We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in safe area if you get a good rate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in safe area if you get a good rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel. When we walked we felt very safe in this mostly business area. The restaurants are 3 or more blocks away. The king st metro is also 3 blocks. We found out on the last day that the shuttle will take you to the metro station. The shuttle does not pick up or take you to the airport. We arrived late and took a taxi from the airport. the taxi fare with tip was $30. The hotel has a nice restaurant but it is very pricey. The three of us had breakfast and with tip it was $70. Nothing fancy just bacon, eggs, potatoes, toast and coffee. The indoor pool is very small (14 people limit) and was crowded with children. The fitness center looked nice but since there were 6-8 preteen girls playing on the equipment I did not use it. I would stay there again if I got a really good deal, I would not pay full price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear jellysnana,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your comments. Your feedback is much appreciated and does give us some things to consider. I was glad to know you enjoyed your stay and would consider returning. We hope to see you again soon.
Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    230
    75
    31
    19
See reviews for
119
112
42
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and really enjoyed it. The room is large, the bed was huge and comfortable, everything very nice and clean. Breakfast was good, never tried evening meal, just a room service. The only negative thing was probably just the fact that you have to pay for wi-fi in the room. It is a business hotel, so this kind of surprised me. Otherwise, staff smiling and happy to help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Alena,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your thoughts. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and in particular our staff and amenities. I hope we will see you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Have to say i haven't met any employees who werent absolutely friendly. Didn't like all the upcharges! Seemed excessive but it is a really fancy place. Overall was a really nice place. Likwd the restaurant. Food was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear eric s,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share these comments. It was gratifying to hear about the friendliness of our staff and your experience in our restaurant. We recently reconcepted out restaurant, changing the design and menu and introducing more of a gastro pub environment which we hoped would be more appealing to our guests. Your comments help confirm that. Thanks again.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed, along with four other people with my company, for several days this month. Everyone there is really accommodating.

The GM, Mr. Casale and his Executive Assistant, Jemma,, were very helpful with our group.

I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear diegoinmission,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am so delighted to learn that you had a great experience and that Jemma and I were personally able to be of assistance during your stay. Please come visit us again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Westin is around 15mins from Washington Reagan Airport (depending on traffic), located quite ideally in a quiet area of Alendria and close to the Washington monument and Old Town (which you must not miss). Checkin was friendly and competent, the hotel itself is big but surprisingly nice. Like all hotels of that size the carpets are overwhelming, especially in the hallways. Rooms are spacious, the furniture looked relatively new and the cleanliness is above average. Comfortable beds, bedrobes, and abundance of towels and amenities complete the picture. All in all, a very convenient hotel for a fantastic price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear John,
Thanks for staying with us recently. Your comments concerning our location, amenities and value are much appreciated. It appears you enjoyed your experience. I hope we will see you again soon!
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Ny Area
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Wonderfully appointed room, extremely comfortable bedding. Bathroom nicely stocked, clean, and well functioning.
We were not able to connect to Internet via their wifi, though. We called to the front desk, and they sent someone up immediately. He tried to connect but he couldn't either. Fixed the next day..

It is in a nice section of Alexandria, not with shops, but still , a nice section to walk safely in..



Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear kjchj,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to comment. I was delighted to learn that enjoyed your experience and hope you will return again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel is in great condition, the staff is friendly and good attitude. Nice decoration and cozy environment. The great advantage of the hotel is that it is 10 minutes walk from the Metro station (King station), 15 mins from Regan airport and 25 from National Mall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear agustin e,
Thank you for staying with us. I was delighted to learn that all went well and appreicate your complimentary comments conerning our staff, hotel condition and location. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.