We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
nj
1 review
“disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 night with our 2 little girls and our dog. The hotel is very clean, however they do not have any of the items offered that made this hotel appealing to us. They had no roll away cribs or pack n plays, no bed rails for the roll away bed, no welcome gift for the kids, no doggie bed or bowls for our dog. We even had an issue where someone else's dog was barking, and they knocked on our door to say quiet your dog...it wasn't our dog...he had been asleep for at least an hour at that point (and he's not a barker anyway)...we'll definitely be trying a different hotel next trip...there are plenty of hotels in the area that will actually provide the services they advertise.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small if you are traveling with more then 1 or 2 people. Don't expect them to ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear KristenNJ,
Thank you for staying with us this past weekend. I wanted to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We do in fact offer the items mentioned in your comments ( cribs, kids welcome pack, dog bowls and bed ) and it causes us to review how we are handling these requests going forward. I will say that this past weekend we had many more families ( with babies and dogs) staying with us than anticipated and we ran out of numerous items including the cribs and others you mentioned. That undoubtedly is the reason we were unable to accomodate you properly. Again my apologies. We will review our inventories on these items and anticipate better in the future for periods such as this. I do hope that we might have an opportunity to be of service to you and your family again and welcome you to reach out to me directly so I can look after your accomodations. I am anxious to show you that this experience was the exception and not the rule.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    223
    74
    30
    19
See reviews for
118
107
42
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Recently, I have not encountered even a low quality hotel who still charges to use the internet! This hotel would have been 5/5 if they didn't charge for internet in the rooms. This is almost as bad as charging a high fee to use the TV... wait, no, this is MUCH WORSE. TV we can easily live without. I'm shocked that such an otherwise top-notch property can't provide an essential ammenity that even their worst/lowest-priced competitors provide. Since WiFi is free in the lobby, it's crowded (with both business people and kids) and noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear SteveV,
Thanks for staying with us this past week. You are right in that we do generally charge for internet access. We are determined to provide the best in service when it comes to this, continuing to expand our bandwidth to meet today's guest needs while trying to keep costs as reasonable as possible. I believe most of the hotels that you refer to provide only the basic service and we go well beyond that. As well, we do offer some rate plans ( particularly on weekends and holidays ) that include free internet access which can be found on our web site. Glad ot hear all else seemed to meet your expectations.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night after being a much more expensive hotel in Bethesda MD for the week. Wow, what a difference! This hotel is located near a metro station (with free parking) and the hotel offers shuttle service to various areas. We went to Oldtown Alexandria and had a wonderful walk to the water and great seafood. The room was awesome, all new fixtures and very spacious. Also, the staff was excellent and very attentive. We will definitely be staying here if we are in the area again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Stacyanngeorge,
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. So glad tot know you were pleased with all and we look forward to welciming you back soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed for 12 nights on business. The hotel is 25ish mins walk to the main high st or you can take the free shuttle provided by the hotel. Hotel staff were very helpful. The pool was not that big. The gym was adequately equipped. You had free wireless in the lobby area or paid $9 a day for the internet in your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Derricksasu,
Thanks for staying wiith us and taking the time to share your comments. Hope you see you again soon.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Westin Hotel in Alexandria, Virginia. It is a gorgeous place with an interesting theme related to the many Federal Patent offices near it...who could imagine that? The restaurant inside the hotel is delicious, thought a little high priced for some guests. The hotel is clean, far above average in style, located in a nice area, and the staff is outstanding. The 8 or so staff members we encountered were friendly and "can do" employees who took us in the hotel's shuttle willingly and with a wonderfully helpful attitude. The concierge, Jay, is resourceful, and has access to many local sites and those in DC. He got us reservations whenever we asked him, and always had a greeting and smile. These people really made our visit more enjoyable. Thank you, Westin Alexandria and staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I come here every year for ameeting and the service has always been excellent. It is well-located to access the metro and Old Town. As others have noted, there are no restaurants in the immesate area, but the concierege was very helpful in helping us locate a good restaurant and even had a discount coupon for us. The shuttle was extremely prompt both ways. The rooms are very quiet.

The downsides are the price of the restaurant. I cannot eat there and fit under my per diem, even for breakfast. The portions are enormous; I typically could eat about half of what I was served. It'd be great if they reduced their portion size and lowered the proces slightly. But overall, it's a good hotel for business trvael.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear bluebnt,
Thank you for staying with us. It was great to know of your satisfaction with our services. I appreciate the comments concerning the restaurant. We will continue to evaluate the pricing and food offerings to see if there are any opportunites to address your concerns. Since you did mention the restaurant availability around the hotel, I did want to indicate that there are about half a dozen very good restuarnats within 5-10 minutes walking distance open for both lunch and dinner. Our concierge can point those out to you next time in. The many other restaurants in Old Town are quickly accessible as well by taking our shuttle. Thanks again.
Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood park, Alberta
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights as part of our move to the DC area.

some positives are:
1) excellent staff - the valet couldn't have been any more helpful with helping fetch porters for the 10 or so bags that we had with us (funny how all those things you didn't pack add up), and the porter was very gentle with our stuff. he spotted luggage that had been damaged by the airline which we hadn't noticed and made sure to remind us to claim it right away (yet more damage by a double A rated airline that gets an F for baggage handling and customer service). the front desk people were very pleasant and efficient.

2) spacious room (for all 10 bags), plus a small fridge in the room. nice beds. plus, you can get exercise gear for a one time $5 fee for the duration of your stay. and the sneakers were in new condition - i was half expecting them to look like "bowling alley" shoes.

3)westin alexandria = endless hot water + plush bathrobes + quiet rooms = great after a hard day

things to watch out for:
1) no coffee in the lobby. yes, there is the de riguer coffee maker in the room, but its not the same. there is a starbucks just around the corner. no big deal when its nice and sunny. not so great when you have to go outside in the early morning on a cold, blustery and rainy day to get coffee.

2) there is only one restaurant. it would be ok if not for the fact that someone booked a private party occupying more than half the place and being extremely loud as well. hard to eat if you can't sit, even a the bar.

3) no restaurants or bars in the immediate vicinity. yes, there are a couple several blocks away. it would not be a big deal when its nice and sunny and warm. but in cold, blustery conditions late at night, its not a great. there is a shuttle bus, but those things are never around when you want to go out for a quick bite and a drink. (by the way, there are several shuttered / closed restaurants around this westin, so its probably not for lack of trying).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Howho,

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share your comments. I was delighted to learn of your satisfaction with our staff and accomodations. My apologies concerning the private function in the restaurant/bar area which made your experience there less than comfortable and we will certainly be more concious of that going forward as we arrange for these types of events. Hope to see you again soon.

Rich Casale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.