We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Classy Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel offers quality at a resonable price. From the bellmen to the front desk to all the little extras, they provide a relaxing experience. Such things as Starbucks coffee and bottled water in my room, to the robe on the back of the bathroom door to the quality soaps and shampoo all made the stay enjoyable. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious. The ever present taxis made getting to Old Town a breeze.

About the only complaint I have is no free wifi. Why is it the least expenses motels everywhere have free wifi now, but large more expensive properties charge for it. I mean come on, free wifi should be a given these days.

Room Tip: My room didn't have a good view - you may have to ask for a better view. I see other reviews tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    223
    74
    30
    19
See reviews for
118
107
42
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Pros....bellmen, housekeeping, concierge, receptionists top knotch, free bottles of water each day in room, nice size room, safe in room
Cons....a bit out of the way on a very quiet street, bathrooms are unusually small with one sink and small countertop (seemed dated).....i wouldn't stay here again due to bathrooms however tubs are clean and nice showerheads, overpriced restaurant, pillows uncomfortable, high priced parking (24 dollars per day), metro several blocks away

There is a Starbucks next door and a Thai restaurant across the street with fabulous food. It's quite a walk to the metro but shuttle service is available. If you get the 99 dollar per nite rate it's a fine place to stay, but if you get the 200 or so rate, stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: I think all are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Sherrillmills,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I was delighted to learn that you were impressed with our staff as our service is first and foremost. Your other comments are much appreciated. We had not heard much previously concerning the size of our bathrooms. Although we cannot change that, we do feature the Heavenly Bed and Bath as signature Westin items for your comfort and wellness. I do hope we will have an opportunity to be of service again soon.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Pros:
- modern look
- quiet, comfortable room
- decent gym
- good restaurant

Cons:
- housekeeping needs some work (large cobweb in bathroom and hair on sink)
- not many nearby dining options
- fairly long walk to Metro (but I believe shuttle is available at certain times)

Overall, very nice hotel. This was the first time I've stayed at a Westin, and I have to say that I was impressed. The desk clerk was friendly and the room was large and modern. The gym was not bad and looked like it was recently remodeled. The housekeeping issue noted above was the only negative, but is something the management should address as it was a club level room and showed lack of housekeeping supervision and inspection of rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get on the club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Mustangcop,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We are very pleased to learn of you satisfaction with so many aspects of that stay. We will certainly react accordingly to your comment about housekeeping. Also, reagrading the metro, even though it is less than a ten minute walk, we do attempt to have our shutlles running on demand to get everyone to and from as needed. Look forward to being of service again.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at Westin's all over the United States and this one definitely appeared like it was in need of some updating and TLC in the rooms and in the hallways to the rooms. The carpet looked like it was from the 80's or 90's and the bathrooms looked like that of a 1 or 2 star hotel. I am not sure why this hotel has a 4 star rating, it should be closer to a 3 star. The lobby is definitely nice and clean looking, but it ends there. The staff were courteous and professional. I was on a high floor, but my room overlooked the roof and what looked like the garbage area. Like I said I have stayed a lot of places, and this is not one to right home about.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Spagoer2001,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay. While we were pleased to learn of your satisfaction with our staff and service, we are disappointed to learn of some of the other inconveniences you experienced and will react accordingly. The hotel is four years old, we are always on the look out to insure the property is looking fresh and up to date so we appreciate take your comments concerning the bathroom and carpets. Most of our rooms have very nice views of the area and we will be concious of that need your next time in if you could give us advance notice. Thanks again for staying with us.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed here for 6 nights For a training session. The rooms were extremely comfortable. They even provided free water! Hotels usually make you pay, this was a nice benefit. The workout facility was well equipped. The restaurant was a little overpriced, but decent. There are options within walking distance. The best options are on King Street. The hotel offers a shuttle to King Street but I didn't take advantage. All told, it was a good stay. I would stay again and recommend other to the property.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear tbtrips<

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We were delighted to learn of your overall satisfaction, particularly given that you had a long term stay. I do hope we will have an opporutnity to be of service again in the near future.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is in an office area a few blocks to the yellow/blue Metro. Hotel is nice, with a noisy lobby, indoor pool, and good rooms. Beds are great. Internet policy is lousy - charge for each device, so we checked email on the free accounts in the lobby. Don't know why hotels do this. There are limited dining options nearby, but a Whole Foods is about 4 blocks away. So if affordable email and convenient dining isn't a problem, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Swl781,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and particularly our Heavenly Bed. Given that we are bordering Old Town, in addition to the Whole Foods you mention, there are many lunch options in a few block radius of the hotel and many wonderful dinner options within a few minutes reach by use of our shuttle. This is a convenience often overlooked but yet readily available on demand for your next time in. Hoping to have an opportunity to be of service again in the near future.

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

I have recently switched to Starwood properties from Marriott properties because a friend told me they were better. After having stayed at several Sheraton and Westin properties I have to agree. A recent stay at The Westin Alexandria in Virginia will have me coming back for more. The staff there, Robin, John, and Kenny were amazing from check-in to check-out. They were everything you would want in a friendly and accommodating staff, not to mention just genuinely nice people. Kudos to you all and keep up the good work. Everyone reading this review, stay at The Westin Alexandria and you'll never stay anywhere else while visiting the DC area.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear staySPG,

Thank you for your comments comcerning your recent stay was us. Needless to say, we were delighted to hear of your satsifaction with all aspects. We will be sure to pass your comments on to Robin, Kenny and John to insure they recieve appropriate recognition for their service. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Rich Casale, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.