We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More money than your regular 4-star hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Save Saved
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More money than your regular 4-star hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is within a ten minute drive from Washington dc which isn't bad. It is very hard to park there, so they offer $24 valet parking for each day which is reasonable. Don't bother ordering food there because the lowest cost is $10. Wi-Fi is $10 a day or you can use a 1 hour free use in the lobby which is absurd. Nice hotel but too overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    205
    73
    27
    17
See reviews for
112
101
38
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
suffield, ct
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We spent two nights at the Westin Alexandria. It was home base for our excursions into D.C.. As you may know, D.C. Has a great subway system called the Metro. This Westin is 7 blocks from the King Street Metro station. The hotel Shuttle provided fast and courteous service to the Metro as well as to and from the wonderful dining and shopping in Old Town Alexandria, which is 12 blocks from the Westin. We slept like champs on a wonderful mattress. Room was large, modern and beautiful. If you stay here be sure to have dinner or Sunday brunch at the Vermillion. And take the Potomac River Cruise to the National Harbor. Ride the yellow Metro Line into D.C. To all the monuments and museums. Alexandria is a terrific base from which to explore D.C.. This Westin is great. Happy traveling.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was reasonably easy to get to off the I-495 loop around Washington, DC and close to where my Brother lives in southern Alexandria, Va south on US-1. The price was reasonable for a high quality hotel. The breakfast was cooked to order in their restaurant.
The bed was really comfortable. I have a bad back and I did not wake up being unable to get out of bed as I have on many ocaisions at other lesser hotels. The staff was friendly, they have a shuttle which will take you just about anywhere around that you might want to go.... It is near enough to the King Street Metro Station that you can walk if you are able to go the several blocks distance, however, the shuttle took us there in a few minutes. The Metro will take you to the airport, shopping mall and anywhere else that it travels for sight seeing in DC, shopping, or other pleasures.
The hotel is close to "Old Town Alexandria" which has shopping, sight seeing opportunities, and historical buildings. If you are driving the valet parking is a boon, it allows you to park without any hassles, and they pull your car up to the door in a few minutes so you can go further afield to visit friends, visit George Washington's Mount Vernon and other historical sites. Nice place to stay and I expect we shall do so again the next time we go visit my brother.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north myrtle beach, SC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed at this Westin recently while looking for an apartment to rent in DC. The hotel lobby is comfortable and inviting, and the restaurant (though understaffed) offers good breakfast options. The rooms are typical Westin-like, so they are comfortable, but I had a number of small problems throughout my stay (e.g. the television needed to be fixed three times; my room was not cleaned by 4:00 p.m. another day), which made the stay only slightly better than satisfactory.

If you want to walk, this is the hotel for you, as there is virtually nothing around the hotel save a couple of sandwich shops and a decent Thai restaurant. The real action is on King Street, a 20+ minute walk away. Too, the Metro to DC (and DCA) is about a 15 minute hike from the hotel, but free shuttle service is provided.

Perhaps this hotel and its environs are more lively during the week, but my weekend stay was met by most of the shops being closed and almost no one on the streets. Kinda eerie. If you want a high end property and a better location, try the HIlton instead.

Previous reviewers mentioned how friendly the hotel staff were. I did not find this to be true. They were polite, to be sure, but no one really went out of the way to make my stay more comfortable. I guess as a Platinum member of SPG, I expected better treatment than an "upgraded" room on a Club Level floor where the Club was closed the entire time I was there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel offers quality at a resonable price. From the bellmen to the front desk to all the little extras, they provide a relaxing experience. Such things as Starbucks coffee and bottled water in my room, to the robe on the back of the bathroom door to the quality soaps and shampoo all made the stay enjoyable. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. The ever present taxis made getting to Old Town a breeze.

About the only complaint I have is no free wifi. Why is it the least expenses motels everywhere have free wifi now, but large more expensive properties charge for it. I mean come on, free wifi should be a given these days.

Room Tip: My room didn't have a good view - you may have to ask for a better view. I see other reviews tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Pros....bellmen, housekeeping, concierge, receptionists top knotch, free bottles of water each day in room, nice size room, safe in room
Cons....a bit out of the way on a very quiet street, bathrooms are unusually small with one sink and small countertop (seemed dated).....i wouldn't stay here again due to bathrooms however tubs are clean and nice showerheads, overpriced restaurant, pillows uncomfortable, high priced parking (24 dollars per day), metro several blocks away

There is a Starbucks next door and a Thai restaurant across the street with fabulous food. It's quite a walk to the metro but shuttle service is available. If you get the 99 dollar per nite rate it's a fine place to stay, but if you get the 200 or so rate, stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: I think all are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Sherrillmills,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I was delighted to learn that you were impressed with our staff as our service is first and foremost. Your other comments are much appreciated. We had not heard much previously concerning the size of our bathrooms. Although we cannot change that, we do feature the Heavenly Bed and Bath as signature Westin items for your comfort and wellness. I do hope we will have an opportunity to be of service again soon.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Pros:
- modern look
- quiet, comfortable room
- decent gym
- good restaurant

Cons:
- housekeeping needs some work (large cobweb in bathroom and hair on sink)
- not many nearby dining options
- fairly long walk to Metro (but I believe shuttle is available at certain times)

Overall, very nice hotel. This was the first time I've stayed at a Westin, and I have to say that I was impressed. The desk clerk was friendly and the room was large and modern. The gym was not bad and looked like it was recently remodeled. The housekeeping issue noted above was the only negative, but is something the management should address as it was a club level room and showed lack of housekeeping supervision and inspection of rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get on the club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Mustangcop,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are very pleased to learn of you satisfaction with so many aspects of that stay. We will certainly react accordingly to your comment about housekeeping. Also, reagrading the metro, even though it is less than a ten minute walk, we do attempt to have our shutlles running on demand to get everyone to and from as needed. Look forward to being of service again.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.