We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Allentown, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We picked this hotel due to its location. We wanted to be able to walk to the subway and to restaurants. It did not disappoint in these areas. The King St metro is at most a 5 min. easy walk. There are restaurants you can walk to from the hotel or you can catch the free King St trolley at the metro station and access all the restaurants in old town. We felt safe walking around the area even at night with 2 kids. The rooms are nice and were clean and well maintained. They also have a safe and refrigerator that we found very useful! My kids enjoyed the pool - it is not huge, but big enough. Most importantly it was warm! We have been to plenty of hotel pools that are freezing and it ruins the experience. You have to pay to have internet access in your room - seems like this should be included and most hotels do at this point - this is when you feel you are being nickeled and dimed. Internet access is free in the lobby at least. Also we chose the green option - not to have our linens changed. But this means nobody comes to even empty the garbage or refill the coffee. We asked for this to be done on our second day, as we stayed 3 nights. Housekeeping was promptly sent up and took care of it. We usually like to stay at hotels that include breakfast, but sacrificed this for location. There is a Starbucks that has bagels on the same block as the hotel. There is also an Einstein bagel shop a few doors down from the Starbucks, but it was not open on the weekend (Starbucks was). Also like that you can bring your dog to the hotel. We did not bring our pooch this visit but may the next time we come - this would also be a reason to stay here again - and the rate seems reasonable if you have a dog. Alexandria appeared to be very dog friendly - we saw a lot of dogs around! Alexandria even has a cruise where you can bring your dog during the summer and have bikes that have an attachment for dogs. After we checked out we wanted to spend time in old town so we went to the visitor center and you can get a free parking pass for 24 hrs - between this and the free trolley it is very easy to visit Alexandria!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 844 and our view was of the roof - we could see nothing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear nmesq,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our conveninece to Old Town. Looking forward to being of service again.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    201
    73
    28
    17
See reviews for
112
100
37
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Westin and were pleasantly surprised by the excellent front desk staff (esp. Vanessa). It was a breeze checking in and we were given a nice room with all the things we needed for our baby.

There was a problem with noise that night, some construction and we heard drills at 9pm, but once we called the desk, it stopped. We also had a problem with the faucet, but that was repaired quickly. The manager took care of this issue very well.

For a family this place is suitable and well-located for the metro to D.C. It is close to the Whole Foods and Starbucks and in a nice part of town- away from "downtown" Alexandria. It's more quiet.

But beware, the halls were noisy with kids running up and down and you can hear conversations. The doors are also ill devised and slam loudly. Too bad more care wasnt taken to correct this annoyance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear smithid,
Thanks for staying with us. I was pleased to learn of your satisfaction witht our service, particularly with the front desk and Vanessa. It appears you did encounter some noise issues which were responded to appropriately and we will continue to look closer at our security staffing during high family occupancy weekends to enable a quieter experience for all. Hope to see you again soon!
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here one night while visiting DC in late March. The hotel is about a 10-minute walk from a DC Metro station and King Street, the major commercial area with lots of quaint shops and restaurants. The staff was very welcoming and the check-in was prompt. The room decor was nice and contemporary, the bed was comfortable, the rain shower was relaxing. Everything was up to the standards of a Westin. The hotel also has a indoor pool and a nice gym, but we did not have time to try them out. We will stay here again if visit the area.

The only drawback is that they only offer valet parking and no free in-room wifi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 night with our 2 little girls and our dog. The hotel is very clean, however they do not have any of the items offered that made this hotel appealing to us. They had no roll away cribs or pack n plays, no bed rails for the roll away bed, no welcome gift for the kids, no doggie bed or bowls for our dog. We even had an issue where someone else's dog was barking, and they knocked on our door to say quiet your dog...it wasn't our dog...he had been asleep for at least an hour at that point (and he's not a barker anyway)...we'll definitely be trying a different hotel next trip...there are plenty of hotels in the area that will actually provide the services they advertise.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small if you are traveling with more then 1 or 2 people. Don't expect them to ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear KristenNJ,
Thank you for staying with us this past weekend. I wanted to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We do in fact offer the items mentioned in your comments ( cribs, kids welcome pack, dog bowls and bed ) and it causes us to review how we are handling these requests going forward. I will say that this past weekend we had many more families ( with babies and dogs) staying with us than anticipated and we ran out of numerous items including the cribs and others you mentioned. That undoubtedly is the reason we were unable to accomodate you properly. Again my apologies. We will review our inventories on these items and anticipate better in the future for periods such as this. I do hope that we might have an opportunity to be of service to you and your family again and welcome you to reach out to me directly so I can look after your accomodations. I am anxious to show you that this experience was the exception and not the rule.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Recently, I have not encountered even a low quality hotel who still charges to use the internet! This hotel would have been 5/5 if they didn't charge for internet in the rooms. This is almost as bad as charging a high fee to use the TV... wait, no, this is MUCH WORSE. TV we can easily live without. I'm shocked that such an otherwise top-notch property can't provide an essential ammenity that even their worst/lowest-priced competitors provide. Since WiFi is free in the lobby, it's crowded (with both business people and kids) and noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear SteveV,
Thanks for staying with us this past week. You are right in that we do generally charge for internet access. We are determined to provide the best in service when it comes to this, continuing to expand our bandwidth to meet today's guest needs while trying to keep costs as reasonable as possible. I believe most of the hotels that you refer to provide only the basic service and we go well beyond that. As well, we do offer some rate plans ( particularly on weekends and holidays ) that include free internet access which can be found on our web site. Glad ot hear all else seemed to meet your expectations.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night after being a much more expensive hotel in Bethesda MD for the week. Wow, what a difference! This hotel is located near a metro station (with free parking) and the hotel offers shuttle service to various areas. We went to Oldtown Alexandria and had a wonderful walk to the water and great seafood. The room was awesome, all new fixtures and very spacious. Also, the staff was excellent and very attentive. We will definitely be staying here if we are in the area again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Stacyanngeorge,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. So glad tot know you were pleased with all and we look forward to welciming you back soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed for 12 nights on business. The hotel is 25ish mins walk to the main high st or you can take the free shuttle provided by the hotel. Hotel staff were very helpful. The pool was not that big. The gym was adequately equipped. You had free wireless in the lobby area or paid $9 a day for the internet in your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Derricksasu,
Thanks for staying wiith us and taking the time to share your comments. Hope you see you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.