We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here just for one night and loved how it was so close to the King St Metro but also Old Town (via free shuttle, it's quite a few blocks to walk). There is a nice Whole Foods nearby if you want to grab food for the room. Everything was clean and staff was friendly. Room rates seemed to vary greatly between my friends and I though, even though we booked same day and had identical rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear AbbyC,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your recent stay with us. I was glad to know that you enjoyed our staff and service as well as our convenient location to Old Town. I do hope we will have an opportunity to be of service again in the near future.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    201
    73
    27
    17
See reviews for
112
100
37
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel. When we walked we felt very safe in this mostly business area. The restaurants are 3 or more blocks away. The king st metro is also 3 blocks. We found out on the last day that the shuttle will take you to the metro station. The shuttle does not pick up or take you to the airport. We arrived late and took a taxi from the airport. the taxi fare with tip was $30. The hotel has a nice restaurant but it is very pricey. The three of us had breakfast and with tip it was $70. Nothing fancy just bacon, eggs, potatoes, toast and coffee. The indoor pool is very small (14 people limit) and was crowded with children. The fitness center looked nice but since there were 6-8 preteen girls playing on the equipment I did not use it. I would stay there again if I got a really good deal, I would not pay full price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear jellysnana,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your comments. Your feedback is much appreciated and does give us some things to consider. I was glad to know you enjoyed your stay and would consider returning. We hope to see you again soon.
Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed it. The room is large, the bed was huge and comfortable, everything very nice and clean. Breakfast was good, never tried evening meal, just a room service. The only negative thing was probably just the fact that you have to pay for wi-fi in the room. It is a business hotel, so this kind of surprised me. Otherwise, staff smiling and happy to help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Alena,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your thoughts. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and in particular our staff and amenities. I hope we will see you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Have to say i haven't met any employees who werent absolutely friendly. Didn't like all the upcharges! Seemed excessive but it is a really fancy place. Overall was a really nice place. Likwd the restaurant. Food was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear eric s,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share these comments. It was gratifying to hear about the friendliness of our staff and your experience in our restaurant. We recently reconcepted out restaurant, changing the design and menu and introducing more of a gastro pub environment which we hoped would be more appealing to our guests. Your comments help confirm that. Thanks again.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed, along with four other people with my company, for several days this month. Everyone there is really accommodating.

The GM, Mr. Casale and his Executive Assistant, Jemma,, were very helpful with our group.

I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear diegoinmission,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am so delighted to learn that you had a great experience and that Jemma and I were personally able to be of assistance during your stay. Please come visit us again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Westin is around 15mins from Washington Reagan Airport (depending on traffic), located quite ideally in a quiet area of Alendria and close to the Washington monument and Old Town (which you must not miss). Checkin was friendly and competent, the hotel itself is big but surprisingly nice. Like all hotels of that size the carpets are overwhelming, especially in the hallways. Rooms are spacious, the furniture looked relatively new and the cleanliness is above average. Comfortable beds, bedrobes, and abundance of towels and amenities complete the picture. All in all, a very convenient hotel for a fantastic price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear John,
Thanks for staying with us recently. Your comments concerning our location, amenities and value are much appreciated. It appears you enjoyed your experience. I hope we will see you again soon!
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY area
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Wonderfully appointed room, extremely comfortable bedding. Bathroom nicely stocked, clean, and well functioning.
We were not able to connect to Internet via their wifi, though. We called to the front desk, and they sent someone up immediately. He tried to connect but he couldn't either. Fixed the next day..

It is in a nice section of Alexandria, not with shops, but still , a nice section to walk safely in..



Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear kjchj,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to comment. I was delighted to learn that enjoyed your experience and hope you will return again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;