We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not thrilled with Westin service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Alexandria to your Saves list
Westin Alexandria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Not thrilled with Westin service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I was attending a conference at the hotel and my partner was traveling with me as we were going to continue on to DC for a short break. On checking in the front desk repeated my preferences as a Starwood Preferred Guest program. I had asked for a King - he mentioned that I had asked for a King - gave us our keys - got to our room - lo and behold - two double beds. I'm not even talking two queen beds. This was like a 1 1/2 person size bed each. Nothing was romantic get away like separate beds.

On top of that, the view out the window was the third floor roof with two huge air conditioning/venting units just outside of the window.

Now I know lots of folks were coming to the conference - but I had arrived early and was staying an extra day past the end of the conference. Nowhere in this whole hotel was there a room with one king bed? I was told to check the following day - and still nothing. So I complained that if I were going to be there for a week, I'd at least like a better view - even if they couldn't get me a King bed. So I went from the below crappy a/c view to a spot on view of the Washington Masonic Temple. At least I got something.

But then, it's the little things that were weird. The door would only open if the handle were lifted, rather than naturally pushed. There was only one bathrobe in the room, and I had to tip the maid to get a second.

More Westin craziness that I've experienced in other hotels - a mini bar in the room that was empty. And really god forbid if we should ever get a second bottle of body lotion - they were just stingy with their amenities.

We followed this up with a stay in DC at a Kimpton Hotel that was smaller, but right in town, with full amenities for about the same price.

If you're considering staying in Alexandria, the Hilton and the Embassy Suites are much closer to the King Street station and the heart of Alexandria's old town.

I was expecting a "Macy's" experience from Westin and came away feeling more "JC Penny's".

Room Tip: Avoid the fourth floor for fear of getting the hideous view I started with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    247
    81
    32
    18
See reviews for
124
120
42
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed at the Westin Alexandria for a quick visit to Washington D.C. and Alexandria. I was impressed with my room, which was clean and comfortable. I got a good night's sleep and that's important to me as a new traveler. The hotel is centrally located to King Station so we were able to take the subway to D.C. and visit the museums. The next time I visit D.C., I will stay at the Westin Alexandria. It's mostly a business traveler hotel, but it's also good hotel for the regular travel looking for a clean and comfortable room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed at the Weston as they were the host hotel for a race that I participated in. The hotel is clean and modern. The room was spacious . Even with the event taking place, the staff was attentive.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is in a good location from DCA airport. You can get there by the Metro train or taxi. I believe I took the metro and then had the hotel shuttle come get me. The location of is hotel is great for the person that is a business traveler who likes a great hotel and also a good night life on king street in old town. If you are platinum you'll get all the benefits of Internet and breakfast like most other SPG properties. Overall, a great stay if you are willing to pay a small fee to travel to this hotel. Worth it! Bg

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Good location... The rooms are not overly large, but comfortable, The staff is very helpful and it is accessible to the beltway. It is more for the business traveller than the tourist, but either would find adequate. Starbucks is attached and the bar/restaurant is nice for entertaining. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hotel is in a great area, close to King Street Metro and walking distance to a Whole Foods and a variety of restaurants. Felt very safe walking at all hours. Inside, the hotel is bland when compared to other Westins I have visited. Bathroom was tiny, no in-room safe, several lamps had no bulb in them. Heavenly bed was very comfortable, but enough with the sales brochures all over the room -- I already have sheets and towels at home, thanks!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at this hotel, and was lucky to book the concierge (club) floor for an affordable rate (government rate). I had invited my sister to join me so that she could be a tourist while I was at a meeting.

It was a truly incredible hotel -- the food and drinks in the lounge were wonderful. Breakfast was lovely, the afternoon snacks and special beverages (teas, juice, coffee, waters) were wonderful. Evening munchies were out of this world. - shrimp one night, asparagus wrapped with ham, cheese, vegetables - great hot snacks also. The room was very nice, the bed was incredible and everyone was so friendly. The view from the club lounge is beautiful and it is very relaxing.

The location is the best part. It is in a quiet neighborhood but a short and safe walk to the King's Street Metro Station. It made getting to the airport and to the Smithsonian super easy and convenient - and cheap.

I did walk down to King Street one evening -- that is a bit of a walk but on a nice day it is worth it to go to the restaurants and shops.

I have stayed there several times and highly recommend the Club Level!

Room Tip: Check the rate for the Club Floor -- it may be worth the price difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Alexandria

Address: 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Alexandria 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria. Located in Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Westin Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.