We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for corporate events” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Huahine, French Polynesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good for corporate events”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice hotel in Alexandria's new business site. About 30 minutes walk to the waterfront. Clean rooms but no views, comfy beddings, and nice new European style rainshower with good water pressure. Nightly rate is beyond my reach if not for our corporate event. Food served at our conference is above average; coffee and tea available throughout. Complimentary soaps, shampoos and lotions appeal to the senses. If you opt for "green" (none to clean/fix the room during your stay) they''ll give you a $5 Starbucks card that expires on the day you check out. This is disappointing coz we didn't have time to go outside due to intensive business schedule. I'd prefer one that doesn't expire. And unless you sign in for Starwood membership, they'll not tell you that bottled water in the room is $4 (not sure if it was included in the list of bar items found in the room).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear GieOct07,
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. I noticed you were attending a conference and appeared to enjoy the facilities. Thank you as well for participating in our "green choice" program while you were here. The coupon we provide for this does allow for a $5 food and beverage credit not only in Starbucks but in our restaurant as well or is good for 500 points credit to your account in our SPG program. Since you did not have an opportunity to use it while you were here, we would be happy to provide the poiints to you if your will reach you to me directly. Hope to hear from you and have you visit with us again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    234
    77
    31
    19
See reviews for
121
115
42
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Super location for conference (two Metro stops from airport) and our contract included free Internet in room (not in meeting rooms, however). Starbucks on the property allows participants a quick break with your coffee drink of choice. Conference meals were outstanding with lots of fresh fruits and vegetables at lunch. New rainfall shower heads have been installed. There was some confusion about printing boarding passes, kind of a run-around, so be sure to check in for your flight as early as possible.

Room Tip: if you are on the lowest floor available you can use the stairs to get to the gym, or to exit to Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Jan,
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments concerning your experience while attending a meeting recently. I was delighted to learn of your satisfaction with many aspects of the stay. I did make note of your challenge concerning the boarding pass and will review our process to insure that it is running efficiently. Hope to see you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Visited 4/19 & 4/20 with three women friends while visiting a friend in the area. I booked directly through the hotel website and got a great weekend deal. The hotel is modern, comfortable & quiet. Not a sound during the night and the beds are fabulous. Rooms are very clean and the common areas are modern and well appointed. My only complaint with the rooms is lack of free internet service. I believe the charge is $15 per day.

My biggest complaint is with the onsite Landmark Restaurant. Our server was very uppity and acted like he was doing us a real favor to wait on us. At 9:58 we ordered some Bloody Mary's & Bellinis and were told that the bar didn't open til 10, but he'd see what he could do! We had to ask for EVERYTHING! Coffee refills, water refills, jelly, cream....One of the ladies wanted more honey for her oatmeal and waiter said "you already have some!" When paying around $26pp for breakfast, you'd expect less attitude and more service! This was reflected in the tip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear cabushka,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your comments. Although much seemed to go well during your stay, I was disappointed to learn of your experience in our Trademark restaurant. We just recently renovated the space and concept and would have expected to provide much better for you. We will address your service observations with what appears to be some needed retraining. Thanks again.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I travel to Alexandria quite often when attending to business in DC. Up until now i had stayed at a couple of Hilton brand hotels near the King St. Metro station. Those hotels were for the most part nice but very over priced even for the metropolitan DC area. On my most recent trip, my usual stays were booked solid. Consequently, i ended up at the Westin. What a stroke of luck! The hotel is beautiful! Clean, modern and decked out with all my desired amenities. As for convenience, the hotel is within walking distance of the metro, but if you are not into the walk the hotel offers a shuttle service and there are taxis everywhere. I will most certainly be back to the Westin on future trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear job28123,
Thanks for staying with us! It appears from your comments that in the past you have normally stayed at other hotels in Alexandria. I was glad to know that you enjoyed your experience with us and that we may be your hotel of choice in the future. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I spent four nights at the Westin Alexandria while attending a conference in the same facility.

The bed and linens were good, and sleep quality was acceptable. I did not sleep well, but tough to blame the conditions.

Overall the room was pretty good, no complaints.

The gym facilities were pretty good- free weights, a few machines, mats, swiss balls, and several treadmills. The pool and hot tub, although both small, have a comfortable atmosphere.

The conference facilities were better than most hotel conference facilities I've attended (out of the 15-20 hotels). Large room had good lighting and accoustics, with great access from two sides. The small breakout rooms have great natural lighting, nice tables and chairs, and comfortable. The common lounge spaces are just the right size and furniture. Well designed for a small conference.

The service was fine, I did not have any issues nor concerns. I did not eat at any of the on-site facilities.

The location is decent, within walking distance from all the great restaurants and shopping on historic King Street, and about 20 minute walk from the water. It is only 5 minute walk to the metro stop, so you can easily get to and from the airport, as well as anywhere else in the DC area.

Overall Westin Alexandria is a good hotel with great conference facilities. I was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Joshua,
Thanks for staying with us recently. I was glad to know you enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts on so many different aspects of our hotel. I hope your travels will bring you our way again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I took a little trip to Alexandria because it was so close to Washington DC. We had such a great time. The hotel was beautiful and clean. Ron at the front desk help us so much with places to eat and visit. He was such a polite to talk to. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would come back again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Lisamarie,
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments, particularly concerning Ron. I am sure he will be very pleased to know that he had such a great impact on your experience. Hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is going to be one of my shortest reviews.

4 out of 5 for me is a place I would stay in every time with no second thought. To get 5 in my book you really have to blow it away and think of everything before I ask.

The location is sort of a quite area after 5pm. There are a few things around but not a ton.

Rooms were just fine and so was the service. I even left something in the room and finally got a a very helpful security guard that sent me my bag. Only thing that made me scratch my head was how the hotel did not contact me to let me know I left a bag. Its a bag not a toothbrush.

Guess I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Ktscott,
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Glad to know all went well and most improtantly that we were able to find and return your bag. Given that you are so well travelled, your postive comments are very much appreicated.

Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Starwood, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.