We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest Starwood property I have stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The nicest Starwood property I have stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We were about an hour early for check in, but our room was already prepared and was hypoallergenic as requested. Check in was fast and easy.
The room was very large and well decorated and furnished. In addition to a king size bed with an upholstered bench there was a seating area with two chairs, ottoman, and a table. The room had a minibar and complimentary coffee station. The blinds made it feel private even though it was filtering through enough light. We had no problem with hearing any noises from adjacent rooms.
I love that the shower had a double shower head. The water pressure was great, and the bathroom was very clean.
We had no issues with any of the mechanics of the room and the climate control worked without any hassle.
We visited the indoor pool and hot tub shortly after checking in, and were lucky to have it to ourselves. The pool area has plenty of seating and places to put your things while you swim. The pool was well kept. It was a little on the small side and one depth, but that wasn't a problem for us.
Though the hotel is a little off the beaten path, we used the complimentary shuttle service which runs until 10PM to take us down to Old Town. The driver was very nice and got us right to the doorstep of our destination.
The only issue that came up during our stay was we were charged $1.50 for a phone call that we made to the concierge to arrange to take the shuttle but that was rectified at check out.
Would certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    201
    73
    27
    17
See reviews for
112
100
37
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed for a week and loved the very clean, well appointed hotel. Good location to walk to the metro (three blocks), huge movie theater (two blocks), and the parking is all valet (same price). Negative... Long walk to the old town area on King street (ten blocks). Very good hotel, highly recommend.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The Westin Alexandria knows the meaning of service. Check-in was fast and efficient. Our room was heavenly comfortable; even the toiletries were fantastic. I had preshipped a package of materials for my meeting that was waiting for me at the front desk and promptly delivered to my room. Our every request was attended to, right down to free shuttle rides into the shopping/dining area of Alexandria and back! The meeting rooms were very comfortable and food service for our conference was great. I've been to a lot of meetings in a lot of hotels and I've never seen a banquet crew that could turn rooms as fast as these guys! One caution, don't use their business center unless you are desperate. It's very expensive and there is a FedEx/Kinkos just a block away for one-third of the price.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a bad room. We were near the elevator and noise wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Very typical nice Westin hotel. Very comfortable, large, clean rooms. Staff is very courteous and friendly. They have a shuttle that will take guests to local establishments in Alexandria. The only complaint I had was that the pool and hotub hours during the week are from 5 to 10 PM. Not good if your on a family vacation--which we were. Still I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Also, the Metro was also only about a 10 minute walk away which was very convenient.

Room Tip: Get a king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Why the title? We have stayed in Westin hotels before. They are known for impeccable service and amenities, and our experience with them in LA, and Boston were almost breathtaking. Not here! It was a mixed blend of "little but annoying" service issues which made us disappointed.
Where to begin?

1. We arrived super late with a 5:00 a.m. check in. Knowing we were to arrive late, we called the hotel the night before to advise them and were treated with a little attitude like "and why are you telling us". We didn't think much of this as we already paid for the hotel room in advance (3 nights stay). When we finally arrived, we pulled up to the front door where the "bell hop" greeted us with "are you staying here?", took our car info (with attitude) and NEVER offered to take our bags. I even asked him if there was a bell hop available (while a was piling the bags on my shoulders) and he said "I am" yet just looked at me. He never took our bags, never opened the door for either of us. I even said to him "well I guess we will carry our own bags then???" he said nothing. That totally was terrible. Welcome to the Westin!!!!.....then, we "checked in" oh yeah, 2. they gave our room away and thought we were a "no show". We reminded them we called ahead, and luckily they got another room...but it took forever to arrange on the computer. The front desk apologized for the error, but did not pick up my frustration in receiving no help with bags, no cart etc. What a big bummer. We lugged our own stuff to our room which was a very long walk from the elevator BTW. We were exhausted, and surprised of that crappy check in. The tips stayed in our pockets that night.

Not done..3. The first day after coming in from going out in DC all day led us to a room which was not cleaned/housekept. We called the desk and 40 minutes later the night housekeeper cleaned our room. This was a huge inconvenience as we were tired and just wanted showers & sleep. We had to wait in the hallway while it was cleaned. The housekeeper however was a doll, and said "I'm sorry" 100 times and brought us extra towels and extra green tea toiletries. We tipped her well...as it was an inconvenience for her too I'm sure! The breakfast dishes from that morning's room service still remained in the hallway too..later that night. The hallways had dishes strew through it in general. Another "head scratcher" for a Westin. Really?

So needless to say...it was a weird experience for us being a Westin....but overall the stay itself was a good one. Our room was super far away from the elevator. If we were an older couple that would be a problem I think. The room was pleasant, the decor, and lovely Westin touches were in tact (toiletries, infused smells in lobby, good super charged foods, heavenly bed linens etc.) They nickle and dime you for WIFI which always surprises me..but hey, if you can afford to stay in a Westin I guess they believe it is not an issue to pay $9.95 a day for WIFI in your room!! (free in lobby) Yet basic hotels/motels it's free.....go figure. And to print something in their business center 1 page $7.95, copies =$$. We had to print something for my finacee's work. The metro is a kind of a walk away, which catches up to you when you have bags to carry from a day out in DC or Alexandria. As well, the area where the hotel is located pretty much shuts down during the weekend (much like the Financial District in NYC). There is a nice little cafe across the street, and the Westin restaurant had a great (but pricy) brunch menu.

We would stay here again.. I think...but perhaps would try some of their competitors in the area first t see their service and closer proximity to "life" i.e. coffee shops that are open, metro near etc.

So on the Westin scale it is a Westin = good, but the service needs improvement, especially the greeters (bell hop, front desk) which create the tone for your stay. We had bad luck? Ummmm.

Room Tip: Try to select a room that is somewhat close to the elevator. No joke, we had to walk forever to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a good hotel for both families and for business travelers. For the business traveler, it is convenient to Alexandria, clean, and comfortable. For the family, it has a pool and has a relatively comfortable atmosphere. Front desk could be better staffed, though, and the restaurant is pretty pricey and the menut a bit ostentatious.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hotel was affordable and very clean. Personally I like being slighty away from all the hussle and bussle, but having the option to be 5 minutes away from metro and old town was nice. The metro is only a 5 minute walk. Whole foods, einstein bagels, starbucks all around the corner or a five minute walk. The downside is everything closes at 5, but if you head to King street , shops are open past then. Parking in the area is not good so you have to valet park, 24 a night. The rooms are well kept and Staff like John the conceirge is very helpful. The room has starbucks, and water free of charge and the front desk is equipped tooth brushes combs and toiletries you might have forgotten at home. Cons no free wi fi and no microwave.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.