemed to be many issues that arose in the course of your stay that would lead you not to want to return, I hope that we might have another opportunity to be of service. I know we would do siognificantly better by you the next time around and welcome you to reach out to me so I might personally look after your arrangements. Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, PA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wonderful hotel, but watch the amenities--even internet has a fee, as does valet parking. There are two public lots not too far away, but over a holiday weekend, we never saw anyone around to ask about parking there. Beds are comfortable; bathroom is great; decor is lovely; staff was friendly. They offer a $5 coupon for the local Starbucks each night that you forgo maid service (of course this is not an option for the final night's stay) and have recycling as well as regular trash. They offer one complimentary bottle of water, and, though room has a refrigerator, guests are asked not to use it except for food purchased through the hotel service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear zoldiegoldie,
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and our staff. Hope to see you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.