We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's that smell?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What's that smell?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

For a ridiculous price, I found myself in a room that at first I thought just smelled like spray covering up cigarette smoke. At first I thought that the smell was actually a tad better than that found throughout the hallways, lobby, elevators, and stairwells. After a while longer, I decided that perhaps a small animal crawled into the air conditioning and died? Maybe someone used this carpet as a toilet and they're trying to cover it up?? Perhaps all of the plumbing needs to be replaced??? Do the employees not smell this hotel?! I think not. When I checked in, the manager was outside smoking a cigarette with the maintenance man. They probably have no idea.

Also, there is one free power outlet if you plan on turning on the lights. So, yeah, I'm having to alternate everything I need to charge.

I am a business traveler, and plan on coming to this area often, at times with a crew renting at least three rooms at a time for a week or more. We will not be booking this dirty, smelly, "budget" (ha!) hotel. You've got to be kidding me with this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    40
    21
    12
    15
See reviews for
41
39
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed one night during a visit to the area. Upon check in the staff was very helpful in getting us the name of amenities in the area to make our stay easier. The room was comfortable but dated. It was like walking back into the 80's. The bed was comfortable the shower was huge. We had a kitchenette, so all in all the hotel experience was ok.. The location makes this hotel ideal, however there are several new chains moving into the area so this may become a problem in the future for this hotel. Check out was mildly painful, the man sitting at the desk took a minute to acknowledge me. He was unaware or acted as such that he did not know how to check out using B/W gift cards. thank goodness a woman came from the back and took over the process. SEVERAL minutes later off we went to complete another adventure

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasonville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Don't think you will ever know this staff by name, they don't have name tags. Don't try to get a late checkout, its such a huge inconvenience for them and they give you attitude about it. the location isn't bad everything is within minutes away, so that's a positive about it. the rooms were clean and the bed and pillows were great. just staff service was no good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a layover with my girlfriend in September. Check in was easy, booked on Expedia, and paid right away, so checkout was easy. Our stay was only one night, but bed was comfy, ac worked perfectly, and there was a fridge! A simple pleasure with hotels nowadays. Overall not bad you might be able to do better a little closer to I-95.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, CT
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at this Best Western as a stopover on our way home from our destination. It was a bit further from I-95 than we expected and in an urban area. The check in was a little tricky since it took 3 trips to the lobby to get a room key that would open the rooms. Our adjoining rooms were clean and comfortable with parking lot view. The breakfast in a large room on the basement floor had a good selection of waffles. eggs, biscuits, fruits and juices. This is a decent hotel for visiting area attractions.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms are easier to get to the breakfast area quickly which fills up in no time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Staff was courteous and helpful. Room was clean and was nicely decorated. Bed was comfortable. Temperature in degrees could be set on air conditioner and it cycled on and off quietly. Great stay for the price paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Overall very good experience would stay again. if you have to go into DC park at the Franconia-Springfield Metro Station 4.75 per day. Use your GPS for directions Hotel directions were a bit of a challenge--had to stop for directions twice. With GPS it is an easy straight shot to the Metro

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir

Address: 8751 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mount Vernon Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.